We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 - New Orleans

Save Saved
You added Super 8 - New Orleans to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Super 8 - New Orleans
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   6322 Chef Menteur Highway, New Orleans, LA 70126   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

We drove in and the neighborhood did not look welcoming so we were apprehensive about staying. We went in and got greeted very warmly and professionally by the front desk person, so based on that we asked to see the accommodations before registering. The room was on the 2nd floor right off the elevator and was clean. The furnishings we very basic but for the great rate we had our expectation was simply a clean quiet safe room and we got that PLUS great service from all of the staff there. They have a 24 hour guard on duty that patrols the premises like a hawk. Be not affraid! It's also right off of I10 and across the street from the metro bus that takes you to a street car that takes you into downtown New Orleans. We had a great, great 3 night stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8NO, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 - New Orleans, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Mr. Gregory,

I would like to thank for taking the time out of your busy schedule and send in a review. Super 8 staff strives to make sure all our guest are happy during there stay. Once again thank you and we hope to see you again soon.

Kenneth Matherne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    217
    271
    108
    27
    15
See reviews for
188
199
36
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

The hotel is conveniently located just off the highway with easy access to the downtown area. Staff was very friendly and helpful. They genuinely care about their guests. I arrived at the hotel around 1pm, well before check-in but the hotel was very accomodating and allowed me to check in early. When I was searching for my room I encountered a housekeeper who not only directed me to my room but then went out of her way to open the door for me, seeing that I had my hands full. When I walked in the bed was not made. I asked the housekeeper about it and she said she would go find someone who would help her make the bed but also suggested I call the front desk. I called the front desk and she was very apologetic and said she could move me to another room but I happened to really like my room so I suggested if they could just make my bed I would be satisfied. The housekeeper came back with another employee to make the bed and before they could finish 2 members of management were in my room ensuring that everything else was inspected and as it should be. They apologized for the inconvenience several times and assured me this was not a common place occurance. About an hour later there was a knock at my door and the front desk attendant handed me a gift bag and thanked me for staying at their hotel and again apologized for the problem. The following day I did have an issue with the drain pull on the sink sticking, but I called the front desk and they sent someone up who fixed it promptly. Someone mentioned in another review that this was not a safe area which may or may not be true. However, most people who are coming to New Orleans and opt to stay outside of the downtown area are either coming to visit family or enjoying the attractions in the city, so I don't see why this would be an issue. The hotel itself, despite what may be around it, felt very safe. I am a single woman traveling alone and I never felt in danger. If you want a nice place to stay with a great courteous staff this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8NO, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 - New Orleans, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Dear Ms. Amy,

I would like to thank you so much for sending in a review about our hotel. I am glad that you had a great stay with us. Our staff really goes above and beyond to make sure our guest are happy. Once again thank you and we hope to see you again soon..

Thanks

Kenneth Matherne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012 via mobile

We called to reserve a room and asked if it was pet friendly since we were traveling with our dog, they said yes, of course when we got there it was not! The location was scary, bad area I did not feel safe with my 2 kids. It got worse as we got to the room, bugs in the shower and I am sure i was bit by bed bugs in my sleep because I woke up with a rash and itching all over!!! I will not recomend this place ever!!! When we spoke to the front desk the next morning as we checked out they said it was the first time they had heard about bugs in the room, which is surpricing since reading some reviews, I am not the first to mention it.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8NO, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 - New Orleans, responded to this review, June 3, 2012
On behalf of our Management Staff I am very sorry that you did not have a great experience at Super 8 New Orleans. I am also sorry for the mislead about pets, we are not a pet friendly hotel, I will have a talk with the front desk staff. Our hotel receives monthly inspections through our exterminator. I am sorry for the inconvenience this has caused you. I would hope you give us another chance and we would like to offer you a 20% off your next stay with us. We thank you for sending in a review, because we take everything and learn from it to make our hotel better.

Thanks,

Kenneth Matherne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersburg, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Bryan, the desk clerk, was very helpful. He explained how the bus to downtown stopped right across the street, thus saving us hefty parking fees in the French Quarters. Hotel has lovely, private pool. Cathy, the maid, was generous with lots of fresh towels. Continental breakfast held in a lovely dining room. All in all a good experience at very modest price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a quiet a.c. unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8NO, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 - New Orleans, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Dear Mrs. Kay,

First of all I would like to say Happy Anniversary from all of us at Super 8. We would like to thank you for sending in a review for our hotel. I am so pleased that Bryan took care of you guys. I hope you guys come back next year for your anniversary, so we can do something special for you.

Thanks,

Kenneth Matherne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Everything was great! From the moment we entered the lobby until we left 4 days latter we experienced friendly helpful service from the late afternoon/evening shift desk attendant to Cathy who took care of our room. I would highly recommend this hotel for any traveler to New Orleans who appreciates a 10 to 15 minute access to just about any place in New Orleans by car. I also recommend parking for free anywhere outside of the enter city along one of the trolley lines and then purchasing the RTA day pass for $3.00 from the trolley conductor the first time you board. If you like you can just catch the bus at the hotel using the RTA pass for buses as well as trolleys.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8NO, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 - New Orleans, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Dear Mr. James,

First of all I want to thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write a review about the hotel. We really enjoy having you at the hotel for 4 days. The staff really enjoys making our guest feel welcome. We hope to see you again soon.

Thanks

Kenneth Matherne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

The room was suppsoed to be non-smoking but has a stale odor of smoke. I suppose it could be because all the rooms around us were smoking rooms and ours was not designated non-smoking on the door like the others located in the main corridor of hotel. Furniture and furnishings were also riddles with cigarette burns. I brought it to the attention of mgmt but they wrote me off. There was a power outage that lasted well over 12 hours and the only thing staff would say was that we were welcome to check out and go somewhere else. The pictures are old and misleading as well. this is a very rough area of town and I dont suggest this location with children.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8NO, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 - New Orleans, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
On behalf of Super 8 management, I would like to apologize for the inconvenience during your trip. We want to thank you for sending in a review, because we take everything and learn from it. I personally would like to say that I am sorry for the smell of smoke, we should have moved you right away. But for the power outage, that is out of our control. There was an accident that took place that day, if that was not explain to you, I am very sorry. We hope that you will give us another chance and visit us in the future.

Thanks
Kenneth Matherne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Clean, conveniently located and manned by a friendly, helpful staff. The design is actually kind of charming, too -- a three story courtyard-based layout with lots of New Orleans-style wrought iron.

The 94 bus stops right at the motel and can connect you to everything if you're note driving.

I'll be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8NO, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 - New Orleans, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
I would like to thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to send in a review on our hotel. We are so excited that you enjoyed your stay. Remember you are always welcome at Super 8 New Orleans.

Thanks
Kenneth Matherne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Super 8 - New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 - New Orleans

Address: 6322 Chef Menteur Highway, New Orleans, LA 70126
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#35 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#53 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 - New Orleans 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Super 8 New Orleans is conveniently located off I-10 at exit 240 A or B, and is the closest Super 8 to the French Quarter. We are located within minutes of the French Quarter, Bourbon Street, the Convention Center, Business District, Cruise Port, Superdome and many other iconic Big Easy attractions. Super 8 would like to offer there cruise guest FREE PARKING while on your cruise.(Except during Major Events) We invite you to come stay with us at the Super 8 and enjoy our southern hospitality at its best while enjoying some of New Orleans best and finest. We are within minutes of all major city attractions making it easy for you to indulge in what the city has to offer. Super 8 offers Free Parking, breakfast, Wireless Internet, Fitness and Business Center. Enjoy our wonderful outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Wyndham, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Venere, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Super 8 - New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel - New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Super 8 New Orleans
Super Eight New Orleans
New Orleans Super 8
New Orleans Super Eight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 - New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.