We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dauphine House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dauphine House Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Dauphine House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
1830 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70116 (Bywater)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 145 New Orleans B&B and Inns
ckmclements
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Our home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2008

I have been staying at Dauphine House for almost a decade now, and unless forced to, I would not stay ANYWHERE else in New Orleans. Located one block off Esplanade, it is close enough to the French Quarter for easy access, but far enough away from the craziness for a good night's sleep. Within walking distance of many good restaurants (La Peniche, Port o Call, and Mona Lisa's to name three) as well as many excellent music clubs. It's a short walk to the Riverfront Streetcar, as well. The hostess has, over the years, become a friend rather than just some stranger we pay to stay in her house. I absolutely cannot recommend Dauphine House highly enough!!

  • Liked — I can't pick just one best.
  • Disliked — nothing.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    15
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
47
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
nashville
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2008

Short walk to bourbon st and all the excitement, but quiet enough for pleasant sleep. Karen, our hostess was wonderful and full of information! The breakfast fueled us up for the day. The two downstairs bedrooms are perfect for a close-knit group of four.
Thanks, Karen (from the nashville girls!)

Stayed February 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2008

The title says it all; I agree with all the other reviewers who can't say enough about Karen's hospitality and friendliness, and the location, cleanliness and ambience of the place. Just two blocks from Frenchmen Street and the French Quarter, wonderful charm and character, and everything you could need in the room - a Continental breakfast with coffee maker, tv, fluffy towels, a/c or heat, and a wonderfully comfy bed! The smallness of the place (just 3 rooms) and its being a private residence means that you may not like it as much if you are used to (and prefer) chain hotels, big rooms, panoramic views and the like. However, If you value charm, value, personal greetings and location, you can't do better than stay here. Very highly recommended!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Smallish room
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TEXAS
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2008

I spent the weekend after Mardi Gras at the Dauphine house. Karen the owner greets you with warmth, care, and open arms. The rooms are very nice, Southern charm, and Karen has pretty much everything you need in there. It's a great price and a great place to stay if you would like a peaceful and enjoyable trip. It's in a wonderful location..2 blocks from Bourben. HIGHLY recommend.

Stayed February 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2007

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Karen is a kind, gracious hostess that accommodated every request we made of her. The room was spotless and classic old New Orleans. This place is a treasure and our time there was phenomenal. DO NOT pay for a hotel room with this place available.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2006

My boyfriend and i were originally scheduled to stay here for three nights, but we had to relocate after one night because the power went out in the neighborhood. The innkeeper was very nice and the room was downstairs and separate from the rest of the house (we never saw the rest of the house as it is the innkeeper's private residence). The room was small but the bathroom was huge and the bed was comfortable. Everything was very nicely decorated and we had a TV, mini-fridge, coffee-maker, microwave, little table and chairs and a breakfast basket full of muffins and yummy stuff. We really wish that we could have stayed there the whole time, as our experince over at the Prince Conti was not good. I would reccomend this place to anyone! On a side note, I did not enjoy the French Quarter at all, however, Magazine Street, in the Garden District, is a great area to hang out. They have tons of antique shops and eclectic clothing. Theo's pizza was the best I've ever had!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2006

I would not hestitate to recommend this gorgeous B & B in New Orleans. My husband and I have travelled the past year around the world, booking our ticket to New Orleans prior to Hurricane Katrna. We were contemplating changing our ticket but decided to come and support the people of New Orleans - We are absolutely THRILLED that we did this as New Orleans is still fantastic. The city has amazing strength and the courage and optimism of the people is amazing. They need every bit of support to help them get back on their feet.
The Dauphine House is by far one of the best affodable accommodation we have stayed in across the world. Karen the owner, is very friendly and warm and always willing to help you. Our room was gorgeously outfitted - sure its over the top, but hey its New Orleans. It has a fridge, microwave, TV, huge bathroom and air con. Breakfast is simple, Karen provides a basket filled to the brim with the best muffins and fruit, there is OJ in the fridge and a coffee machine in your room. The location is ideal, its a quite residential area in the French Quarters ony a 10minute walk to the heart of Burbon St and 5minutes to Frenchmens St. The Tourist areas are back and running. We would strongly recommend doing a walking tour of the Garden District/Cemetry with Historic New Orleans Tours, if you get Alan Raphael he was brilliant. A must do is the exciting and interesting Airboat tour of the Swamp with Airboat Adventures, ask for a tour with Sam and its money worthwhile, we saw a huge amount of alligators and even got to hold one. To listen to great Jazz, the Snug Harbour Cafe on Frenchmen St is a must, even the $15 cover is worthwhile and pop into the Fritzes Bar on Burbon St unfortunately Preservation Hall was only open on w/e. If you looking for a great Cab driver who acts as a tour guide while driving you around, who iss friendly and helpful give Hassan a call on + (504) 259 6877, you won't be ripped off and you will enjoy your ride. I mention so many things in this review because New Orleans needs visitors to survive, and everybit helps to get the people back on their feet and not only that its is a fantastic place and so worthwhile!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dauphine House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dauphine House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1830 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Bywater , Marigny
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dauphine House was built in 1860 in the historic Faubourg Marigny, and is located 2 blocks from the French Quarter near Bourbon Street and Esplanade Avenue. Each of the two guest rooms has a private bath, queen bed, small refrigerator, microwave, cable TV, phone, coffee maker and free wifi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dauphine House b&b
Dauphine House Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dauphine House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.