We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always our first stop!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Poppy's The Crazy Lobster Bar & Grill

Poppy's The Crazy Lobster Bar & Grill
500 Port of New Orleans Place Suite 83, New Orleans, LA 70130-1662
504-569-3380
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #70 of 1,630 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $0 - $50
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Seafood, Oyster Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Always our first stop!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2014 NEW

We always stop here first! The Cajun Bloody Mary and Voodoo Juice are MUSTS!! Have some delicious chargrilled oysters while you wait for the Cajun Steamed Seafood Bucket! We'll keep coming back again and again!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna T, Owner at Poppy's The Crazy Lobster Bar & Grill, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Marcie, thank you so much for always stopping by Crazy Lobster! We can't thank you enough for being such a loyal customer, and we look forward to serving you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    778
    335
    131
    55
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madison Heights, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Server was disappointed we had a groupon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014 NEW

We still tipped her VERY graciously but she seemed irritated that we had a groupon and didn't return to the table to even thank us for the 30% tip on the original total we were "due" to pay.
Anyway, food was ok. Voodoo juice was good, and live music was lovely especially with the Mississippi flowing in the background. So hence the 4/5. You can't beat location!

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Springs, Florida
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Great Location on the Riverwalk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2014 NEW

super location and the food was outstanding. the catfish(see pic) and shrimp platters were quite a bit to eat including the cajun fries and hush puppys. Many drink selectioins and the lobster dishes coming from the kitchen were huge!!!!!!!!!!

  • Visited December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna T, Owner at Poppy's The Crazy Lobster Bar & Grill, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Gene, thanks for taking the time to write such a kind and thoughtful review for us! We're so glad you enjoyed the catfish and shrimp, and look forward to serving you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good stuff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2014 NEW via mobile

Had a Groupon, so we went Crazy! Had the seafood tower, plenty of large shrimp, raw oysters, mussels and a crab cluster. Had to try the char-grilled oysters; delicious! Wife had some gumbo; yum-bo! Liz was quite the attentive server; would return when we go back there.

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Fl
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not impressed!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

Ended up at this place through a Groupon my wife purchased. The location has potential since it's along the Riverwalk by the Mississippi River and across Harrah's casino. But that's where the highlight finishes. We were very disappointed at the quantity and quality of the seafood boil. It was submediocre at best. I'm from South Florida and eat seafood often. The seafood boil was nothing to write home about. Maybe it was our selection but I'd say go elsewhere. And don't fall for their signature drink "voodoo juice". There's more alcohol in a kid's bag of Capri Sun. I'm not kidding it was nothing but juice. The only bright spot was our server. She really tries but the food was just not worth it. Don't know how this place stays open, amongst the variety of awesome places to eat in NOLA. Sorry but it's the truth.

  • Visited December 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna T, Owner at Poppy's The Crazy Lobster Bar & Grill, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Although we're disappointed to hear about your recent visit, we thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We strive to serve great tasting seafood and drinks in addition to providing top notch service, but it sounds like we missed the mark here. We'll be sure to pass your feedback onto our kitchen staff, and thank you for your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poppy's The Crazy Lobster Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Poppy's The Crazy Lobster Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poppy's The Crazy Lobster Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.