We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“seems to be newer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 New Orleans - Service Road

Save Saved
You added Motel 6 New Orleans - Service Road to your Saves list
Motel 6 New Orleans - Service Road
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Motel 6 New Orleans - Service Road
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   12330 I-10 Service Road, I-10 at Bullard Avenue, Exit #245, New Orleans, LA 70128   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #134 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Westlake, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“seems to be newer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We've stayed in many motel 6's. This is one of the nicer ones. Clean. Friendly. Stayed in single queen bed room. Bathtub/shower good size (not tiny corner like in some motel 6's). Washer/dryer on each floor. 10 minute drive to french quarter. Extended stay motel 6 behind it.

Room Tip: There's a pool, but we never use them, so i can't rate it. Can hear the traffic on the highw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    9
    8
    6
    13
See reviews for
8
13
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Towson, Maryland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We went down for Superbowl, and wanted to stay close without a lot of expense. This was the place. Rode the bus in from Mcdonalds (5 min walk) for $1.50/one way or $3 for the day to include trolley in town. It took about 30-40 min., back to hotel at night we took a taxi for about $30. Hotel staff had the lobby decorated for the game and had King Cake on game day. Wonderful experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Our hotel room was around $50 a night. We drove in to the French quarter each day, which was about a 15 minute drive. The parking at the hotel was inside a gated and well lit area. Area seemed safe. Our room was clean and had hot water and tv. No complaints. Wasn't really noisy being close to the interstate.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden, Ut
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Attending a Super Bowl is an expensive thing to due. We ended up stayed here at the Motel 6 because its prices were lower than all the hotels in New Orleans. There were not a lot of options price wise, I would've stayed closer to the action if the price was better. However, it was only a 15-minute drive to the French Quarter, traffic wasn't bad until you hit the Quarter. The motel is in an area that was flooded by Katrina and is in the middle of re-building. I agree with other travelers, this is a place to rest your head only. They do not provide shampoo, only hand soap. The bare minimums for motel stay, such as 2-towles and 2-wash cloths, 2-pillows, the bare minimum. Wi-Fi was $2.99(+tax!) per device per day using access codes you purchase from the front desk and it's rarely fast enough to stream video but otherwise reliable. TVs were OLD 19" tube sets and many rooms still have the old-school Ma Bell type phones. The rooms are clean enough but be sure you check with the front desk. Service is outstanding even though the property itself is worn/tired. They switch us rooms because of a hole in the floor of the tube/shower. Place could use a good cleaning.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

First of all, I stayed here because all the hotels in New Orleans were sold out for the conference I was attending. If I had the option, I would've stayed closer to the action in a greater than one star property. That being said, it was only a 15-20 minute drive to the convention center, little traffic, and a decent overall experience.

The motel isn't in a rough area although you shouldn't be surprised to see/hear people hanging out and talking in the parking lot and common areas. No obvious hookers or hoods on my visit, however.

One thing's for sure... This is a place to rest your head only. They do not provide shampoo, only hand soap. They have no irons or ironing boards. They provide the bare minimum in towels. Wi-Fi is $2.99(+tax!) per device per day using access codes you purchase from the front desk and it's rarely fast enough to stream video but otherwise reliable. TVs are maybe 19" tube sets and many rooms still have the old-school Ma Bell type phones.

The rooms are clean enough but be sure you check with the front desk. Service is outstanding even though the property itself is worn/tired. They don't like to give freebies but they will take care of room issues ASAP and they even switched my rooms before check-in due to one of my rooms in an adjoining pair needing a good carpet cleaning.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms were recommended on check-in as quieter at night but louder during the day due to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Please be mindful of this information if you are staying at this place with family or even alone. I got a sick feeling in the pit of my stomach as I watched my autistic nephew staring and obviously disturbed by the site, of all of those scantily clothed young women standing in various poses at the foyer entrance to the hotel. He said to me innocently, "I guess this doesn't look like a very good place to stay". He was SO right.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARCATA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

The good part is the price. I booked a non smoking single room and when I arrived at this HUGE property of cubicles I couldn't believe how small the room was. I have stayed at many many Motel 6 hotels across the nation but this was amazing at how tiny and smelly this room was.. barely big enough to fit a queen size be in .. seriously! I could have lived with that except the non smoking room reeked so bad of cigarette smoke apparently drifting up through the plumbing in the bath that the tiny room smelled as if you where inside an ashtray. The long narrow halls leading up to each tiny room where a bit depressing but the staff kept things tidy and organized. The front desk staff worked like dogs to keep the tiny "lobby" filled with people coming and going. When I checked out early it was no problem refunding my extra night which I appreciate. This property is a GIANT warehouse of tiny rooms at a cheap price.. if you need a place to stay for a night as your passing though and can't find anything else you can afford you might consider it as a last resort.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Motel 6 New Orleans - Service Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 New Orleans - Service Road

Address: 12330 I-10 Service Road, I-10 at Bullard Avenue, Exit #245, New Orleans, LA 70128
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 New Orleans - Service Road 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Motel 6 New Orleans - Service Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 New Orleans - Service Road Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 New Orleans - Service Road, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.