We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy in the Big Easy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 - New Orleans

Save Saved
You added Super 8 - New Orleans to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 - New Orleans
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   6322 Chef Menteur Highway, New Orleans, LA 70126   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Lewisville, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Easy in the Big Easy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

My family, extended family and friends, had the good fortune of staying here the night prior to leaving on a 7 day cruise. The rooms were nice, the staff wonderfully accommodating, the breakfast the next morning was good, and the rates very reasonable. What impressed me most is they allowed us to leave our vehicles parked there, the whole week, at no cost and using their security. Most places around charged a minimum of $12 per day to park your vehicle (most charged way more) while Super 8 charged nothing for this customer service. I have another cruise planned in about a year, from the same port. I'm sure you can guess where I'll be staying the night before, and trusting my vehicle to?

Room Tip: For me, towards the back of the hotel would be best in order to stay away from traffic noise, though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8NO, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 - New Orleans, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
On behalf of Super 8 Staff we would like to thank you for sending in a review about our hotel. We look at all reviews as a learning tool. Once again thank you and we hope to see you again soon.


Kenneth Matherne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    219
    277
    111
    29
    16
See reviews for
199
207
37
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, AZ.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This place was clean, secure and so friendly. Miss Cathy was wonderful and helpful. We would stay here again.Thank you all for the service and accommodation...we trailer-ed a motorcycle and you made space for the trailer, motorcycle and the truck. The parking was secure, as it was totally fenced in. Thanks again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8NO, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 - New Orleans, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
On behalf of Super 8 Staff we would like to thank you for sending in a review about our hotel. We look at all reviews as a learning tool. Once again thank you and we hope to see you again soon.


Kenneth Matherne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This motel is priced about $20 less than other properties in New Orleans because of the location in an industrial area. But the hotel appears to be well managed, clean and everthing is operational. Professional staff. Would stay there again. About 15 mins from the French Qtr. The question is would you prefer a hotel with better aesthetics, or this one for less with the equivalent of a free dinner thrown in? That's where the savvy traveller part comes in.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We booked to stay here while we had friends visiting from the UK and budgets were a little tight. We were really surprised by the cleanliness of the rooms which was great and the front desk were really helpful and friendly. Its a hotel that does exactly what it says on the tin. Its a little old and tired and not in a great location - $20 each way into the French Quarter but would definitely stay again

Room Tip: I would definitely book non smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

It was a very comfortable stay.miss cathy smith made me feel like I was at home.she was nice,we had fresh ckean towels.all my personal porperty was the way I left it.the breakfast was nice also.the only thing that I did not like about the hotel is the location was ti far from the downtown area,i like to walk so that was the drawback for me.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 - New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 - New Orleans

Address: 6322 Chef Menteur Highway, New Orleans, LA 70126
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#23 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#45 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#64 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 - New Orleans 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Super 8 New Orleans is conveniently located off I-10 at exit 240 A or B, and is the closest Super 8 to the French Quarter. We are located within minutes of the French Quarter, Bourbon Street, the Convention Center, Business District, Cruise Port, Superdome and many other iconic Big Easy attractions. Super 8 would like to offer there cruise guest FREE PARKING while on your cruise.(Except during Major Events) We invite you to come stay with us at the Super 8 and enjoy our southern hospitality at its best while enjoying some of New Orleans best and finest. We are within minutes of all major city attractions making it easy for you to indulge in what the city has to offer. Super 8 offers Free Parking, breakfast, Wireless Internet, Fitness and Business Center. Enjoy our wonderful outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Wyndham, Tingo, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Otel and Venere so you can book your Super 8 - New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel - New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Super 8 New Orleans
Super Eight New Orleans
New Orleans Super 8
New Orleans Super Eight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 - New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.