We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dauphine House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dauphine House Bed and Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Dauphine House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
1830 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70116 (Bywater)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 146 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delightful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

First time visitors to NOLA. Our three day stay in late March was truly a delight. Room was cozy, quaint, and thoughtfully appointed. Sightseeing, entertainment, and great dining all within easy walking distance. And finally Karen. Such a great hostess, resource, and a fountain of knowledge on local culture and history. Having experienced B&B's across the country we highly recommend Dauphine House.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    66
    15
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
45
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Dauphine House in late February for a few days of sightseeing and exploring. Karen was so gracious and kind to us before we even arrived--she made sure that we knew our options about getting from the airport to the hotel without getting ripped off or getting stuck with public transit woes.

When we arrived, she spent at least a half an hour with us, happy to explain things I'm sure she'd explained a million times--where to eat, where to play, how to take the streetcars, etc. She has such a positive attitude, and you can tell she absolutely loves her city. She'd made up a map with her favorite haunts, and they were spot on. We ate at half of the places she recommended, and none disappointed (try the shrimp and goat cheese crepes at Muriel's in Jackson Square!).

I also appreciated that she was very honest about the surroundings. Although the B&B is located in the charmingly subdued Marigny, she did not sugar coat the safety situation--she advised us to take a cab or pedicab home from the Quarter past 10 o'clock at night, just to be on the safe side.

Karen aside, the room was also wonderful. It was a little dark for my own tastes, with dark furnishings and purple wallpaper plus minimal natural light, but it was clean, homey, and felt fresh every day after Karen came to clean things up. I was amazed that there was not a speck of dust anywhere--how is that possible?! The room came with a mini fridge stocked with OJ, a microwave, coffee maker (plus chicory coffee!), and cups, utensils, and plates. Every morning when she cleans the room, Karen leaves a basket of fresh pastries and bananas.

My only complaint is that the sound travelled into our room from several other rooms early in the morning. At 7:30 one morning, we were kept awake by the sound of someone in the private part of the house that shared a door with our room, and also the booming voice of the guest across the hallway. Other than that, we heard not a peep!

It's great value for what you're getting, and you couldn't be in better hands.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We spent Mardi Gras week at Karen's charming bed & breakfast. As first-timers to New Orleans, she helped us out with recommendations on attractions, tours and restaurants with our own highlighted map of the area. We were within walking distance of the French Quarter, the Mardi Gras parades and the street car lines. This is a wonderful place to stay, quaint and off the beaten path, but so close to the action. Karen is truly a wonderful ambassador for the city and so welcoming in her home. We will be planning another trip to New Orleans and will definitely pay Karen another visit!

Room Tip: The green room at the front of the house has very very light foot traffic, but not enough to keep yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I was visiting NOLA for the first time, came a day early for a conference, and didn't know where I was going to stay that night- my sister booked a surprise stay for me at the Dauphine House, sight unseen, and I am so glad she did! The location was excellent, room beautiful and very comfortable, and the backyard is cute. I'd definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for great service, great location (I LOVED walking all the way from the B&B to downtown and back- the neighborhoods are gorgeous and so interesting), comfortable bed, sound sleep, and accommodating host.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Karen and her Dauphine House B&B are just perfect! Karen is very attentive without being intrusive to your vacation. She was always a call or text away if we needed her. The House is so close to walk to everything, yet far enough to have a quiet nights sleep. We stayed 4 days had great service from the moment we arrived to the moment our super cabbie picked us up to go to the airport. I am amazed at what a great price our rooms were - especially for the city, location and amenities in the room. The breakfast baskets were very full of freshly made pastries and fruits, half gallon of OJ in the fridge - and great coffee! All of Karen's recommendations were right on...especially the Cooking School of New Orleans...great for both guys and gals. Thank you Karen for a great stay - we will be back!

Room Tip: The back room does have a bigger bath area which will give you privacy for changing and storing suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapin, SC
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I recently spent 3 nights at the Dauphine House with my 3 best friends. Everything about it was wonderful. Karen is the quintessential Southern hostess. She is warm, welcoming, and prepared. She gave helpful suggestions and always chatted with us when she saw us, but left us alone to explore New Orleans at our leisure. The house is located close enough to the action, but far enough away to have peace and quiet when you want it. It is charming, clean and comfy. The breakfast basket was overflowing with yummy treats which she replenished every day. We had the 2 rooms off the main street. They share a "foyer" entrance so we just kept our bedroom doors open most of the time and we felt like we were at home. The quietest room is the smallest but has the biggest bathroom. The other room is large, but with a small bathroom and some street noise. We did not have a car and it was just fine. We took a cab back to Dauphine one night as Karen suggested not walking home late at night (which is true for any city.) I loved this place and it would be my first choice if I return to New Orleans.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We had an excellent stay. Karen was a helpful hostess and told us everything we needed to know about getting around in New Orleans. The house was near enough for us to walk to the places we needed to go. The breakfast treats were delicious, and we found ourselves very comfortable in our room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dauphine House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dauphine House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1830 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Bywater , Marigny
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Dauphine House Hotel New Orleans
Dauphine House b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dauphine House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.