We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 - New Orleans

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 - New Orleans to your Saves list
Super 8 - New Orleans
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   6322 Chef Menteur Highway, New Orleans, LA 70126   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Belleville, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Room Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Greeted by a sincerely sweet housekeeping member named Cathy Smith. She assisted us with a room change, oriented us to the hotels amenities. Her smile and gracious attitude makes this a must return on our list of New Orleans Hotels. The front desk staff was accomodating in all our needs. For this busy time of year they were quick and timely in arranging taxi's, room transfers and information regarding bus schedules.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8NO, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 - New Orleans, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Ms Susan,

On behalf of our staff we would like to thank you for sending in a review about our hotel. I would like to thank you for mentioning Ms Cathy. She is a Gem to our hotel. Once again thank you and Happy New Year.

Kenneth Matherne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    311
    125
    36
    17
See reviews for
218
234
50
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We spent 6 nights at the Super 8 while visiting New Orleans. We had stayed downtown near Bourbon St in the past but most places downtown have valet parking which you must pay extra for above the hotel rate. We wanted a place where we would have easy access to our car as we also planned on some day trips. Plus we didn't want to spend a fortune on hotel when it's really just a bed and a shower - most of our time is spent outside of the hotel.

The hotel was a great location with easy access to I-10. We did go downtown on several occasions and it was about a 10 minute drive. There are a few lots near Riverwalk that have an early bird special of $8.00 per day (in by 9am out after 2pm but before 8pm) so we drove rather than taking a cab.

The neighbourhood around the hotel is a little sketchy and doesn't offer much in the way of restaurants. That was a concern when booking the hotel but in the end it turned out to be a non-issue. They do have plenty of parking in the back and there is a security guard in the evenings.

The hotel itself is old but the room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Our room had a fridge but no microwave. As we would be there for an extended period of time we asked for a micro which they brought to our room (at no charge) within a few minutes. WiFi in our room worked great.

The breakfast included cereal, waffles, honeybuns, bananas and beverages. Nothing fancy but it sufficed.

So for $55.00 a night it was great value while visiting New Orleans.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8NO, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 - New Orleans, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dutchie33,

Thank you for sending in a review about our hotel. We would like to thank you for choosing Super 8 New Orleans for your hotel accommodations. Please remember us on your next trip to New Orleans. Once again thank you and Happy New Year.



Kenneth Matherne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meaford
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The hotel met all expectations and was well representative of a Super 8 motel. The staff was most helpful and made arrangements for us to travel to the French Quarter--Easy--Fast and quite reasonable inm price--About $20 each way by cab.
Breakfaqst was hot and ready well on time and as mentioned before the hotel met all expectations of a super 8 chain motel

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8NO, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 - New Orleans, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Terry,

On behalf of the staff and management, we would like to thank you for taking the time and sending in a review about our hotel. We strive to make sure all our guest have a pleasant stay with us. Once again thank you and Happy New Year.

Kenneth Matherne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YOUNGSVILLE
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

What an absolute pleasant surprise! I've booked many hotels around this price range and always worry about what horrors I'll be facing once I enter my room. This hotel by far exceeded my expectations. The staff is friendly, and except for a few cosmetic issues with the room (it's an old hotel, so I didn't expect perfection) the room was excellent. Clean, bug free, and mildew free; three traits difficult to find all at once in a hotel around this price range! If my itinerary has me staying in the New Orleans area again, I wouldn't hesitate to stay at this hotel every visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8NO, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 - New Orleans, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Mr. Keith,

Thank you for sending in a review for our hotel. Our staff works really hard to make sure all our guest have a great experience. Thank you and Happy New Year


Kenneth Matherne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights. The staffs are very nice and always have a smile on their faces. The location of the hotel is very good. It is close to gas stations and I-10. It takes 10 minutes driving to downtown. The environment around the hotel is quite safe. I parked my car inside the hotel and I feel very comfortable about that. I would definitely stay here again in my next trip to New Orleans.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8NO, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 - New Orleans, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Mr. Yen,

On behalf of Super 8, we would like to thank you for sending in a review about the hotel. We are so happy that you had a great time at our hotel. Please come back soon and Happy New Year.

Kenneth Matherne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 - New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 - New Orleans

Address: 6322 Chef Menteur Highway, New Orleans, LA 70126
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#33 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#49 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#61 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 - New Orleans 2*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Super 8 New Orleans is conveniently located off I-10 at exit 240 A or B, and is the closest Super 8 to the French Quarter. We are located within minutes of the French Quarter, Bourbon Street, the Convention Center, Business District, Cruise Port, Superdome and many other iconic Big Easy attractions. Super 8 would like to offer there cruise guest FREE PARKING while on your cruise.(Except during Major Events) We invite you to come stay with us at the Super 8 and enjoy our southern hospitality at its best while enjoying some of New Orleans best and finest. We are within minutes of all major city attractions making it easy for you to indulge in what the city has to offer. Super 8 offers Free Parking, breakfast, Wireless Internet, Fitness and Business Center. Enjoy our wonderful outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, AAA Travel Services, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 - New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel - New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Super 8 New Orleans
Super Eight New Orleans
New Orleans Super 8
New Orleans Super Eight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 - New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.