We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crescent Palms is a Gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Crescent Palms Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Crescent Palms Motel to your Saves list
The Crescent Palms Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3923 Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd, New Orleans, LA 70125 (Mid-City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #91 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Crescent Palms is a Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

While the neighborhood doesn't have the charm of others it is neither dodgy or unsafe. I never once felt like my safety was in danger. At best, it's just a bit barren because of the aftermath of Katrina. We walked from here to the CBD during the day with not a single problem. The rooms are basic and clean and Kendall is everything everyone says to be. We sat waiting for our cab chatting with him over a beer in the lounge and the next morning we enjoyed coffee on the rooftop deck chatting with him again. No cabbie had an issue taking us to or from the neighborhood and other guests in the hotel were super friendly. If you want a certain level of luxury look elsewhere, but if you want an inexpensive place to rest your head with a informal friendly environment than this is your place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    20
    5
    3
    6
See reviews for
8
21
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Mississippi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Clean and basic. The property was recommended to us by another hotel that was booked. When we first arrived, we were concerned but the manager Kendall, quickly put our minds at ease. We were pleasantly surprised at the cleanliness of the room. It was also quiet and they had a great balcony to sit at overlooking the street. The manager, Kendall, was very amenable and a lot of fun. In addition, the location was only about a 10 min drive from the French Quarter. We will definitely visit this property again, as long as Kendall is there!!

Room Tip: Try to gain a room on the top floor on the end for a quiet night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

It's a clean, no-frills, basic motel. But it is a bit far from the CBD and touristy parts like Uptown and the French Quarter. Because of that, I'd really recommend you only stay here if you have your own car or don't mind walking a lot. We didn't have a car, and we had to either walk or take the local bus (very nice public transport in NOLA, although the bus didn't run all the way to the touristy parts). The surrounding neighborhood looks a bit sketchy and run-down, but it's actually pretty safe. (I walked around a lot by myself, even late at night, solo Caucasian female, and had no problems.) In other words, this isn't the nicest neighborhood in New Orleans by any stretch of the imagination, but it's also not the worst neighborhood by any stretch of the imagination. There's not a lot to do in the immediate area -- it's residential with some light industrial, so not many restaurants or supermarkets nearby. And not a lot of amenities at the motel itself -- a small reception room and a small "bar" room, and a small upstairs balcony-type sitting area, and that was it. You do have a mini-fridge and microwave in the room, which is nice. The room was super-clean and the staff was very very very nice. A/C unit worked well. We stayed here during Mardi Gras and it was nice to be well away from the noise and crowds and revelry. If you're driving and you're not fussy about location, this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Great basic motel room . It's clean . It's economical . Great Service . Basic furnishings leaves plenty of room to move . Let's call it Retro . Great "mom and pop" motel. If it was good enough for The Platters and Martha and The Vandellas ..... Office staff SO helpful .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

As it was SB weekend, we had very little choice on where to stay. I would agree with what the others have said. Not the greatest neighborhood, but motel served well. Short, simple drive (less than 10 minutes) into the heart of N.O. Room was clean, albiet sparsely furnished. We did have a fridge which was great since there was no place nearby (other than the vending machine) to grab a beverage.

Staff was very friendly - shower great but tub very slow to drain. Towels suprisingly plush! Bed comfortable enough.

There's a sitting area over the parking lot entrance (very small lot but plenty of parking right on the side of the building) which was a nice surprise. We ended our nights there enjoying a beverage in the open air and winding down.

Room Tip: Upstairs is better choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowlett
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Great motel. Great service. Would highly recommend. Wasnt in the greatest part of town but never felt unsafe. Manager was wonderful and helpful. Hotel was clean and comfortable. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

I am staying at this hotel now and I can most defiently say its nice..I mean when you arrive the outside looks a mess n you mite have a frown on your face but its not in the best neighborhood but its a great motel..better than some of the "HOTELS" I've stayed in when visiting here..you do see ppl standing on corners but who cares ppl stand on the corner everyday its hard out here in life...overall its great!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Crescent Palms Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crescent Palms Motel

Address: 3923 Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd, New Orleans, LA 70125
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Mid-City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Crescent Palms Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crescent Palms Motel is located in the heart of New Orleans, minutes from the French Quarter, the Superdome and other famous attractions. Our newly renovated, 1960's vintage motel offers 24 spacious guest rooms, large private bathrooms, ample closet space, a cocktail lounge and complimentary off-street parking. Each room features brand new furnishings- two double beds, a refrigerator, complimentary high-speed wireless internet, 26" LCD TV/DVD with cable and more. Please join us for a visit soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your The Crescent Palms Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crescent Palms Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crescent Palms Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.