We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tira is Excelent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 - New Orleans

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Super 8 - New Orleans to your Saves list
Super 8 - New Orleans
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   6322 Chef Menteur Highway, New Orleans, LA 70126   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
A
2 reviews
“Tira is Excelent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Tira at the front desk was the friendliest desk clerk I have ever dealt with. Seeing her smile just made us feel good all day. She is also a great resource for directions and the goings on, in and around New Orleans. I wish I had gotten the name of the wonderful lady overseeing the continental breakfast. She was very effective and helpful.
Bottom line would I stay there again? Yes.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8NO, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 - New Orleans, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
On behalf of Super 8 Staff we would like to thank you for sending in a review about our hotel. We look at all reviews as a learning tool. Once again thank you and we hope to see you again soon. And thank you for mentioning Tira, she is wonderful.


Kenneth Matherne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    297
    118
    32
    16
See reviews for
208
222
43
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is in a run down area, very close to Highway 10. It was a 10 minute drive to Downtown NO.
The receptionist was very helpful and pleasant. The hotel has been designed to look like a historic building, and for the most part, that makes the place feel pleasant ant homely. Sadly, the wrought iron around the central corridors, gives that area the feel of a prison. the rooms were clean and comfortable. We didn't use the pool but it looked clean and pleasant. The breakfast room was decorated nicely, and was a pleasant place to start the day.
Would definitely visit again - good value for money

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8NO, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 - New Orleans, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
On behalf of Super 8 Staff we would like to thank you for sending in a review about our hotel. We look at all reviews as a learning tool. Once again thank you and we hope to see you again soon.


Kenneth Matherne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I love the place, it was very clean and quiet to be able to relax for the night. The breakfeast was great, they have coffee, two types of cereal, orange juice, waffels, pastrys, fruits, and milk. We arrived on November 18, for one night and found the staff very helpfull and pleasent. The hotel is also nearby to the French Quarter but far enough from all of the craziness. If your just passing thru the city or state and are looking for a place to stay this is place to stay.

This hotel also gives discounts to military personel, but you must call the hotel directly to get the discount. For us this turned outbe the better price then thru the online discount web sites.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8NO, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 - New Orleans, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
On behalf of Super 8 Staff we would like to thank you for sending in a review about our hotel. We look at all reviews as a learning tool. Once again thank you and we hope to see you again soon.


Kenneth Matherne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Tx
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Would absolutely stay again!! Our dates : Nov 2012 Sat- Wed AM. I am so glad we read previous reviews as well because although the area is questionable to the hotel is wonderful, clean, well appointed, friendly, and well maintained. We had 2 joint clean rooms, great pillows, mattresses, cable, plenty of towels, refridgerator, microwave. I wouldn t say plush blankets and towels but it is of course a Super 8. The grounds were monitored by on site security and cameras, clean, litter free, no grafitti or cigarette butts, wonderfully maintained. Breakfast was also more than expected... toast, waffles, cereal, apple/orange juice, yogurt, bananas, coffee, oatmeal. To downtown was about 10 minutes away and a quick jump on to I10 for other sightseeing. The closest grocery was WinnDixie over the bridge (super expensive but am from Texas and LOVE my HEBs). For restaurants/fast food we would not recommend the stretch in that area either so eat/shop before coming back to the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8NO, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 - New Orleans, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
On behalf of Super 8 Staff we would like to thank you for sending in a review about our hotel. We look at all reviews as a learning tool. Once again thank you and we hope to see you again soon.


Kenneth Matherne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisville, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

My family, extended family and friends, had the good fortune of staying here the night prior to leaving on a 7 day cruise. The rooms were nice, the staff wonderfully accommodating, the breakfast the next morning was good, and the rates very reasonable. What impressed me most is they allowed us to leave our vehicles parked there, the whole week, at no cost and using their security. Most places around charged a minimum of $12 per day to park your vehicle (most charged way more) while Super 8 charged nothing for this customer service. I have another cruise planned in about a year, from the same port. I'm sure you can guess where I'll be staying the night before, and trusting my vehicle to?

Room Tip: For me, towards the back of the hotel would be best in order to stay away from traffic noise, though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8NO, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 - New Orleans, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
On behalf of Super 8 Staff we would like to thank you for sending in a review about our hotel. We look at all reviews as a learning tool. Once again thank you and we hope to see you again soon.


Kenneth Matherne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, AZ.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This place was clean, secure and so friendly. Miss Cathy was wonderful and helpful. We would stay here again.Thank you all for the service and accommodation...we trailer-ed a motorcycle and you made space for the trailer, motorcycle and the truck. The parking was secure, as it was totally fenced in. Thanks again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8NO, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 - New Orleans, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
On behalf of Super 8 Staff we would like to thank you for sending in a review about our hotel. We look at all reviews as a learning tool. Once again thank you and we hope to see you again soon.


Kenneth Matherne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 - New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 - New Orleans

Address: 6322 Chef Menteur Highway, New Orleans, LA 70126
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#25 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#45 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#60 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 - New Orleans 2*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Super 8 New Orleans is conveniently located off I-10 at exit 240 A or B, and is the closest Super 8 to the French Quarter. We are located within minutes of the French Quarter, Bourbon Street, the Convention Center, Business District, Cruise Port, Superdome and many other iconic Big Easy attractions. Super 8 would like to offer there cruise guest FREE PARKING while on your cruise.(Except during Major Events) We invite you to come stay with us at the Super 8 and enjoy our southern hospitality at its best while enjoying some of New Orleans best and finest. We are within minutes of all major city attractions making it easy for you to indulge in what the city has to offer. Super 8 offers Free Parking, breakfast, Wireless Internet, Fitness and Business Center. Enjoy our wonderful outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 - New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel - New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Super 8 New Orleans
Super Eight New Orleans
New Orleans Super 8
New Orleans Super Eight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 - New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.