We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter

Save Saved
You added Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   124 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70130 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #114 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Mobile
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Love this hotel's location. It's the best! The elevators are a little weird though if you stay on the 19/20th floors. You have to take a separate elevator to reach them. Chloe, at the front desk, was super friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby B, General Manager at Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for utilizing the Wyndham French Quarter during your recent visit to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

973 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    155
    268
    259
    165
    126
See reviews for
196
311
33
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed at this property for two nights, from July 25-27,2013. Enjoyed our stay and would stay again. We purchased a voucher through travelzoo and the hotel delivered as promised, ie Free drinks, free parking. We arrived a bit early and were checked in immediately into non smoking, king bed room. The room was very clean and the AC was great. Our room was not cleaned when we came back from our excursion the following day so we asked the room attendant to simply leave us towels and a roll of TP. Apparently, that is a big deal. She wanted us to call downstairs and ask for room service to send us these items. I argued that she wasn't having to clean our room, simply give me towels. Reluctantly she gave me 2 towels. I had to call downstairs several times for TP but no one ever came. I went downstairs and asked a manager if he could hand me some. He also said he couldnt as they didn't have any. He had to call housekeeping to get some. About 15 minutes later it did arrive from a very apologetic attendant. I expect to run into small nuances during my trips. All else went smoothly! This hotel is only 1 block from bourbon street so a perfect location.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 13th floor and had a nice view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby B, General Manager at Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
We appreciate your business and feedback regarding your visit to the Wyndham French Quarter. We look forward to hosting you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOLA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I stayed at the Wyndham for a 'Staycation' with my high school friends. We all purchased a deal through TravelZoo. The location was perfect. The room was decent at best....old, needs updates, but beds were comfy with decent linens and the air conditioner cranked out some awesome cold air. Kristen at the front desk was wonderful, as well as Paul, one of the Bellmen. We didn't need much help, as we were not there a lot, but when we did, they were on it and always very pleasant. The elevators there were a nightmare though!!! It was a very busy weekend in the city and it seemed like the hotel had many guests as there was always a line to get on the elevators and they we S L O W!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby B, General Manager at Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Our rupcoming renovation will address and update all areas of the hotel. The elevators will also begin the updating process to make them more efficient.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MD
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel through a travel agency and the reviews looked reasonable. Checkin was quick and pleasant. Pluses: heated pool, walking distance from trolley stop, casino, river, bourbon street. Minuses: noise at night from local clubs; drunk people in lobby, bums loitering in garage entrance bumming money and cigarettes from guests (permitted by staff). The rooms are dated and in need of renovation, but clean overall. The day before checkout, we were out of soap, Kleenex, and needed towels. Housekeeping skipped our room altogether. The bathrooms in our room had some issues. The tub stopper was broken, so no baths possible. The bath water took about 5 minutes to get hot, every time I used it. The tub/shower was way too narrow for my tall husband.

This hotel could use a security guard.

The concierges were helpful.
The restaurant "the checkered parrot", could have some work done to improve it. The drinks were expensive and weak. The bathroom is practically falling apart. There are no soap dispensers, the toilets leak out onto the floor, leaving a pool of water at all times. Paper towel dispenser always empty.

So, Wyndham, if you are planning a renovation, gut each room and start over.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby B, General Manager at Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
There is a complete renovation planned for the property that will address and update the hotel and restuarant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter

Address: 124 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Wyndham, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, getaroom.com and Venere so you can book your Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn New Orleans French Quarter Hotel New Orleans
Holiday Inn French Quarter
New Orleans Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.