We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but a little noisy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Hotel New Orleans

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree by Hilton Hotel New Orleans to your Saves list
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel New Orleans
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-1010   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on WiFi, Breakfast
Ranked #103 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Opelika, United States
1 review
“Great location but a little noisy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Convenient to a lot of shopping and resturants. My bed was very comfortable and the room was fine. The room was far from being quiet. I could hear other guests walking and talking as if the door was not a sound barrier. One neighbor flushed their toilet often and it sounded like it was right next to me.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    350
    282
    157
    95
See reviews for
187
278
65
346
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Located just off the French Quarter, this hotel offers location, location, location. Directly across the street from Harrah's and premier shopping. And a few short blocks to the heart of the French Quarter. Hotel is also very convienant to the river, cruise boat dock, and convention center. I enjoyed running along the river in the morning.

I did pay an advance rate because I booked a week out - this was the actually the cheapest (decent) option in New Orleans. Room was very standard. Bathroom was tiny, tiny and my head (I'm 5'9") almost touched the ceiling. Could tell the bathroom was starting to get a little moldy...humid air and all. Could use a deep clean. Room overlooked the downtown area.

Enjoyed the pool for a bit one morning. Could see that in the afternoon, there would not be as much sun due to the shadow from the building. Also, there were rooms right on the pool deck, so if you would like that, check into it.

Parking is chaotic and expensive here. Avoid it if possible.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

If you’re looking for a hotel in Downtown New Orleans this is the hotel for you. Not only is it in a perfect spot. The staff is very friendly and eager to assist with all needs. My room was nice and spacious and I had a great view of the city. I will most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights in August 2013. The hotel has no frills but it's clean and comfortable. The bathroom in our room was very tight and there was no safe or hair dryer. The pool is pretty small, too. I wasn't at all impressed with the breakfast buffet (it's an additional charge unless you book a deal in advance), but I was glad to be able to get coffee without leaving the property. The location of this hotel is perfect if you're interested in walking through the French Quarter!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

The bed was so amazing I thought I was sleeping at home. The location is perfect for ease of visiting interesting sites, getting to the best restaurants and the area feels safe. Over a 6 night stay we found all the services provided by Double Tree were provided in double time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Was able to stay here two weeks after Mardi Gras and had such a good time! Service is great. Rooms are not five star, but they are absolutely great as they are. Very clean. Beds were unbelievably comfortable! Bathroom could've used a vent and/or fan, but really not enough of a concern to cause me to downgrade the review.

Didn't get to use the pool because it rained though. Sad face! It looked gorgeous though!

This is a safe bet if you want to stay right in the thick of the action, while still being able to enjoy your rest.

Love those cookies!!

Room Tip: This isn't a Ritz Carlton or a Four Seasons -- understand that it's a Doubletree. And a good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

The Double Tree Hilton was fabulous. The staff was friendly and very knowledgeable. I had the perfect weekend. The front desk staff gave out these amazing warm cookies along with to complementary waters. The WOW Café served the most delicious food. The location of the hotel is so convenient to the French Quarter, French Market, Bourbon Street and the River Walk (which is under going a complete renovation).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Hotel New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Hotel New Orleans

Address: 300 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-1010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Hotel New Orleans 3.5*
Number of rooms: 367
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Orleans is perfectly located next to Harrah's Casino along Canal Street and across from the French Quarter. Local sites and attractions such as Jackson Square, Bourbon Street, Audubon Aquarium of the Americas and Shops at Canal Place are all within close walking distance. Only a short three blocks from the Arts & Warehouse with top museums, art galleries and restaurants our hotel serves as the perfect base to explore the city no matter what your age or interests may be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, HotelTravel.com, AAA Travel Services, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Hotel New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree New Orleans
Doubletree Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree by Hilton Hotel New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.