We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will definitely stay here again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn on Ursulines

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Inn on Ursulines to your Saves list
Inn on Ursulines
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   708 Ursulines, New Orleans, LA 70116   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Buy Two, Get One FREE!
Ranked #20 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Will definitely stay here again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed for six days and were delighted with the Inn, our room, the staff and the location. Our room (King, upper level, courtyard) looked exactly as it appears on the website. We found it to be quiet as well, but I guess that could depend on who else is staying there at the time. The only small thing that would have made the room a little more comfortable would have been one or two chairs, but we were told that that is on the "to do" list. The new owners are making a concerted effort to make the Inn as comfortable and inviting as possible.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on Ursulines, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Inn on Ursulines with us! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

As you mentioned how quiet your guest room was, this is partly to do with our great location. As the Inn on Ursulines is located in the quieter residential section of the French Quarter, our guests are within walking distance of all the excitement on Bourbon Street while still being able to return to a quiet and relaxing guest room at the end of an exciting day, or night!

You also noted how the Inn on Ursulines looks exactly like it is portrayed on our website. Our pictures are truly from the property itself and the upgraded amenities noted are guaranteed to be provided in every guestroom!

Thank you again for sharing your experience at the Inn on Ursulines with us and we hope to see you back again at any of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    40
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
9
66
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

A friend did the research and booked 3 rooms for our stay. We arrived late in the day and were greeted by a wonderful staff member by the name of Kerri Sue. She checked us all in in record time and even gave us some great suggestions on where we could find dinner.

My room (#13) was very small but I was the only occupant so it was perfect. The room shared by 2 other friends (#12) was a bit bigger and the third room (#23) for the last couple was large with a HUGE bathroom!

The courtyard was super cute and filled with tables and chairs for hanging out. There is also a hot tub should you need to soothe aching legs and feet from walking the French Quarter.

The location of the Inn is awesome. Only a few blocks from the French Market and the water. Canal Street isn't too far and Bourbon Street is the next block. If you don't want to venture far from the French Quarter, this is the place to stay.

The only drawback is the noise from people in the courtyard at late hours. I wear ear plugs at night during hotel stays, so this didn't bother me. But my friends said they were kept awake for awhile by loud people.

All in all, if you like charm and old style buildings, this place is awesome. Kerri Sue was so helpful with food recommendations and such a pleasure to deal with. You can find me at the Inn on Ursulines on my next visit to New Orleans for sure!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on Ursulines, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Inn on Ursulines with us and others on TripAdvisor. We are so pleased to hear you will be returning upon your next visit to New Orleans!

As you started off by mentioning our great staff member, Kerri Sue, who was able to expedite your check-in process, we are so pleased that you felt our customer service was well above par. As customer service is our number one priority, Kerri Sue and all of our other staff at any of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties truly go above and beyond to ensure your stay is nothing short of spectacular!

As the Inn on Ursulines is a historic property, the room sizes tend to vary. However, even the smallest room has everything one could want or need during their stay. From our free wifi, flat-panel TV's and Serta Sleeper mattresses to our marble countertops and showers, we have placed much emphasis on the comfort of our guest room amenities. Many of our repeat guests tend to find a room that they particular care for and then request that specific room upon booking with us directly when they return.

You also noted our great location, which is the number one selling feature of all of French Quarter Guest Houses properties! As we are located in the quieter residential section of the quarter, our guests are within walking distance of all the excitement on Bourbon Street while still being able to return to the relaxing area that the Inn on Ursulines is able to provide.

As our hotel is staffed 24 hours a day, we are hear to help facilitate with any noise issues you may experience during your stay. Our front desk staff would have been happy to have addressed the noise in the courtyard later in the evening should we had been provided the opportunity to do so.

Thank you again for sharing you experience with us and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My stay at the Inn on Ursulines was very pleasant. I was in town for training and to check out the happenings in New Orleans. The staff was extremely nice. The l women at the front desk that I spoke with was a big help to me. Everyone was pleasant. The overall experience was good. The rooms were nice and kept clean throughout the week I spent there. The place had a lot of character and was just far enough off Bourbon St to offer a good night's sleep, but close enough to experience all the city had to offer. As long as your ok with a little old building style charm, this place is for you. I would return without hesistation!

Room Tip: I stayed in room 32. It's a nice room on the second floor. I recommend it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on Ursulines, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Inn on Ursulines with us! We are thrilled to hear you will be returning upon your next visit to New Orleans!

Thank you for noting our pleasant staff. Customer Service is our number one priority and we are pleased to hear they were able to assist you in all your needs while staying with us.

You also mentioned our great location, as we are located in the heart of the residential section of the French Quarter. Our prime location allows our guests to be within walking distance of all the happenings on Bourbon Street while still having a quiet and relaxing guestroom to return to to rest after an exciting day or night out!

As the Inn on Ursulines is newly renovated, we have restored the building back to its original beauty and charm while upgrading the space to provide all of the modern amenities one would expect from a larger chain hotel. From our Carrera marble countertops and showers, to the LED TV's and MP3 alarm clocks, our guests are sure to enjoy their guestrooms to the fullest!

Thank you again for sharing your experience at the Inn on Ursulines and we look forward to your future stay at any of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here the first time I stayed in New Orleans. Quaint clean joint with amazing staff. Kerri Sue worked the front desk and I told her we did not have a remote. She said she had an extra one but with no batteries. She then said she would walk down the street to get some batteries and deliver the remote to our room. He location is also amazing. I would certain recommend to anyone to stay at the Inn on Ursulines, I know I will be staying here on my next trip.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on Ursulines, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Inn on Ursulines with us and others on TripAdvisor. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and will be returning upon your next visit to New Orleans!

We appreciate your mention of our clean guestrooms and common areas as our housekeeping staff takes much pride in their work. They work hard to ensure the hotel is spotless at all times!

You also noted our helpful front desk staff, specifically Kerri Sue. They truly go above and beyond to ensure your stay at the Inn on Ursulines, or any of our other French Quarter Guest Houses properties, leaves you wanting for nothing!

Lastly, you mentioned our great location, as this is the number one selling feature for all of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties! As we are located in the quieter residential section of the Quarter, our guests are just steps away from all of the action on Bourbon Street, while having a quiet and relaxing space to return to after an exciting day (or night) out!

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us and we look forward to having you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

At the end of a conference, myself and a group of friends changed hotels to save a bit of money and stay in the French Quarter. This place was great! We arrived early and were welcomed into our room with no dramas. Most rooms appear to be recently refurbished so there was plenty of space, brand new beds, floors, and a nicely decked out bathroom. We even accidentally lost a swipe card to the building at the end of our trip and were told it wasn't an issue.

Location is fabulous. Right near Frenchman St which has plenty of great jazz bars and restaurants and right near Burboun St for those crazy night outs (if you need it haha). Staff were always lovely and this place was great. Will definitely come back to New Orleans and stay here.

Room Tip: Room tip - Maybe try get a room on the upper level as you can hear people walking about upstairs if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on Ursulines, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Inn on Ursulines with us! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us!

As you mentioned our newly renovated rooms, we recently completed a complete facelift for the entire property! All of our guest rooms have been restored to their original beauty with authentic hardwood floors and gorgeous french doors as well as have been upgraded to the modern amenities one would expect such as granite countertops and showers and top of the line furnishings.

You also noted our fabulous location, as this is the number one selling feature of all of the French Quarter Guest Houses properties! We are located in the quieter residential section of the Quarter which keeps within walking distance of Bourbon street in one direction or the local hangouts of Frenchmen Street in the other direction!

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us and we truly look forward to having you back again for your next trip to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The Inn on Ursalines is a well-kept secret! Our room, although right on the street, was delightful. Large and super comfortable king-size bed and absolutely immaculate and spacious bath. The location just can't be beat. Street noise might be a problem during Mardi Gras, but then anywhere in the Quarter you'll have that to contend with. We were in New Orleans to visit our daughter who lives there so we were on the go constantly. What a wonderful oasis, though, at the end of the day. We will definitely be back next time we're in The Big Easy.

Room Tip: We were in Room 2 which is literally on the street. If you are sensitive to street noise, this may n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on Ursulines, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Inn on Ursulines with us and others on TripAdvisor! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and will be returning upon your next visit to Nola!

As you mentioned our top of the line amenities, we appreciate that your guest room was able to meet if not exceed your expectations! From our Serta Sleeper mattresses and luxury hotel linens, to our granite bathroom countertops and showers, we have gone above and beyond maintain the authenticity and charm you would expect from a boutique hotel in the French Quarter while providing all of the amenities you would find at a larger chain hotel.

You also noted our great location, as we are located in the quieter residential section of the Quarter. This is our number one selling feature of all of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties!

Thank you again for sharing your experience at the Inn on Ursulines and we look forward to having you back again at the Inn on Ursulines or any of our other French Quarter Guest Houses properties!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We have stayed in many guest houses in NO over the years, and know how to manage our expectations. We went for a birthday party in September and the guest of honor chose this hotel. The reviews were abysmal (think bed bugs, mold, dirt, etc.) and I was very worried. My husband and I arrived a day early and spent the night at the JW and I was considering not checking out! However, the Ursuline GH went through an owner transfer, room overhaul and complete changeover that ended the month before our arrival and as I followed the reviews they began to make a huge transition. So we decided to risk it.

I'm so glad we did. While the room was smallish and the shower barely allowed you to raise your arms without bumping into the walls, it was immaculate and clean. The location is perfect for walking and just around the corner (stumbling distance if need be) from the Clover Grill for that much needed early morning food fix. The front desk was polite, helpful and accommodating to our large party. We had almost half the rooms and a bachelor party party had most of the other half. A typical weekend in NO I'm sure. The courtyard is comfortable and we used it at length for gathering.

The room was antique and what you would want in a B&B but still comfortable with the amenities you look for. Such a great surprise. I'm so thankful that the new owners made such drastic changes and it is a great little hotel now. CLEAN!

Room Tip: If you are on the lower level, expect a little foot noise from the rooms above you. And, as it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on Ursulines, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Inn on Ursulines with us and others on TripAdvisor! We are so pleased you gave our property a chance and enjoyed your stay with us!

We appreciate your mention of the new ownership as well as all the renovations, as we are very proud of our finished product! The Inn on Ursulines (formally the Ursulines Guest House) was purchased by the French Quarter Guest Houses Properties and restored to it's original beauty! From our Serta Sleeper mattresses and top of the line linens and furnishings, to our granite counter tops and showers, we have spared no expense to bring the property back to its original luster! Our charming private courtyard is the perfect area to have a glass of wine (or Bourbon!) prior to heading out for the evening and we are pleased you were able to take advantage of it during your stay!

You also noted our great location, as this is the number one selling feature for all of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties. We are located in the quieter residential section of the Quarter which keeps you within walking distance of all the great restaurants and shops, while still providing you a quiet and relaxing guest room to return to.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us and we look forward to the opportunity of having you back again at the Inn on Ursulines or any of our other French Quarter Guest Houses properties!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn on Ursulines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Ursulines

Address: 708 Ursulines, New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn on Ursulines 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally constructed in the 1700's, the Inn on Ursulines is one of the oldest structures in the French Quarter. Located between the famed Royal and Bourbon streets, this traditional Creole Cottage was once owned by Marie Laveau, who operated it as a guest house for travelers to the city seeking her services.While the smallest of the French Quarter Guest Houses group of boutique hotels, the Inn on Ursulines, and each of its 15 guest rooms, has been carefully restored to showcase the property's everlasting charm.Engrossed in the property's rich history and architecture are guest rooms providing today's traveler the comfort and modern conveniences expected of a great hotel. Our inviting courtyard is your personal sanctuary from the ongoing thrill that is the New Orleans experience. With both location and comfort, the Inn on Ursulines is the perfect home base for your next authentic French Quarter adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Venere, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Inn on Ursulines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ursuline Guest House Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn on Ursulines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.