We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To be avoided at ALL time” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter

Save Saved
You added Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   124 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70130 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #114 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Ghent, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“To be avoided at ALL time”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Terrible hotel - old, used - not up to minimal standard
Noisy
Terrible service they don't make up the rooms
No mini bar
No hotel safe
Flawy elevators
Travel agency booked us for three night. Left after one night....to Mariott around the corner
Never using this travel agency again.

Room Tip: Book another hotel....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby B, General Manager at Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for you feedback. I am sorry that the hotel did not meet your expectations. I can be reached at bbryant@wyndham.com to discuss your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,056 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    167
    293
    282
    177
    137
See reviews for
220
333
37
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

I'm here for a convention and have been charged $409/night for a room that typically rents for $179, and even that is high for this quality. the place is a dump, not clean, noisy, no closet in room, tiny plastic shower head, no room service menu, and food offerings are terrible, unless the only cereals you eat are fruit loops and apple jacks. coffee came in a styrofoam cup.

Room Tip: find another hotel, it's just off canal street on the dumpy edge of the french quarter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby B, General Manager at Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
I am sorry for the hotel stay not meeting your expectations. We appreciate your feedback and hope that you will consider us after we complete our upcoming renovation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huron, Ohio
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

I thought it was a great location. Royal St is a very nice st which they block off right down from the hotel. I have been going to New Orleans for years and find a lot of the building have black iron bars on them. I have stayed here many times and always had hot water and a clean room. Staff was always helpful. I notice the front desk always seems busy with customers checking in and out. I have had drinks at the bar but have never ate there. All in all I will be back enjoy the location, staff and look forward to my next stay. I haven't been there since it became the Wyndham but I am a member and look forward to using my card there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby B, General Manager at Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for recognizing the Wyndham French Quarter staff. We have team of hospitality professional that are committed to you having a great stay. Expect an even better stay over the next few months as we completely renovate the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manasquan
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

This place was a Holiday Inn. It still looks and smells like a Holiday Inn, in deteriorating condition. I was appalled how much I had to pay for this room. I will never stay here again. I had to take two elevators that smelled like urine up to my room. Never again. Wyndham - shame on your reputation for this place. Should have asked for my money back!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby B, General Manager at Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
I apologize for the hotel not being at Wyndham standards that you are accustomed too. Over the next 10 months ( beginning in December with the restaurant) the hotel will undergo a complete renovation that will bring the property in line with brand standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter

Address: 124 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Wyndham, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, getaroom.com and Venere so you can book your Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn New Orleans French Quarter Hotel New Orleans
Holiday Inn French Quarter
New Orleans Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.