We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay, and Peter and Ruby were unparalleled hosts!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rose Manor Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rose Manor Bed and Breakfast
7214 Pontchartrain Blvd., New Orleans, LA 70124 (Lakeview)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 145 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful place to stay, and Peter and Ruby were unparalleled hosts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Myself and my girlfriend stayed at the Rose Manor for several days in the summer of 2011, and the accommodations were unbeatable. Ruby and Peter maintained a communal computer and printer, so I was able to keep on-top of my eBay business without hassle, and being a fan of antiques and art I was greatly impressed by the decorative antique furniture, framed prints dating back to the 1700s, and many other thought-inspiring items peppered throughout the place. They were both supremely helpful, open, interesting, and informative hosts, and the quality of their characters and service was unmatched by anyone in prior experience. The location is safe and within walking distance of many interesting sights and tasty restaurants. The atmosphere at Rose Manor, and New Orleans in general made us feel more at home there than we do in the comparatively boring and dreary Midwest. One couldn't choose a better place to stay. A+ quality all around. Abundant thanks to you both.

-Stephen L.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    85
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
49
7
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Stayed three nights here while spending some time in the Quarter, and visiting upriver plantations and the local marina nearby. Parking easy, restaurants nearby, and a quiet neighborhood. Breakfast was good, room beautifully appointed and clean, but the best was the 'at home' feeling provided by Ruby and Peter. Staying at Rose Manor is an expereince I hope to repeat.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bossier City, Louisiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Rose Manor Bed & Breakfast was the 1st bed and breakfast I stayed overnight. I truly enjoyed it and I would recommend it to anyone visting New Orleans. Ruby and Pete were the perfect hosts. Breakfast was like sitting at my table at home. I was comfortable and so was my family.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Rose Manor for 6 nights around the first weekend of Jazzfest. The room was clean, the breakfast every morning was perfect, and the owners (Ruby and Peter) were awesome. We definitely recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new egypt
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

I think others have summed up this B&B perfectly. The host could not have been more accommodating and helpful, our room was spotless (really!), the bed was comfy, and the value unmatched. At breakfast, we were introduced to other guests, which made us feel welcomed and made for good conversation. This was our first stay at this b&b but many others said they are repeat customers, which speaks volumes of an establishment.
Two minor distractions worth noting---
As others have stated, this b&b is not in an attractive location and you will need to drive everywhere. We knew this when we booked so it wasn't a big deal. However, we expected the next door restaurants mentioned in other reviews to be open and easy access for dinner. Instead, we found they were either closed or closing by 9PM. (We were there Thurs - Sun during very busy week so this seemed so odd.) This was certainly not the fault of b&b and we received some good suggestions from Peter on other places to go for something quick to eat. Just keep this in mind if you are out and about all day and expect to walk next door for quick dinner.
The other distraction was that there was no thermostat in our room, so we could not control our room temperature. (I did not read this in any other reviews, so maybe ours was the only room without a thermostat?) During the day our room would be cool to downright cold. I first looked for the thermostat so I could turn A/C down. But at night, the room would get so warm, it would wake both of us from a sound sleep. I suspect the A/C is on a pre-programmed timer instead of a thermostat b/c we would wake every night at the same time. We just got used to it, but if you are someone who is sensitive to temperature, you might be very uncomfortable.
As for accessibility, there was an easy on/off nearby for Route I-10, which was a plus when going to French Market or airport. It took about 15-20 minutes during off peak hours to drive to the French Qtr and about the same to get to the airport.
All in all, the good far outweighed the bad and we would stay again and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, VA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

I feel like I just left home when we departed from Rose Manor B & B! We have repeatedly stayed with Ruby and Peter for our annual trip to Jazz Fest, they have a wonderful way of making everyone feel like family around the morning breakfast table. Rose Manor is clean and comfortable. The location is great, there are restaurants within walking distance and paths along Lake Pontchartrain to walk off all of the great NOLA food. Ask Peter for recommendations for terrific restaurants that only the locals seem to know about.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

We have stayed in quite a few B&Bs, but this was the most like home. Rose and Peter were responsible for the amazing stay; great food, great location, great hospitality! You become family immediately. There are several restaurants within walking distance that are highly rated by the locals. We have family nearby, but their house was over-run with wedding guests, so we chose Rose Manor. Our family knows that we will stay with Rose and Peter from now on! Plus, we gave our family the tour and they were thrilled to see that such a wonderful place was there to be reccommended to other friends. We certainly second all the other 4* reviews and hope you have the pleasure to experience Rose Manor.

Room Tip: All are beautiful and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rose Manor Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Manor Bed and Breakfast

Address: 7214 Pontchartrain Blvd., New Orleans, LA 70124
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Lakeview
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rose Manor has the elegance and decor of an English country house, but is situated near the Southern Yacht Club and a 10 minute drive from the New Orleans French Quarter. Guests can enjoy the comforts of home and the great food and festivities of New Orleans. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rose Manor Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Rose Manor Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list