We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel review” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter to your Saves list
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   124 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70130 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #105 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Hotel review”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

It was a nice location, close to area attractions and transportation, friendly helpful staff provided assistance whenever asked. Doorman was friendly and courteous. House keeper could have been better We needed to ask to have our room made up. Noise from elevator was a little loud in our room. We are planing to return next year with friends.
Kevin & Maria

Room Tip: Request a room away from top floor elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    55
    42
    24
    9
See reviews for
37
62
6
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Very nice hotel. Very clean and a great staff. The only thing missing was a refrigerator in the room.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Two of three elevators broken for multiple days...30 min delays getting up/down from upper floors. The working elevator was loud enough to disturb sleep. Lobby staff would not lift a finger to help get a cab. Shockingly poor experience given other Wyndham locations have been outstanding.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery Village, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I chose Wyndamn because my family was traveling during Easter, one of the pricier times to visit New Orleans, and the price was reasonable compared to other options. The hotel looks nice, the rooms were comfortable and clean, and it's in a GREAT location on Royal Street in the French Quarter. We could walk to just about everything we wanted. It has a nice indoor pool on the 10th floor which overlooks the city and a convenient business center for printing airline boarding passes. The staff are friendly and welcoming.

There were some issues, though. The biggest problem at the hotel is the elevators. They are ancient and very slow, so there was often a wait going up or down. This was exacerbated by the fact that floors 2-8 are the parking garage so everyone was in a room above that. Not too many people take the steps up 10 - 20 floors!

A further issue was the poor sound insulation of the rooms. When we checked in, we were given a room with two doubles instead of a king. The staff was responsive and friendly; quickly moving us to a new king room. Unfortunately, we were moved directly across from the elevators and they are noisy. We heard them running from our room all night. Even worse, on Friday night we had groups of loud, drinking, college kids congregating outside the elevators until 3-4 in the morning. Since it was our last night, I didn't bother to complain but it was frustrating.

Despite the problems, I would stay here again if the price was right. The staff were very good, the room was comfortable, and the restaurant is reasonably priced for the quarter (and very convenient when it rains!).

Some notes for potential customers: ask for rooms away from the elevators; further, rooms on the 19th floor and above are accessed by a second elevator (you take one elevator to 18 and then have to switch to another to go up higher) which quickly becomes a pain in the rear on a long stay.

Overall, a good but not great experience.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestview, Florida
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This hotel looks okay but the rooms are tiny. The bathroom was so small that in order to close the door I practically stand in the bathtub. The desk staff is atrocious. They did not reveal all charges that would be charged to my card. It was distressing and after I asked the front desk, I was so stressed out that I was ready to just go home. Overall, the hotel cost was higher than I initially believed it would be. I will not be staying with wyndham again.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig M, General Manager at Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Valued Guest:
Thank you for taking the time to review my hotel. I apologize that we did not meet your expectations but more important I am concerned with the cost associated with your room and it not being the same compared to the rates you booked. Please call me when you get a chance to discuss. My direct number is 504-613-3201 or email me at cmouney@wyndham.com. I look forward to speaking with you so we can work this out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Please reboot your routers periodically. If that's beyond you, hire a 14 year old, lol. Also, the exhaust fan in the bathroom never worked. The nice maintenance man explained it was because the HVAC was out... Seriously?

The one pleasant surprise was the Ole Saint. 50 craft beers on tap plus tasty food! One of the best pork chops we've enjoyed in quite a while. Super service from the bartenders, too.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig M, General Manager at Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Valued Guest:
Thank you for taking time to review my hotel. We appreciate the great scores. We have identified the issues with the internet and are working to increase the bandwidth our hotel requires to provide sufficient service. Thanks again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter

Address: 124 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter 3.5*
Number of rooms: 374
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn New Orleans French Quarter Hotel New Orleans
Holiday Inn French Quarter
New Orleans Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.