We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but an issue” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Hotel New Orleans

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree by Hilton Hotel New Orleans to your Saves list
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel New Orleans
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-1010   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #107 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
1 review
“Good but an issue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

I was very disappointed that the continental breakfast cost $17.00 a person. I was unaware that it was not included, nevermind the fact that it was so expensive. I understand that it did not say complimentary continental breakfast but it was very misleading. Our server also was inattentive and did not bring us water or interact with us at all. We noticed another server interacting with their table by making suggestions for things to see in the city and bringing them refills of drinks. This was the most disappointing part of our stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    388
    315
    182
    109
See reviews for
213
314
70
383
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Stayed at the Double tree on Canal street while working in New Orleans. Brought the family as it was Spring Break. Was a bit nervous as I had read some not good reviews. However, our stay was Awesome! The staff was so friendly and helpful. Always smiling and helping us with whatever we needed. The Wow cafe was very good (despite some reviews saying the contrary) and my son wanted room service every night. The location is just blocks away from the French Quarter. If in New Orleans, don't be afraid to stay here. It is a great value and the Doubletree cookies are the icing on the cake.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porter, Texas
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

I stayed a plenty of hotels and I felt this one was just average for a Doubletree. Upon arrival we were told we didn't have to check out till 4 pm the next day, but what the guy parking our car meant was car could stay in the lot till 4 pm... Also parking is at a minimum so we had to use the valet $38 dollars a day. Rooms were a bit small, but customer service was great.This hotel is located in a Great place near the French Quarter, easy walking distance to shops, casinos which is right next door. Morning breakfast downstairs was luke warm and very busy so plan ahead if you want to eat there. I also feel that the decor was a bit out dated and could use a bit of upgrading.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulsbo, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

The hotel admits their walls are paper thin and that is an understatement. I could clearly hear conversations that were across the hall and two doors down as if they were in the room with me. I checked out and moved to another hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenjackson23, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Lari,

We’re sorry that we didn’t provide you with a rewarding experience during your recent stay at our hotel. Your satisfaction is very important to us, and we appreciate your feedback about the noisy hallways and thin walls. Your comments will help us correct these issues. We hope you’ll consider staying with us again the next time you’re in the area.

Thank you,
Kenneth Jackson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Excellent Front Desk personnel ensure you have a great stay in the 'Big Easy!' Ask for Brittany B. to ensure you have all the support you need. She's kind, helpful, communicative, etc. This hotel is located in a GREAT place near the French Quarter, easy walking distance to shops, casinos (right across the street), restaurants, and museums (again, right across the street).

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garland, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights between Christmas and New Year's Eve. Loved the location. Far enough off the beaten path that we didn't feel like we couldn't get away, but close enough that we didn't feel like it was a hike to get to where we wanted to be. Rooms (our room, at least) was pretty small. But, we didn't plan on spending time in the room anyway. Staff was friendly. Any questions we had were answered. I am not a fan of valet parking, but with no self-park, valet it was! Once the car was parked, though, we didn't need it until it was time to leave.

Room Tip: Had a room near the elevator. Stay away from a room near the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Washington, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

very friendly staff. clean and quiet on Hilton Honors floor. surprisingly good experience, much better than I expected. breakfast service above average; buffet breakfast selection adequate. location close to convention center and close to French quarter are ideal.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Hotel New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Hotel New Orleans

Address: 300 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-1010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Hotel New Orleans 3.5*
Number of rooms: 367
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Orleans is perfectly located next to Harrah's Casino along Canal Street and across from the French Quarter. Local sites and attractions such as Jackson Square, Bourbon Street, Audubon Aquarium of the Americas and Shops at Canal Place are all within close walking distance. Only a short three blocks from the Arts & Warehouse with top museums, art galleries and restaurants our hotel serves as the perfect base to explore the city no matter what your age or interests may be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hilton Hotels and Hotels.com so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Hotel New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree New Orleans
Doubletree Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree by Hilton Hotel New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.