We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Girls' Weekend!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dauphine House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dauphine House Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Dauphine House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
1830 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70116 (Bywater)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 144 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Girls' Weekend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Karen and her Dauphine House B&B are just perfect! Karen is very attentive without being intrusive to your vacation. She was always a call or text away if we needed her. The House is so close to walk to everything, yet far enough to have a quiet nights sleep. We stayed 4 days had great service from the moment we arrived to the moment our super cabbie picked us up to go to the airport. I am amazed at what a great price our rooms were - especially for the city, location and amenities in the room. The breakfast baskets were very full of freshly made pastries and fruits, half gallon of OJ in the fridge - and great coffee! All of Karen's recommendations were right on...especially the Cooking School of New Orleans...great for both guys and gals. Thank you Karen for a great stay - we will be back!

Room Tip: The back room does have a bigger bath area which will give you privacy for changing and storing suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    15
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
53
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chapin, SC
Level Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I recently spent 3 nights at the Dauphine House with my 3 best friends. Everything about it was wonderful. Karen is the quintessential Southern hostess. She is warm, welcoming, and prepared. She gave helpful suggestions and always chatted with us when she saw us, but left us alone to explore New Orleans at our leisure. The house is located close enough to the action, but far enough away to have peace and quiet when you want it. It is charming, clean and comfy. The breakfast basket was overflowing with yummy treats which she replenished every day. We had the 2 rooms off the main street. They share a "foyer" entrance so we just kept our bedroom doors open most of the time and we felt like we were at home. The quietest room is the smallest but has the biggest bathroom. The other room is large, but with a small bathroom and some street noise. We did not have a car and it was just fine. We took a cab back to Dauphine one night as Karen suggested not walking home late at night (which is true for any city.) I loved this place and it would be my first choice if I return to New Orleans.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We had an excellent stay. Karen was a helpful hostess and told us everything we needed to know about getting around in New Orleans. The house was near enough for us to walk to the places we needed to go. The breakfast treats were delicious, and we found ourselves very comfortable in our room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, IN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

First, Karen is the most excellent hostess! She has many great suggestions and tips for making the most out of your New Orleans visit. The room was comfortable, the breakfast basket was bountiful, and the chicory coffee was delicious! We were able to walk everywhere--early morning Mass at St Louis Cathedral, restaurants, shopping, bars, Canal Street ferry to Algiers. We really enjoyed our trip to the New Orleans Rum Distillery! We have already recommended Dauphine House to other family members!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

The Dauphine House is perfectly situated to be close to the action in both the Quarter and the Fauborg Marigny (3 blocks from Frenchman St), yet still be far enough away to be quiet and peaceful. Karen is an extremely attentive and helpful hostess, but does not hover over her guests. She is willing to go above and beyond expectations and truly made for a wonderful visit. I only wish that she had more rooms so it was not so hard to find open dates. :-)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The Dauphine House was a great find. Karen was very helpful about sending us in the right direction and telling us what areas we should avoid. Recommendations were much appreciated, as it was our first time to NOLA. Location is within walking distance of most EVERYWHERE, which works out well. Nice and quiet when you return to your room after along day touring the town. No hotel/motel hall traffic is a plus. Basket of goodies were a tasty treat, too. We will definitely be repeat customers !!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

It was a super cute tiny place with two bedrooms and walking distance to everything we wanted to see. Warning if you ever stay there the room with the shower has a REALLY tiny shower, totally functional but very tiny. I ended up with some amazing blisters from walking everywhere and could have used a soak for my feet. The hostess Karen was really nice, supplied us with enough pastries, coffee and juice to survive a hurricane and was also a tour guide and was able to direct to some great spots to stay. She was really nice and it was a great price too. I would highly recommend staying here you are looking for a quaint space to stay and don't need the hotel feel. It is very much like a home away from home. She even provided bug spray, which I highly recommend you use. :)

Room Tip: Request the room with the bathtub if you want more room than a tiny shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#9 of 155 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,817 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#2 of 155 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,060 reviews
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#18 of 155 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 155 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 4,207 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#6 of 155 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,511 reviews
Marigny
Lamothe House Hotel
Lamothe House Hotel
#28 of 155 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dauphine House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dauphine House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1830 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Bywater , Marigny
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dauphine House was built in 1860 in the historic Faubourg Marigny, and is located 2 blocks from the French Quarter near Bourbon Street and Esplanade Avenue. Each of the two guest rooms has a private bath, queen bed, small refrigerator, microwave, cable TV, phone, coffee maker and free wifi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dauphine House b&b
Dauphine House Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dauphine House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.