We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Bit Disappointed!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter to your Saves list
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   124 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70130 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #103 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Kamloops British Columbia Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Bit Disappointed!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

We just flew home today after a 4 day stay in Wyndham Hotel French Quarter/ and while the lobby looked fairly fresh,clean and representative of a Wyndham property we were disappointed about a number of things. FIrst, no WiFi...I couldn't believe that such a large hotel in New Orleans had inoperable WiFi--after travelling extensively in the UK last fall, EVERYWHERE seemed to have WiFi access! Water and other basic supplies--after our first night, no more bottles of water ! In our room on the 11th floor, the carpet tiles DESPERATELY needed to be replaced--looked filthy and in fact blue glob of something (?) stuck on one square by a door. I would gladly tolerate the elevator situation if the rooms were well stocked and were freshened up. Finally, after arriving fairly late on a Thursday night, after coming in from a tour of MIssissippi, we were really hungry for a a nice bite to eat and a cold drink. The hotel restaurant was VERY loud due to some young fellows, well lubricated and almost(well they WERE,actually) yelling over their drinks! I would have thought that the staff or someone could have reminded them to tone it down out of courtesy for the other guests. Anyway, we enjoyed our trip South overall but we' were somewhat disheartened after our last four days. Staff at Front Desk very good, food and drinks fabulous, and other service personnel gracious.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    56
    45
    24
    10
See reviews for
40
64
6
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The good: This is a former Holiday Inn property that has been taken over by Wyndham a few years back. The rooms are nicely appointed and affordable. The cost of parking is comparable with other hotels nearby, maybe even a bit less expensive. The staff is very professional and helpful. The location is convenient to the major street car and bus lines serving the tourist trade, and walking distance from everything in the French Quarter. You can take the Loyola Street Car line from the train station and get off a half block away. The breakfast buffet was pretty good, but eating hotel food in New Orleans is kind of a waste. There is a Walgreens drug store two doors down on the corner which is very convenient for snacks, water, sundries, etc.

The bad: The front door lets out directly onto Royal St. with a narrow sidewalk, and can be a bit crowded, including a high number of "urban outdoorsman" looking for a handout. That is the French Quarter, though. Not unique to this hotel. Just be aware of your surroundings. The WIFI was slow and clunky, but free. We were in a handicap accessible room and the shower was a bit unwieldy if you were NOT in a wheelchair. It looked recently remodeled, and the tile work had some gaps in the grout that can only lead to problems later. DO NOT stay in rooms 15 or 16 on any floor. They are directly across from the elevators and you will be disturbed all night by revelers returning from their night on the town.

I have stayed here before and will stay here again.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms adjacent to the elevators (xx15 and xx16 on each floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig M, General Manager at Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Valued Guest:
Thank you for the great review and scores for my hotel. It is nice to read when we exceed guest expectations but most important is the loyalty to return. Thanks for the candid feedback the rooms you mentioned are directly across from the elevators and at time rowdy guest returning from the New Orleans Night life can be a bit loud. Although some guest find these rooms convenient and do not mind the occasional revelry. Thanks again for your feedback. Look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemoore, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Service was good.everyone was pretty friendly. Room was nice. Good average hotel. Nice and clean. The indoor pool was great for the kids. The elevators were a bit slow. Great location in the heart of the French Quarter.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig M, General Manager at Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Valued Guest:
Thank you for taking the time to review my hotel. I am glad you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. I am open to suggestions on what would have made your stay above average. We appreciate your feed back. Please feel free to reach out to me personally if you would like to discuss. My direct number is 504-613-3201 or email at cmouney@wyndham.com. Thanks again, Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is the 3rd time we have stayed at this hotel, perfect hotel in the French Quarter, close to everything. Great staff, nicely decorated, clean
rooms at a good price! I would recommend this hotel. Lots of places in walking distance or use the trolley at the end of the block.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig M, General Manager at Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Valued Guest:
Awesome Review!! Thank you. This means so much to the staff to know that we are exceeding expectations. We look forward to having you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed there for the first time for French Quarter Festival, and loved the ambience, location, professional staff: Cierra, Amy, Ms. Veronica, Dominique, and Nancy were bomb at the desk, the perfect combo, cant wait to come back / glad to write this review.

Room Tip: Talk to desk about their local suggestions... bomb staff!!! Clean hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig M, General Manager at Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Valued Guest:
I'll I could say after reading your review was WOOOOHOOOO!!!! I love it! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. Look forward to having you back with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

It was a nice location, close to area attractions and transportation, friendly helpful staff provided assistance whenever asked. Doorman was friendly and courteous. House keeper could have been better We needed to ask to have our room made up. Noise from elevator was a little loud in our room. We are planing to return next year with friends.
Kevin & Maria

Room Tip: Request a room away from top floor elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig M, General Manager at Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Valued Guest:
Thank you for taking time to review my hotel and for the great scores. I have shared your experience with our housekeeping leadership so we can improve this area. Thanks again for your feedback. Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter

Address: 124 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter 3.5*
Number of rooms: 374
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Wyndham, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn New Orleans French Quarter Hotel New Orleans
Holiday Inn French Quarter
New Orleans Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.