We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best buy in town !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de la Monnaie

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel de la Monnaie
405 Esplanade Ave., New Orleans, LA 70116 (Bywater)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #99 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Best buy in town !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We've stayed in this hotel every year for the last few, and always have a great time there. Every room is a suite, with a kitchenette and whirlpool bath...excellent location, and the rates are relatively low. It's furnished with English/European antiques, which adds to it's charm. It's actually a timeshare property, but our experience is that rooms are always available for short-term guests. We heartily recommend this spot to everyone.

Room Tip: 2nd floor front rooms have direct access to a large balcony where many guests congregate during &quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    54
    9
    6
    4
See reviews for
27
55
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

We stayed here during the French Quarter Fest and it is absolutely the best for this since one of the music stages is right across the street. You can watch the bands (and people) from a large patio/balcony. Some of the hotel is a timeshare and lots of "owners" pretty much hung out there the whole time. Very friendly bunch of folks!

Hotel was very nice and airy. I loved the small pool with the fountain. We booked a double bedroom suite. Had a cute kitchenette, living room and dining table. We were in #307 and we got it through VRBO. Very pleased with the room for the price. Room was quiet and clean. Had a coffee maker with community coffee, glassware, silverware, plates, even pots and pans. Our room had a jacuzzi tub for the bath.

The best part of the being here is the location. You are right at the corner of Frenchmen St. and Decatur. The French Market is right there and you are in the middle of everything.

The only bad thing was parking. Yes, they do have free indoor parking but only like a dozen spaces. We were lucky one night to get in there. Because of the festival, there was absolutely no parking all weekend. I had to park the car about 10 blocks away. I wasn't really worried about it but still would be nice to have something closer. Be careful where you park, the police do not fool around. One day, I saw a line of cars with tickets on them. Another day, they booted and towed the car that was parked ahead of me, but too close to the corner.

Overall, I would stay there again. Very family friendly place. Great for the kids!!

All the staff were very friendly and nice.

Room Tip: It is faster to take the stairs then to ride the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, CA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

We were at the Monnaie from 4/13-4/20 with another couple in a one bedroom and it was very tight. The furnishings and decor were outdated and there were a couple of issues with plumbing fixtures, that's the bad news. The good news is that the location is very convienently located to the French Quarter, and the staff was great!! We arrived on Friday of the Jazz Fest and the place was booked to capacity, we had originally did an exchange through RCI in august of last year before the dates were set for the Festival and were very lucky to find we were the at the same time. After the festival on Tuesday we asked to be upgraded to a two bedroom and the request was granted for just $25/day what a deal!! Anyway the staff was great, the garage was handy when we rented a car for a few days to see the plantations and swamps. There are previous reviews about the 30 gallon hot water and I have to say I was concerned with four adults in the room. I am happy to say that the hot water was not an issue at all, we never had an issue with hot water during our stay and the pressure and temperature in our rooms were great! While the rooms are small and outdated, maid service was good and the hotel was clean. If you are traveling to the French Quarter and for some reason plan on spending a lot of time in the room, then this probably is not the place for you, but if you, like us, used the room to sleep and nap in the mid afternoon before a wild night on Bourbon Street, then it worked out great! I would exchange again into Hotel de la Monnaie!!

Room Tip: Our rooms were 302, a one bedroom and 407 a two bedroom, both were not to great on the view but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, IL
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Came for the Final Four and location made transit via the trolley to Canal and the Superdome shuttles very easy. The kitchenettes were very convenient and made restaurant leftover consumption simple. The laundromat in the garage was definitely a plus and allowed us to reduce our luggage mass.

The front desk personnel were very helpful in arranging sightseeing tours on our tournament off-days.

The only negative was a non functional shower. Even with a limited 30 gallon heater, it only put out cold water ALL the time. It was impossible to turn off, even when taking baths. It was mentioned to the front desk, but was never resolved during our stay. We had planned to stay an additional day after the tournament, but moved to a larger hotel within the quarter. There we took the first normal shower of our NOLA trip.

I would stay here again, but only if the shower works.

Room Tip: Make sure the shower works!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomball, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

I went with a group of really fun women for a birthday weekend and we loved this place! We split 2 rooms, which was plenty for sleeping but the living space in one was really cramped. But the location was just perfect to get to the market, streetcar (which goes right by the casino!), around the corner from Frenchman St. for live music (fun!) and Decatur St. for lots of shopping & great food. The hotel and our rooms were really clean and all the staff were great and super helpful. We did not have any hot water issues that others mentioned. Only bad thing was we never knew about the gorgeous 2nd floor balcony until the day before we left. We would have spent our mornings there for sure. Will go to this hotel again.....soon I hope!

Room Tip: 505 was great, 513 was very cramped
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

We returned to Hotel de la Monnaie (and New Orleans) in January for the first time since Hurricane Katrina, and were a little worried that it had gone downhill since our stay about 7 years ago based, in part, on some reviews posted here. Our last visit included two teenagers who didn't really want to be traveling with their parents, and we were thrilled then to find a place with separate bedrooms and a living area within walking distance to everything. Now the kids are grown and it was just me and my husband for a romantic birthday trip for two. We didn't need a "kid-friendly" place and I wondered if I should have looked elsewhere before booking.

My worries were needless. We loved this place just as much now as we did years ago. Yes, it's a little shabbier and the furniture is dated. But the front desk staff is just as helpful, and the interior courtyards are just as stunning. Having a full suite -- living/kitchen area, separate bedroom, separate bathroom -- is a real luxury for even two guests. Where can you get all that in the French Quarter for $144/night?! We loved being able to heat up leftovers for breakfast/lunch or prepare snacks in the kitchen, and it's nice having a separate bedroom when you're spending more than one night in a place. There's soft and ample lighting, comfortable sofa and chairs, and it's just really cozy. We didn't hear any night noise, either from nearby bars and restaurants or from within the hotel. In fact the hotel seems pretty insulated from the surrounding businesses.

But it's really about location, location, location. Walk out the door, cross the street and you're in the French Market (one of those stalls sells the best bloody mary in the world!). We walked the French Quarter from one side to the other many times. We walked along the river, from the hotel to the big cruise ships docked by the Convention Center. We took the free ferry across the river. We grabbed the streetcar across the street for a trip to the garden district. Although we rented a car, we left it in the garage the whole time we were there. Next time we'll take a cab. There was just no reason to leave the neighborhood because we barely scratched the surface of what we could reach on foot in four full days.

Our biggest surprise was the change to Frenchmen Street, just around the corner. On our last visit, this location on the fringe of the FQ was bordering the seedy side of town. Imagine our surprise when we arrived on this trip and the front desk clerk recommended a restaurant on Frenchman Street! We walked around the corner and heard live music coming out of every door, saw cabs dropping visitors off to trendy restaurants, and walked several blocks of lively, local, thriving nightlife scene. Incredible! No gigantic plastic neon drink glasses, no beads, no hawkers, no gawking tourists. Just great music, good food, and really positive energy. During our visit we spent a lot of time in the typical tourist areas of the FQ, but always appreciated returning to the authenticity of our hotel and the Frenchmen Street neighborhood.

In summary, would I recommend this hotel to everyone? No. If you want a fancy highrise hotel with a big, glittery lobby, stay near the convention center. If you want a cute B & B with Victorian furniture and personal attention, find another place. But if you want a cozy, comfortable suite in charming hotel in a real neighborhood at a great price, this is the best! We had such a great visit, and can't wait to return!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collinsville, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Here are the great things, here are the bad things:
1. GOOD- Location! Close to everything in the French Quarter.
2. GOOD- Clean. Nice place.
3. GOOD- Parking. In the french quarter, parking is a premium, and to stay at a place with it's own parking garage is a huge plus. We never had an issue getting parking.
4. GOOD- Transportation- you can walk the entire French Quarter OR the streetcar stop is right next door if you want to go to other parts of the city.
5. BAD- Size. Since we booked through RCI, the room was probably the smallest they had. But not the end of the world.
6. BAD- Noise. We're not big up-all-night people, so the music at the club next door was not good for sleep. Plus there were rattling air ducts and stuff like that in the room. If the club has hip-hop, be ready for a long night of bass bass bass and your earplugs don't block bass.
7. NEUTRAL- the staff was relatively friendly, and the amenities were okay. There's a pool but you probably won't use it, because it's a also a fountain and seems better for kids. A computer in the lobby with internet, and some books and plenty of maps.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel de la Monnaie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Monnaie

Address: 405 Esplanade Ave., New Orleans, LA 70116
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Bywater , Marigny
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
De La Monnaie Hotel
De La Monnaie New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de la Monnaie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel de la Monnaie to your Saves list