We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location but "FILTHY" room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Hotel New Orleans

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree by Hilton Hotel New Orleans to your Saves list
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel New Orleans
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-1010   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on WiFi, Breakfast
Ranked #104 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Kankakee, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice location but "FILTHY" room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Location great! We had to pay for parking $38.??/daily, which wasn't indicated on website, and then they want you to pay for wifi. The carpet was so dirty that you could not only see the dirt/filth, we spilled something on the floor and used one of the hotel towels (white) to clean it up and the towel turned completely BLACK. PLEASE CLEAN YOUR CARPET.

Room Tip: Make sure carpet is clean before you walk around the room with your bare feet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    345
    281
    157
    94
See reviews for
185
273
63
344
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I was very disappointed at the cost of parking. The valet staff was not all that friendly. The room service was excellent and the check in "alisha" was very pleasant. The location was in a great place but they parked your car outside

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

This is the nastiest, smelliest, loudest, rudest hotel I've been to. I feel like I'm being bitten by something constantly, and they will not allow me to cancel my room so I can afford to go somewhere else. Big mistake on my part for staying in a conference recommended hotel!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenjackson23, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for reaching out to us via TripAdvisor. Please know that your comfort is of the utmost importance to us, and we will be reaching out to you directly in an attempt to resolve the situation. I apologize for the mismanagement of the situation, and for the frustration you must be facing. We are dedicated to ensuring your satisfaction, and look forward to speaking with you.

Thank you,
Kenneth Jackson
504 581 1300
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapeland, TX
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I am an Honors Member and probably will continue to stay with the Hilton name, but we just got back from the Doubletree in New Orleans and I got tired of the"Nickel and dime" charges they hit you for. $38 for valet only parking per night, plus $14.95 for internet, geez Hilton get a grip on reality. There are a lot of hotels that offer at least free wifi. OK I feel better.

All in all the hotel was great, nice staff, fantastic location. Beds were great.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

The double tree hotel downtown new orleans is in need of a serious makeover the rooms are dirty, furniture falling apart, paint peeling on doors, the rugs in the halls are visible dirty,dusts in the vents. However the hotelis in a great location. Hilton ,please clean th Doubletree Hotel.Thanks

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenjackson23, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for choosing our hotel. We’re so sorry to hear you encountered housekeeping problems. Please know that dirty rooms and common areas are not typical at our hotel, and we appreciate that you brought this to our attention. We have discussed this with our staff and will make every effort to be sure our rooms meet the highest housekeeping standards moving forward. Please give us a second chance if you visit our area in the future.

Thank you,
Kenneth Jackson
504 581 1300
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Lake, Michigan
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

we arrived 2 hours early for check in...in hopes of getting in early...rooms werent ready, which was fine...at 3pm check-in time, we went up to front desk and rooms were still not ready...when i asked for a manager, because the girl was rude and could care less that we were standing there with my 2 kids and my 2 nephews...and offered no apologies or explanation...she declared she was the front desk manager...it was an hour before we got the keys for 1 of our 2 rooms...and another hour before we got the keys to the second room...never received any apologies...called customer service line, they said they would get back to us...never heard back...wrote email...said we would hear back in 48 hrs...again...nothing...its like they really dont care...its bad enough you have to pay $38 a day to park at your own hotel...plus they charge you daily for wireless connection...but add the rudeness of the front hotel staff and the lack of compassion...it was the worst hotel expirence i have had...in our many family vacations... James

Room Tip: You have to turn the air down to 60 DEGREES...as low as thermostat goes...just to keep the room arou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenjackson23, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Please accept our sincere apologies for the unpleasant experience your family had during your recent stay with us. We do our best to ensure every guest and team member are respectful of each other so that all may enjoy their stay and we regret having dropped the ball. We have shared your concerns with our front desk teams so we may work to better preserve the comfort of our guests moving forward. We hope you will give us another chance to show you the quality hospitality you deserve, should you return to our area in the future.

Thank you,
Kenneth Jackson
504 581 1300
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I stayed here during the Essence Festival weekend. I thought the staff was very pleasant and helpful. The pricing was too high for the rooms but I guess that's what hotels do when they're expecting a lot of people. Don't stay on the 4th floor on the poolside b/c you will be disturbed if there are a lot of people in the pool and you're trying to rest. The cafes on the first floor are pretty nice and the food and drinks are good. The location is great. It's right across from the Harrah's casino and a few blocks from the French Quarters. You can pretty much walk to everything that's in the area, even the Superdome. My only big issue during my stay was with the WIFI service. I kept losing the signal. Other than an issue that I had with management, cancelling my reservation due to an error or their part and not notifying me nor apologizing, my overall stay was ok.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the 4th floor near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Hotel New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Hotel New Orleans

Address: 300 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-1010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Hotel New Orleans 3.5*
Number of rooms: 367
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Orleans is perfectly located next to Harrah's Casino along Canal Street and across from the French Quarter. Local sites and attractions such as Jackson Square, Bourbon Street, Audubon Aquarium of the Americas and Shops at Canal Place are all within close walking distance. Only a short three blocks from the Arts & Warehouse with top museums, art galleries and restaurants our hotel serves as the perfect base to explore the city no matter what your age or interests may be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Hotel New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree New Orleans
Doubletree Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree by Hilton Hotel New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.