We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“aug. 17-20 2014” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter

Save Saved
You added Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   124 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70130 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #114 of 153 Hotels in New Orleans
Write a Review

1,097 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    306
    290
    182
    139
See reviews for
225
349
40
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bradenton, Florida
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

While we were making arrangements to go to NOLA for a few days, we looked at a lot of hotels, and this one was chosen because of the simply unbelievable deal that was available. I should have known...

When we arrived, we were greeted by scaffolding and construction crews. This explained the great price. The Wyndham was going through a complete overhaul but, luckily, we got one of the newly renovated rooms (which was absolutely beautiful).

There were inconveniences that brought down the rating of the hotel... the construction, the fire alarms going off due to paint fumes/dust (causing an evacuation), elevators being completely non-functional and the check in being relocated to the 10th floor.

The location is fantastic... the staff is, for the most part, awesome. I'm just sad that our stay was marred by the construction. It would have been nice to know about it before we booked.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is the perfect location to stay at, park your car in the garage and walk a couple of short blocks to get Turnt Up!!! We will stay here again !! Even though they are upgrading the hotel it didn't matter cause I didn't go to be in the lobby!!! Rooms are ok but I paid for the location not comfort. Restroom is upgraded and very nice!! Location , location LOCATION is why I will be back!!! Next time without kids !! Turnt down for what .....

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McDonough, Georgia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here during a recent tour of the city. I had never been to NOLA but my husband had been here several times. We enjoyed the hotel. It was clean and nearby to many restaurants and attractions on Bourbon Street.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Recently I stayed here for business and personal travel. I got a chance to meet with the very nice and accommodating Heather Wortmann. She works with corporate relationships and larger parties. We did lunch at Ole Saint Kitchen & Tap and it was awesome! The food is prepared with a gourmet twist without taking the NOLA taste away! The new renovations are coming along great! The room even compliments NOLA atmosphere and brings a tasteful part of it in your room. The staff that I encountered was some of the most warm & welcoming people! One in particular, Crystal (front desk) was EXCELLENT! I showed her my ID she used my name from that point on, made small talk with the purpose of making sure that all of my room request were met. Management was kind of standoff-ish but other than that things worked out well.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
syracuse, new york
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at this property as part of a Cosmos tour. The hotel is under construction and should not be accepting guests. Between the jack hammering in the lobby, the elevators not working, the rooms being dirty...There was no service to be had as the poor folks at the counter cannot hear you!
It was a disaster....
The location is perfect....the property is horrible.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GabbyBatonRouge, Director of Sales at Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear MMCandy:

I am sorry that you were less than satisfied with your stay through Globus. We are thrilled you noticed the great value of the location and certainly the pricing through our partners, Globus. We do hope you enjoyed our new rooms during your visit. There is no optimal time time to remodel, but we feel our guests deserve it. Out team only did the heavy lifting during they day expecting that the large majority of our guests are out enjoying all that the city of New Orleans had to offer.

Many thanks,
Sarah Gagnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

They are under construction which they do not tell you. no reception area - a desk on the 10th fl.now. The "finished" rooms are not totally finished and they are on the cheap. The TV's are too small for the room -guess they saved a little money. No trash can in the room - only the bath room. No luggage rack so suitcase is on the floor. Seem to be rationing toilet paper. Must go through construction to get in and out of hotel. Housekeeping - not done by 2:30 so I asked for it and again at 2:45. Got back to room at 4:30 and not done yet. Bathroom counter almost non-existent. No towel racks in bathroom. Do not change linens

Should avoid this place.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GabbyBatonRouge, Director of Sales at Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear dmcHouston: True, we are working to build a better hotel for our guests. It has been a long time coming and our multi-million dollar improvement took a bit of time. Our front desk was moved temporarily to the the 10th floor so we could knock out the ground floor lobby. Good news it is in the process of being moved back to the ground floor so our guests can enjoy the new look. It is great that you recognized that we are offering exceptional pricing to account for the remodel period. Once we wrap it up, these supreme discounts will disappear. We hope you will come back soon and give us a try. Guests are loving the new rooms and new look. More to come!

Sarah Gagnon
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter

Address: 124 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 153 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn New Orleans French Quarter Hotel New Orleans
Holiday Inn French Quarter
New Orleans Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.