We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unpleasant experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter to your Saves list
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   124 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70130 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #104 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
VARANASI
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“An unpleasant experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The only good thing about this property is the location - right in the middle of french quarter district in the downtown, one of the best locations for walking tours and restaurants.
Rooms are spartan - no refrigerator, no coffee maker etc. The service leaves a lot to be desired. One can go on trying the in-house extension numbers for room service, concierge and house keeping in vain because you won't be able to get through.
The hotel offers free wi-fi but the network didn't reach up-to the 19th floor where I had a room. Incidentally, you have to change elevators if your room happens to be on 19th floor or above because lobby elevators do not go beyond 18th floor.
The worst experience of the stay was during check-in. After having traveled for 24 hours, reached the hotel at 10 am and was informed that the check-in time was 4 pm and the room is not available. Curiously, the check-out time is 11 am and it seems that the house keeping takes full 5 hours to clean and make the room ready for the next guest. Anyway, I was waiting in the lobby for 4 hours while people were coming and getting checked in on a regular basis. Finally, a front desk girl took pity on me and I managed to enter the room.
For the tariff that this hotel charges, there are excellent options available in the vicinity and my recommendation would be to go in for any of those rather than this one.

Room Tip: If you really have to stay here, ask for a room below 18th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    85
    68
    35
    15
See reviews for
59
89
18
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mandeville, Louisiana
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The location of this hotel is great. Royal Street is in the middle of everything in the French Quarter. Service is very slow, though. Check-in was terrible. Don't arrive at check-in time. Parking was good, although I self-parked, and only saved $5 by doing it this way. For $35, though, I was able to leave my car in the garage for 24 hours, which was safe and secure, and made it totally worth it. French Quarter parking is terrible and expensive usually. They didn't give me the room I'd reserved 2 months before for my sister's bachelorette party, which was a double with a rollaway bed. Instead, I ended up with a king size and a sofa bed sleeper. Although 3 of us slept on the sofa sleeper, it was pretty comfy. The room was quiet and we had no problems, other than service to receive bedding for the sofa sleeper took a very long time to receive. The location of this hotel is really good. It's a block from the Monteleone Hotel, which is ridiculously expensive. This hotel was reasonable enough.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor (18th) and it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The location was excellent, very walkable, only minutes to anywhere within the French Quarter. Strolling down Royal Street would be different each day, many street performers provided welcomed entertainment. Some were truly amazing holding our attention for more than one hour or more at a time. We even viewed 2 wedding processions during our stay. Then there is Bourbon Street only a block away! The only draw back is the limited elevator banks, when large crowds are checking in the wait for an elevator can be lengthy. Staff were very nice and friendly, room was very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

An awesome hotel, in a safe area centrally located. Great amenities, lovely rooms, well informed friendly and helpful staff. Couldn't fault this hotel at all. Everything you could want and need to stay and explore all that is New Orleans. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking to fully immerse themselves in the history, culture, food, entertainment and people. Great stay.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

It is in the heart of the city, downtown. Near the corner with Canal Street, access to the Riverside outlet shopping. Royal Street is very good for gift shopping and also is parallel to the Bourbon Street which is a must to visit in New Orleans.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The staff were friendly and always willing to help. the room was clean and cozy. The location is also great and one can take a walk to all that the french quarter has to offer. The only snag I had during my stay was the water shortage one of the days. Apparently the city of New Orleans cut off the supply. But we were informed as hotel guests about the problem. Overall a good experience

Room Tip: Choose room away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter

Address: 124 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter 3.5*
Number of rooms: 374
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Wyndham, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn New Orleans French Quarter Hotel New Orleans
Holiday Inn French Quarter
New Orleans Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.