We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but customer service lacking” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter

Save Saved
You added Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   124 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70130 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #114 of 153 Hotels in New Orleans
Dudley, England
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great location but customer service lacking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

If you're checking in for a weekend be prepared to wait and wait and then wait some more. Reception has now moved back to the ground floor and looks lovely but the majority of the reception staff need to attend Customer Service training. They only move at one speed and that's 'slow'.
We were on the 12th floor were most of the rooms have been renovated but a few are still being done, however we heard no noise and had no problems with sleeping. The bed was big and very comfortable.
The hotel was in a great location just off Canal Street and just a 15 minute walk to Jackson Square. Bourbon Street was just around the corner too.
There is a breakfast place just up the road on Royal street called Café Beignant, which you just must try. They have a great courtyard to sit in and enjoy the world famous Beignants.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,097 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    306
    290
    182
    139
See reviews for
225
349
40
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I had stayed at this hotel when it was the Holiday Inn. I must say, they have done major upgrades to the rooms. The room was very nice and very clean. The rooms were in much beter condition. I had some trouble with the elevator card working and stopped on the pool floor and there a worker helped me get it working correctly. also, the man and women who checked me in were very friendly and accomodating and that was really appreciated. The beds were comfy as well. the location is great too! Id def stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, New Jersey
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hotel is in a great location (1 block over from Bourbon St.) but the hotel itself is severely lacking. They are renovating and the new rooms are nice but (some of) the staff and security for the building need to be upgraded ASAP. So, we had not been in New Orleans for 24 hours when our room was robbed WHILE WE SLEPT!!! After speaking with the police and hotel security we find there are only cameras in the lobby and the elevators. You need a key card to get to your room floor which is fine, but is really stupid when anyone can access any floor thru the parking garage and then taking the stairs to avoid being seen on camera. So now that we know all of this information it’s pretty obvious that our robbery was an inside job.
I will say that the front desk staff we interacted with were nice (namely Crystal & bellman Kendrell) but the Director of Rooms (Sandra Stokes) was a totally different story. Our experience with Ms. Stokes was horrible! Upon meeting with her she was rude and very abrupt and lacking in customer service skills. She needs refresher training IMMEDIATELY. She told us there was nothing wrong with the key pad entry (which there was because we had to get new keys at least 3 or 4 times, even AFTER moving to a new room) and for us to call our insurance company. She refused to let us talk to the General Manger telling us that he wasn't in and she'd pass along our concerns. So imagine our shock and dismay when my husband found the GM and he was not only in the building AND had NO IDEA of the robbery situation that had occurred. I'm sorry, but a robbery on the premises is something you want to keep your GM informed about. The GM Mr. Mooney was very helpful and accommodating. He is new to that hotel but hopefully his 1st order of business is to move Ms. Stokes to a position where she has the least amount of guest interaction possible until she learns a decent amount of guest relations/customer service skills. We have written corporate to let them know how this hotel is being operated. It’s a shame because Wyndham was a name that we would go with without any hesitation. There are so many other hotel choices in the area. I’d stay far away from this one.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The hotel is located at French quarter area, close to shopping and restaurantss. All the staff are friendly, great service, especially Sandra, she goes above and beyond to make guest feel welcome. Would stay again on my next visit to New Orleans.

Room Tip: Rooms from 19th and 20th floor are newer and clean. Do not book room close to elevator, you can hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig M, General Manager at Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Valued Guest:
Thanks for the great review of my hotel. Shout out to Sandra for making a memorable stay and exceeding your expectations. Can't wait to see you back soon. Best Regards, Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

To begin with, we booked and paid well in advance with a fridge and microwave request. We had neither and they were only capable of fulfilling the fridge. We put the privacy plaque on the door and they entered the room twice, once walking into the occupied room. Staff was very rude, they would enter and exit elevators ahead of guests or completely fill the elevator leaving the guest out. This hotel is not cheap so these infringes are inexcusable. I intend to write to corporate.

Stayed September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig M, General Manager at Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Valued Guest:
Thank you for taking time to review my hotel. I want to apologize that we were unable to honor your request for a microwave to be delivered to your room. We do our best to meet the request for all of our guest. Fulfilling these request are sometimes not possible with limited inventory of items such as a microwaves and refrigerators. I will get with the marketing team to make sure we clarify the limits of such items. We will do our best but we cannot make these guarantees and should make a better effort to communicate this to our guest and that we do have a limited supply based on availability. With that being said there is no reason for associates to not honor your privacy request as well as, simple courtesies of not using elevators that are designated for guest. I do regret what you encountered and we must do a better job recognizing these small but very important details. Thank you again for your valuable feedback. I have used your review as an example of what not to do and the importance of the simple courtesies we should be adhering to daily. I am available if you would like to discuss further. Please feel free to contact me directly at 504-613-3201 or email at cmouney@wyndham.com. I look forward to hearing from you. Regards, Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter

Address: 124 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 153 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Expedia, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn New Orleans French Quarter Hotel New Orleans
Holiday Inn French Quarter
New Orleans Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.