We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Name Says It All” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Comfort Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Southern Comfort Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Southern Comfort Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
1739 Marengo Street, New Orleans, LA 70115   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 144 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
St. Catharines, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Name Says It All”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We were greeted with a warm southern welcome that made us know that we had made the right choice. We had beautifully appointed rooms, delicious breakfasts, close proximity to the trolley (so we didn't have to drive except out to the plantations) and a hostess/innkeeper who's interest in and knowledge of the city allowed us to make the most of our short visit. Cindee was amazing as she helped us map our days to fit in as much of what we wanted to do - from walking tours, to dining, to music. We surely couldn't have done it without her. If we were returning to New Orleans there would be no question where we would want to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    22
    1
    8
    6
See reviews for
62
256
27
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Beautiful home in a very charming and historic New Orleans neighborhood. Cindee's was very welcoming and a great source for information on where to go and what to see while in town. The B&B's location is very convenient being very easy walk to the streetcar line. Seams like a very good value for the price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROSE BAY N
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

All the 5 rated reviews are true. My brother and I are from Australia and are on a 'road' trip. We struck gold at SCBnB. Cindee is a fabulous host, cook, travel advisor, booking agent and even bicycle mechanic. We enjoyed the beautiful parts of NOLA that few newcomers to this lovely place would ever see. With Cindee's knowledge and assistance everything I wanted here became a wonderful reality. Totally fabulous and her breakfast is to die for. Very classy establishment.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

The Southern Comfort B &B is a lovely home, and Cindee is a gracious, accommodating host. My husband and I have stayed there twice over the past six months when we have been in New Orleans on family business. We have enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere, the convenient location, and good New Orleans style breakfasts. We plan to stay there again next time we visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights while visiting family. The house is very large and quiet, with 3 guest rooms. The rooms are spacious, elegant, and furnished with beautiful antiques. Cindee serves a hot homemade breakfast each morning. The house is in a safe, beautiful area only a very short walk to the St. Charles streetcar, which will take you to the French Quarter or the Audubon Park/Tulane area for only $1.25. Will definitely stay here again when I come to New Orleans.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeRidder, Louisiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at the Southern Comfort B&B. It is located just two blocks off of St. Charles in a quiet neighborhood within the Garden District. The parking is free and right in front of the home (that never happens in the French Quarter). Our room, the Horizon, was warm and inviting, and the bathroom was very large. The house has a lovely front porch, which we enjoyed one morning. The best part of the stay, though, was getting to know the hostess, Cindee. She made us feel completely comfortable and welcome. She is very knowledgeable about the area and gave us plenty of great ideas for things to do and places to eat. Cindee also makes a terrific breakfast! I hope that we visit New Orleans again soon so that we can go back to the Southern Comfort.

Room Tip: The Horizon room is at the back of the house and is very light with its large windows and blue/white...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We loved our stay in The Plantation Room. This B&B is spacious and comfortable, and it is located in an awesome neighborhood close to some great restaurants and the trolley. Cindee is a spectacular innkeeper. Being a lifelong resident of New Orleans, she has bookoos of information about how to get the most out of your time in this beautiful and mysterious city. Her breakfast was to die for! Homemade blueberry bread pudding! Altogether a splendid stay. We highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Southern Comfort Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Comfort Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1739 Marengo Street, New Orleans, LA 70115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Southern Comfort Hotel New Orleans
Southern Comfort b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Comfort Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.