We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a rose amongst thorns” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Crescent Palms Motel

Save Saved
You added The Crescent Palms Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Crescent Palms Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3923 Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd, New Orleans, LA 70125 (Mid-City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #92 of 152 hotels in New Orleans
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“a rose amongst thorns”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

When driving down MLK blvd you still see what Katrina has left behind but do not let that deter you from staying in this beautiful motel full of history! This motel renovated to bring back a little of its former glory is wonderful. The rooms were comfortable and clean and quite. The second floor deck is a place to sit back and chat with friends and relax. The manager also is the most accommodating man I have every met he made us feel like we were old friends that stopped for a visit. There is no need for spending 200.00 + a night for someone who is only being nice to you because they have to I prefer real people who are nice to you because they are genuinely nice. The only down side is there is no coffee makers in the room. But even with that we are returning to stay our last two nights in LA. and looking forward to it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    15
    5
    3
    5
See reviews for
6
16
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Where to start. We thought this would be a great place to stay because of all the good reviews we read online. The only poor reviews we read had to do with the distance from the French Quarter and other fun NOLA attractions, which we weren't worried about because we had a car. Anyway, the night we arrived, they did not have our reservation, but they still gave us a room because we brought our itinerary. We got to our room and it was very gross. The carpets appeared (and smelled) as if they hadn't been cleaned for years, and they're was a disturbing stain on the chair. They're were also little bugs on the walls and the sheets. We did not sleep well mostly because the mattresses and AC unit were in very poor condition. The worst part was our second night when my husband woke up to a big cockroach biting his neck! He quickly flicked it off and killed it, and didn't tell me till the next morning because he knew I would not be able to sleep through the rest of the night had I known. We cut our trip short by a day because we did not want to spend another night at Crescent Palms Motel. We knew we weren't paying for a luxury stay, but we thought it'd would have been a lot more comfortable based on the reviews we read. I know other guests have had a great, comfortable stay so maybe we just got a bad room (109). We were thoroughly disappointed and will never stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed here for 7 nights for Jazzfest last week. The price was very cheap compared to Downtown and French Quarter hotels . I know it is not in the best area but it was safe to use the bus during the day but to be sure I used cabs in the evenings.Even with the cost of cabs included it still worked out very cheap.

The rooms were clean and the staff friendly.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fun4oli
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is a no-frills motel room, very basic room, but clean and the room was large, and I think it is an OK alternative if you have a car. The neighborhood is dead in the evening and looks partially run-down, but on MLK Boulevard I saw lots of what looked like new housing, so maybe it will eventually have at least a more residential feel to it. And inside the motel with its big gate you feel safe anyhow.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed a quick night stay before an early morning Amtrak departure. Got priced out of the CBD and this place cost well under half of anything closer in on a Friday durinf April. Reception was quick & super helpful. Comfy beds, a fridge & new TV rounded off a neutral room. Great feature is the restored bathrooms which include a bath. There is a direct bus down MLK BLVD that connects to the streetcar -- we took cabs to & from although if staying a few days a cycle or rental car would make it easier.

There is a secure gate that closes at night making it feel quite safe. This place is run with a sense of pride and although there are limited walkable options I would return when seeking a good value option in NOLA.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This hotel is fairly close to the French Quarter and Garden district, but is right across the street from a pretty shady housing development. Fortunately, the hotel has a gate that they close and lock at night which certainly provided some peace of mind. The hotel was clean, but had an overwhelming scent of cleaning products; we had to let the room air out for a while before we could stand to be in it. The beds were fairly typical of budget hotel room beds, and provided a fair sleep quality. I would consider staying here again if I returned to New Orleans.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

While the neighborhood doesn't have the charm of others it is neither dodgy or unsafe. I never once felt like my safety was in danger. At best, it's just a bit barren because of the aftermath of Katrina. We walked from here to the CBD during the day with not a single problem. The rooms are basic and clean and Kendall is everything everyone says to be. We sat waiting for our cab chatting with him over a beer in the lounge and the next morning we enjoyed coffee on the rooftop deck chatting with him again. No cabbie had an issue taking us to or from the neighborhood and other guests in the hotel were super friendly. If you want a certain level of luxury look elsewhere, but if you want an inexpensive place to rest your head with a informal friendly environment than this is your place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Crescent Palms Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crescent Palms Motel

Also Known As:
The Crescent Palms Hotel New Orleans
Address: 3923 Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd, New Orleans, LA 70125
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Mid-City
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Crescent Palms Motel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crescent Palms Motel is located in the heart of New Orleans, minutes from the French Quarter, the Superdome and other famous attractions. Our newly renovated, 1960's vintage motel offers 24 spacious guest rooms, large private bathrooms, ample closet space, a cocktail lounge and complimentary off-street parking. Each room features brand new furnishings- two double beds, a refrigerator, complimentary high-speed wireless internet, 26" LCD TV/DVD with cable and more. Please join us for a visit soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your The Crescent Palms Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crescent Palms Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.