We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you Cindee our vacation was the best because of YOU!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Comfort Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Southern Comfort Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Southern Comfort Bed and Breakfast
1739 Marengo Street, New Orleans, LA 70115   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 141 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Jefferson, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Thank you Cindee our vacation was the best because of YOU!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed 4 nights with Cindee at the Southern Comfort bed and breakfast. From the moment you walk in the door you feel at home. Breakfasts were wonderful and creative.
Cindee was such a huge help, she gave us excellent recommendations for all the tours we wanted to take. We got off track sometimes but found that we should have listened more carefully to her advise. :) SHE was so right on target!
We decided even before we left for home that we really have to go back very soon.
I can't forget to mention that the Inn is very close to the trolley tracks and there were some excellent restaurants within easy walking distance (even in the rain).
Thank you so much, Tammy

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Aiken, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

There could not be a better place to stay in New Orleans than Southern Comfort B&B! The rooms are beautiful and comfortable, the location is very convenient, and Cindee goes out of her way to make every guest feel welcome and at home. She knows everything about the city and was happy to advise us about what to see and where to eat and where to go for the best music. The breakfasts are fantastic!! We would definitely love to return - perhaps for Mardi Gras, though this B&B is booked well in advance!

Room Tip: The three rooms are equally lovely - one bath has a clawfoot tub which is charming but not terribly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario's Near North, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I have to start by sharing with you that while I'm an enthusiastic traveler, I had never been to a B&B before. Or New Orleans. I was excited but definitely nervous to go for my 30th birthday. Never did I expect to fall in love with the city as I did exploring it from Southern Comfort. I called to reserve my room and right from the get-go, Cindee put me at ease and gave me lots to think about before arriving- I couldn't wait to meet this lovely person on the other end of the phone!
My husband and I only had 5 days (not nearly enough time IMHO...) to explore. Thanks to Cindee's suggestions, we managed to fit in some very memorable times. She sat down with us and helped us make the most of everything. And we would chat and revisit 'the plan' at breakfast or if we crossed paths other times. I was hoping that by staying at a B&B we could get a jump on diving right into the culture of the city and Cindee certainly exceeded our expectations of such a thing. And she's not kidding when she tells you that you will leave a pound or two heavier! Her breakfasts are amazing! I'm hoping that the recipe for the "egg on the crusty bread with the yummy sauce" appears on the website one day ;)
The location is great. Very welcoming. I always felt nice and safe, yet not far away from the 'action'. The house is beautiful and if you are fortunate to arrive during it's blossoming time, there is a sweet olive tree in the front yard that is absolutely intoxicating.
We stayed in the plantation room. It was very big, the bed was comfy and I really liked the antiques. It's hard for me to write a review based on functional things- they were all just fine (cute little spot in the garden to have a glass of wine...) but what stands out in my mind was my host and the charm of the city.
Cindee had told me in our first phone conversation was that staying at a B&B is like staying with a cousin or aunt and that once I had I would do it again...and she was so right. It was such a wonderful experience. I left feeling like I had another friend in my life- one who could cook really well and was so nice to chat with. So I guess now I will just have to find another reason to go back. Maybe for 31...

Room Tip: The plantation room would be nice if traveling with kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 5tepher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I rented the whole B&B for the weekend leading up to my wedding for my two best friends and their wives and myself. My wife joined us on our wedding night. The whole weekend was amazing with Cindee being the best host possible. Breakfast each morning was fantastic and Cindee recommended great places for lunch. The location is also great with only a short walk to the St. Charles street car line. I will definitely be staying at the Southern Comfort Bed and Breakfast when I next visit NOLA. Also, as a side note, I had guests for the wedding staying at 6 B&Bs in the area and visited each one. Some were nice, others a little disappointing but hands down, the Southern Comfort B&B was the best.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Casey_SB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We have just returned from our visit to New Orleans and had a wonderful stay with Cindee. She was a fantastic help in planning where we wanted to visit and how to achieve it. She even made phonecalls to check the places we wanted to visit were open.

Our room was lovely and the house is even better than the photos

Fabulous breakfasts

Would highly recommend this wonderful b&b

just a lovely experience

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maurren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Southern Comfort Bed & Breakfast is situated in a lovely location which provides ample opportunity for fine dining, guided walks, great strolls and cycling. Thanks to Cindee's complete concierge service, it's easy to take it all in. She wants her guests to experience The Big Easy! There were countless recommendations for delicious restaurants; all reservations were made for us; bikes were available (and utlized); change for the trolley was always available; transportation to and from the airport was arranged; endless tips of where to catch the entertainment were shared; and when the weather changed unexpectedly Cindee shared her own clothes with a guest! When we weren't out having a great time, we lounged in her relaxing home. A great city and a warm, personal B&B!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Dah04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

If you want to be in the Garden District, and out of the hullabaloo of the French Quarter, stay here! The best restaurants are nearby, anyway . . . Excellent, quiet location, easily accessible to the St. Charles streetcar; beautiful, comfortable, private, clean rooms (loved the bathtub); fantastic breakfasts, lovely hostess. We could've/should've used the available bicycles, but needed an extra day! I am an avid traveler and quite picky, and Cindee's b&b pulls it off without a hitch. Thank you!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank betty b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
Maison Perrier
Maison Perrier
#14 of 141 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 stars 325 reviews
Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast
#13 of 141 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 stars 812 reviews
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#7 of 141 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 stars 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Garden District
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
#30 of 141 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 597 reviews
Hubbard Mansion
#29 of 141 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Comfort Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Comfort Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1739 Marengo Street, New Orleans, LA 70115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Southern Comfort Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Comfort b&b
Southern Comfort Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing