We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter to your Saves list
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   124 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70130 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #112 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Panama City, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Location!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This hotel is in a great location for a great price. Its on the edge of the French Quarter but its in reasonable walking distance and there is a Beignet place right up the road. Along with a walgreens

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    377
    347
    209
    156
See reviews for
267
438
46
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

There was no electric wall plug on the right side of the bed. There was a lamp with two outlets available on its base on the night stand but it was not plugged in as there were no wall outlets so the lamp and its outlets didn't work.

My wife needs a C-pap machine for sleeping. We slept on sides opposite to our usual. She plugged her C-pap machine into the outlets on lamp base on the left side of the bed as that lamp was plugged into a wall outlet.

We didn't discover the problem until it was time to go to bed. We elected not to go through the hassle of trying to get an extension cord or some other remedy from the front desk. We just dealt with the problem.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

To say that the experience was terrible is an understatement. I had a prepaid reservation. We waited on line for 1 hour to find that the hotel was overbooked and we did not have a room. There is no excuse. There were at least 6 other guests with the same issue. The purpose of paying in advance is to guarantee a room. Not at the W. They found another room for us (which avoided me jumping over the desk and strangling the manager). They said the room would be refunded. I have yet to see the refund. I will not be going to this hotel again.

Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig M, General Manager at Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Valued Guest:
Thank you for taking time to review my hotel. I do apologized that we were unable to honor your reservation. I have shared your response with our leadership team for immediate follow up and to ensure your refund has been processed. If you wish to discuss further I can be reached directly at 504-613-3201 or email at cmouney@wyndham.com. I am disappointed as the service you received is not indicative of our normal level of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast Ohio
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed 4 nights at this hotel and felt it was a very pleasant stay. We received good service from all the staff we encountered and the room was large for a central city location, with a view of the Mississippi. The bed was SO comfortable. Granted, we were there on a "non-party" weekend for the Quarter; that said, there were a lot of college students staying for the long weekend but we never heard a sound. The only criticism I have of the room is that there is no counter space in the bathroom, and there are NO towel racks. This makes it difficult to comply with their Green Policy of reusing towels by placing them on the racks. In a town like NOLA, a mini-fridge would be nice. Parking is expensive (of course it is, it is the French Quarter); we parked valet on the first and last night and found a better situation on the other days. Great location, but just outside of the hotel on Royal Street seems kind of seedy. Walk a block and you're fine. Fast, free wifi - no problems. The elevators take FOREVER.

Room Tip: We stayed on the south side in a corner and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig M, General Manager at Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Valued Guest:
Thank you for taking time to review my hotel. We appreciate the positive scores and the candid feedback regarding your stay. Please let me know if I can be of any further assistance. We hope to have you back the next time your travels bring you back to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY NY
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I've posted another review on TA, but I wanted to add that this was the first time in many decades of traveling where I was charged $50 for early check-in. Given all the problems in this hotel (anonymous to staff, non-working wifi and elevators, miniscule lobby, loud customers, absent concierge), they should have paid me! Very unhappy.

Room Tip: Ask for a very high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig M, General Manager at Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Valued Guest:
Thank you for taking time to review my hotel. I am disappointed that you we not pleased with the service you received. The early checking fee is an option offered to our guest and is complimentary based on availability of rooms at the time of arrival. In the event that rooms are not available for early check in complimentary, we do have staff to check luggage so guest can get an early start on enjoying what our city has to offer. Please feel free to contact me directly should you wish to discuss further. My direct number is 504-613-3201 or email at cmouney@wyndham.com. Thanks again for your feedback. Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter

Address: 124 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter 3*
Number of rooms: 374
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Wyndham, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn New Orleans French Quarter Hotel New Orleans
Holiday Inn French Quarter
New Orleans Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.