We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter

Save Saved
You added Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   124 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70130 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #113 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Write a Review

1,020 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    163
    282
    273
    171
    131
See reviews for
208
323
37
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, MD
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel through a travel agency and the reviews looked reasonable. Checkin was quick and pleasant. Pluses: heated pool, walking distance from trolley stop, casino, river, bourbon street. Minuses: noise at night from local clubs; drunk people in lobby, bums loitering in garage entrance bumming money and cigarettes from guests (permitted by staff). The rooms are dated and in need of renovation, but clean overall. The day before checkout, we were out of soap, Kleenex, and needed towels. Housekeeping skipped our room altogether. The bathrooms in our room had some issues. The tub stopper was broken, so no baths possible. The bath water took about 5 minutes to get hot, every time I used it. The tub/shower was way too narrow for my tall husband.

This hotel could use a security guard.

The concierges were helpful.
The restaurant "the checkered parrot", could have some work done to improve it. The drinks were expensive and weak. The bathroom is practically falling apart. There are no soap dispensers, the toilets leak out onto the floor, leaving a pool of water at all times. Paper towel dispenser always empty.

So, Wyndham, if you are planning a renovation, gut each room and start over.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby B, General Manager at Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
There is a complete renovation planned for the property that will address and update the hotel and restuarant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breaux Bridge, Louisiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I stayed at this hotel when it was the holiday inn a few years back. I had a wonderful experience so when we needed a room for jazzfest this past May and the Royal Sonesta was booked so I didn't think twice about staying here again. My Michael Kors wallet was stolen out of my bag while housekeeping went in while we steeped out to have breakfast. I talked to security about this and they were very nonchalant about this situation. I lost everything in my wallet plus the 300.00 cash. The wallet itself was quite expensive. I called ever other day to see what was going to be done. Three weeks later I got an email saying there was nothing they were going to do about it, not even an apology. Also there was no safe in the room. I live I hour from Nola so we go quite often will never stay there or any Wyndham hotel again. Beware hide your belongings!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby B, General Manager at Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
I apologize for the lost of your personal item. I am concernced that you mentioned that you did not recieve a apology and made repeated calls. I will make every effort to determine who failed to follow our procedures.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Walton Beach, FL
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Got a great package price, so we decided to try it. Good location in the French Quarter. The hotel was clean, but it is serious need of updating. It was old and tired. We don't regret staying here, but keep in mind that it really needs upgrading.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby B, General Manager at Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thanks for your feedback. The hotel will be completely renovated internally and externally updating every detial of the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chillicothe
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We booked this room for two days. Although I gathered it was not a four star hotel, I was highly disappointed. Upon arrival to any room the first thing we do is check the mattress and curtains (always on the lookout for bedbugs). Upon looking in between the drapes we discovered numerous, large cockroaches. We grabbed our stuff and went down to the front desk (keep in mind this is after I called to let them know the air conditioning was not working properly).
I told the manager we found roaches and his response was that he could move us to a higher floor as those had been remodeled in the last few years. I expressed that when roaches are in the building-----they are in the building. He responded that he had not had any complaints about the higher floors in the last week.
Needless to say we got a refund and found a different hotel!!!!!
I am not one to knit pick but I also am one to be very cautious that when we return home we are not bringing any unwanted company with us!

Room Tip: Older and rundown. I can say for certain there are bugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby B, General Manager at Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
I apologize for your recent stay not meeting your expectations. Our team is dedicated to providing a quality experience and failed to deliver for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter

Address: 124 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Wyndham, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn New Orleans French Quarter Hotel New Orleans
Holiday Inn French Quarter
New Orleans Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.