We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location in French Quarter, yet still quiet” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter to your Saves list
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   124 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70130 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #113 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Location in French Quarter, yet still quiet”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

I've stayed here a couple of times, also when it used to be a Holiday Inn. When it was the Holiday Inn, I stayed during the 2013 Superbowl.

Location is great, it's still in the French Quarter but in a relatively quiet part of the FQ. Only a couple of steps to Bourbon where all the debauchery is but easy stumbling, errr, walking distance from the bars to the hotel.

I consider this an average hotel, nothing fancy, just a basic chain hotel with no bell nor whistles.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    356
    333
    203
    147
See reviews for
251
408
46
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brenham, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

The Wyndham French Quarter is in the middle of the action. However, they are renovating. It seems the Wyndham French Quarter was once a Holiday Inn. I just don't usually think of the two as the same type service. The rooms could be cleaner. The staff could be friendlier but the view of the river from our room was fantastic. We were there for a wedding and didn't spend that much of our time in the room so it was fine. We also didn't rent a car and were able to walk to all the places we wanted to see. It wasn't a bad experience.

Room Tip: It has free wifi but we couldn't get it to work. In all fairness we didn't call for help so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texarkana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We arrived in New Orleans for the first night of our family reunion of which only 1 night was to be spent in New Orleans ( thank God it was just. 1 night). New Orleans is the nastiest, most run down, filthiest place we have ever been to in the US. We arrived at our hotel at the Wyndham Gardens French Quarter and except for having to pay $35 bucks to park in Wyndham's garage, everything was great. I honestly think the 35 bucks was ok because it somewhat sheltered our car from the inevitable break in had we parked it anywhere else. The area was HORRIBLE!!! Thank You Wyndham for providing the only highlight during our 16 hours spent in the belly of the beast that is called New Orleans. We will NEVER go back. Who dat talking bout going to new orleans? Who Dat who dat? Not us!!!!!!!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

This was a great place to stay. Very close to all of the attractions, warm courteous staff and breakfast was fantastic. The room we had on the 20th floor was huge in comparison to another Hotel close by.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Good location and friendly staff but could not get housekeeping to straighten up our rooms. I talked to 3 members of the hotel staff and each promised to notify the appropriate personnel. When we returned from dinner we had to go back to front desk to get fresh towels. Also, one of our rooms had a standard flat sheet on a king size bed. The hotel is under construction so catching an elevator takes some time.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

This hotel had to be the worst hotel I've ever stayed in. The front desk personnel were very rude and inconsiderate. Our key didn't work in our room 4 different times. After coming down the 4th time, I was told "patients is a virtue" and I should wait in the line that's wrapped around the lobby. Our room had peeling wallpaper and black mold around the soap dish. The next day of our stay we came back to an uncleaned room and it was after 4. Housekeeping said they'd be back because we need to freshened up in OUR room (imagine that). We told her dont bother just give us some towels. She gave us EXACTLY 4, which is why we need 1 more washcloth on the day of checkout which took 45 minutes to get. As we checked out we ran into a bunch of disgruntled guest that had been waiting on an elevator for over a half hour. After waiting for quite some time we took the steps 11 flights down with ALL our luggage. When we got to the lobby, we encountered another young lady stating "She'd NEVER stay here again". Which was EXACTLY what I heard from a family checking out after staying one night when we arrived. I should have listened. Oh and please DONT complain to the front desk personnel, as they cant be bothered with a guest trivial gripes. Oh after our 4th encounter with the front desk we were comped a night of stay which has yet to be refunded.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter

Address: 124 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter 3*
Number of rooms: 374
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Wyndham, Priceline, AAA Travel Services, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn New Orleans French Quarter Hotel New Orleans
Holiday Inn French Quarter
New Orleans Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.