We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful B & B Great for Families or Adults” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rose Manor Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Rose Manor Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Rose Manor Bed and Breakfast
7214 Pontchartrain Blvd., New Orleans, LA 70124 (Lakeview)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 145 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
“Delightful B & B Great for Families or Adults”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The Rose Manor exceeded our expectations. We were a party of seven attending a national regatta at Southern Yacht Club. This charming 100 year old house has a variety of rooms so it works for couples or families. There are also several common area rooms that are perfect for a glass of wine or cup of tea. Ruby and Peter went above and beyond to ensure we had everything we needed. As we had to leave early for the regatta, we especially appreciated the delicious morning breakfasts. The location is only 1/2 mile from the yacht club, and about 15 min from the airport or the French Quarter. Neighborhood very safe and several restaurants within easy walking distance. We will definitely being staying here on our next visit to New Orleans.

Room Tip: Let Ruby set up your room once she knows your needs. All were great - some have more sleeping accomm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
52
8
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Besides living up to all of the fine reviews by others, the location surprised me by being in an extremely quiet neighborhood, while also enabling quick and easy access to interstate highways and downtown New Orleans. It is located just a few simple turns to a little trafficked divided boulevard that puts you on I-10 in a few minutes. When traffic is light, it takes only about 15 minutes to drive to the downtown and French Quarter or 20 minutes to the airport in the other direction. It also has ample parking, which in the downtown would have been quite expensive. As others have said, Ruby and Peter are excellent hosts, ready to help with advice or simply chat. Breakfast is fine, but is merely a choice between scrambled eggs with toast or a waffle. Both are good, but the same choice is offered every day. Also, plenty of coffee, juice and muffins.

Room Tip: The Rose room is by far the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Myself and my girlfriend stayed at the Rose Manor for several days in the summer of 2011, and the accommodations were unbeatable. Ruby and Peter maintained a communal computer and printer, so I was able to keep on-top of my eBay business without hassle, and being a fan of antiques and art I was greatly impressed by the decorative antique furniture, framed prints dating back to the 1700s, and many other thought-inspiring items peppered throughout the place. They were both supremely helpful, open, interesting, and informative hosts, and the quality of their characters and service was unmatched by anyone in prior experience. The location is safe and within walking distance of many interesting sights and tasty restaurants. The atmosphere at Rose Manor, and New Orleans in general made us feel more at home there than we do in the comparatively boring and dreary Midwest. One couldn't choose a better place to stay. A+ quality all around. Abundant thanks to you both.

-Stephen L.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Stayed three nights here while spending some time in the Quarter, and visiting upriver plantations and the local marina nearby. Parking easy, restaurants nearby, and a quiet neighborhood. Breakfast was good, room beautifully appointed and clean, but the best was the 'at home' feeling provided by Ruby and Peter. Staying at Rose Manor is an expereince I hope to repeat.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bossier City, Louisiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Rose Manor Bed & Breakfast was the 1st bed and breakfast I stayed overnight. I truly enjoyed it and I would recommend it to anyone visting New Orleans. Ruby and Pete were the perfect hosts. Breakfast was like sitting at my table at home. I was comfortable and so was my family.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Rose Manor for 6 nights around the first weekend of Jazzfest. The room was clean, the breakfast every morning was perfect, and the owners (Ruby and Peter) were awesome. We definitely recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new egypt
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

I think others have summed up this B&B perfectly. The host could not have been more accommodating and helpful, our room was spotless (really!), the bed was comfy, and the value unmatched. At breakfast, we were introduced to other guests, which made us feel welcomed and made for good conversation. This was our first stay at this b&b but many others said they are repeat customers, which speaks volumes of an establishment.
Two minor distractions worth noting---
As others have stated, this b&b is not in an attractive location and you will need to drive everywhere. We knew this when we booked so it wasn't a big deal. However, we expected the next door restaurants mentioned in other reviews to be open and easy access for dinner. Instead, we found they were either closed or closing by 9PM. (We were there Thurs - Sun during very busy week so this seemed so odd.) This was certainly not the fault of b&b and we received some good suggestions from Peter on other places to go for something quick to eat. Just keep this in mind if you are out and about all day and expect to walk next door for quick dinner.
The other distraction was that there was no thermostat in our room, so we could not control our room temperature. (I did not read this in any other reviews, so maybe ours was the only room without a thermostat?) During the day our room would be cool to downright cold. I first looked for the thermostat so I could turn A/C down. But at night, the room would get so warm, it would wake both of us from a sound sleep. I suspect the A/C is on a pre-programmed timer instead of a thermostat b/c we would wake every night at the same time. We just got used to it, but if you are someone who is sensitive to temperature, you might be very uncomfortable.
As for accessibility, there was an easy on/off nearby for Route I-10, which was a plus when going to French Market or airport. It took about 15-20 minutes during off peak hours to drive to the French Qtr and about the same to get to the airport.
All in all, the good far outweighed the bad and we would stay again and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rose Manor Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Manor Bed and Breakfast

Address: 7214 Pontchartrain Blvd., New Orleans, LA 70124
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Lakeview
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rose Manor has the elegance and decor of an English country house, but is situated near the Lake Pontchartrain,close to Southern Yacht Club, New Orleans Yacht Club,University of New Orleans,Jazz Fest,Voodoo Fest, City Park,New Orleans Museum of Art and only 15 minute drive to the New Orleans Convention Center,World War II museum,French Quarters and Cruise ship Terminals. Guests can enjoy the comforts of home and the great food and festivities of New Orleans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Rose Manor Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rose Manor Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.