We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suburbia” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Crescent Palms Motel

Save Saved
You added The Crescent Palms Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Crescent Palms Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3923 Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd, New Orleans, LA 70125 (Mid-City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #85 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Suburbia”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Quite close to the city center by car, the quartier is shady, do not even walk there. The motel is quite good compared to the price, go there if you dont want to spend much money and you have a car. There is a gate that closes at night and make you feel safe inside. The rooms are basic, quite confortable but not good looking.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    18
    5
    3
    5
See reviews for
6
18
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Navarre, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We went to NO specifically to see a band at the Rock-N-Bowl, wanted to spend an extra day, but still on a budget. This motel is very clean and the staff super friendly and informative. It's out of the way of the French Quarter, but we found it really easy to get around on public transportation. Bus stop very close to motel and then Canal street streetcar to FQ. We did that the first day, walked all around the FQ, had dinner, drank, listened to music, drank, etc. Buses run late and we made it home easily. Safety-wise, we never really saw anyone around the motel, so never felt unsafe. Some may feel different not having any crowds around.

The next night we took a taxi to Rock-N-Bowl because weren't sure if the buses ran as late in that area. It was about a $15-20 round trip ride in a taxi. Well worth it not to drive.

The motel itself is clean, quiet, rooms were large, bathroom large, fridge and microwave in each room, coffee in the "bar" every morning. For the price and our purpose, we thought this was a great hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I reserved a room at this motel 1) because it was close to where I needed to be 2) the price and 3) the history on the website. To be honest, I expected something just a bit more upscale, but the room was very clean, the bed was comfortable, lots of counter space in the bathroom, even had a refrigerator in the room. I know someone was in the room next to mine, but I couldn't hear a thing. There's a large gate that closes in the parking area at 10 PM, which gives a nice sense of security, and the woman who was working in the office was very pleasant. I wouldn't hesitate to stay her on every trip.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed pretty equal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

When driving down MLK blvd you still see what Katrina has left behind but do not let that deter you from staying in this beautiful motel full of history! This motel renovated to bring back a little of its former glory is wonderful. The rooms were comfortable and clean and quite. The second floor deck is a place to sit back and chat with friends and relax. The manager also is the most accommodating man I have every met he made us feel like we were old friends that stopped for a visit. There is no need for spending 200.00 + a night for someone who is only being nice to you because they have to I prefer real people who are nice to you because they are genuinely nice. The only down side is there is no coffee makers in the room. But even with that we are returning to stay our last two nights in LA. and looking forward to it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Where to start. We thought this would be a great place to stay because of all the good reviews we read online. The only poor reviews we read had to do with the distance from the French Quarter and other fun NOLA attractions, which we weren't worried about because we had a car. Anyway, the night we arrived, they did not have our reservation, but they still gave us a room because we brought our itinerary. We got to our room and it was very gross. The carpets appeared (and smelled) as if they hadn't been cleaned for years, and they're was a disturbing stain on the chair. They're were also little bugs on the walls and the sheets. We did not sleep well mostly because the mattresses and AC unit were in very poor condition. The worst part was our second night when my husband woke up to a big cockroach biting his neck! He quickly flicked it off and killed it, and didn't tell me till the next morning because he knew I would not be able to sleep through the rest of the night had I known. We cut our trip short by a day because we did not want to spend another night at Crescent Palms Motel. We knew we weren't paying for a luxury stay, but we thought it'd would have been a lot more comfortable based on the reviews we read. I know other guests have had a great, comfortable stay so maybe we just got a bad room (109). We were thoroughly disappointed and will never stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed here for 7 nights for Jazzfest last week. The price was very cheap compared to Downtown and French Quarter hotels . I know it is not in the best area but it was safe to use the bus during the day but to be sure I used cabs in the evenings.Even with the cost of cabs included it still worked out very cheap.

The rooms were clean and the staff friendly.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fun4oli
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is a no-frills motel room, very basic room, but clean and the room was large, and I think it is an OK alternative if you have a car. The neighborhood is dead in the evening and looks partially run-down, but on MLK Boulevard I saw lots of what looked like new housing, so maybe it will eventually have at least a more residential feel to it. And inside the motel with its big gate you feel safe anyhow.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Crescent Palms Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crescent Palms Motel

Address: 3923 Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd, New Orleans, LA 70125
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Mid-City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Crescent Palms Motel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crescent Palms Motel is located in the heart of New Orleans, minutes from the French Quarter, the Superdome and other famous attractions. Our newly renovated, 1960's vintage motel offers 24 spacious guest rooms, large private bathrooms, ample closet space, a cocktail lounge and complimentary off-street parking. Each room features brand new furnishings- two double beds, a refrigerator, complimentary high-speed wireless internet, 26" LCD TV/DVD with cable and more. Please join us for a visit soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo and Venere so you can book your The Crescent Palms Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crescent Palms Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crescent Palms Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.