We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Orleans in November” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dauphine House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Dauphine House Bed and Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Dauphine House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
1830 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70116 (Bywater)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 146 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Plymouth, IN
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“New Orleans in November”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

First, Karen is the most excellent hostess! She has many great suggestions and tips for making the most out of your New Orleans visit. The room was comfortable, the breakfast basket was bountiful, and the chicory coffee was delicious! We were able to walk everywhere--early morning Mass at St Louis Cathedral, restaurants, shopping, bars, Canal Street ferry to Algiers. We really enjoyed our trip to the New Orleans Rum Distillery! We have already recommended Dauphine House to other family members!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    66
    15
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
45
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

The Dauphine House is perfectly situated to be close to the action in both the Quarter and the Fauborg Marigny (3 blocks from Frenchman St), yet still be far enough away to be quiet and peaceful. Karen is an extremely attentive and helpful hostess, but does not hover over her guests. She is willing to go above and beyond expectations and truly made for a wonderful visit. I only wish that she had more rooms so it was not so hard to find open dates. :-)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The Dauphine House was a great find. Karen was very helpful about sending us in the right direction and telling us what areas we should avoid. Recommendations were much appreciated, as it was our first time to NOLA. Location is within walking distance of most EVERYWHERE, which works out well. Nice and quiet when you return to your room after along day touring the town. No hotel/motel hall traffic is a plus. Basket of goodies were a tasty treat, too. We will definitely be repeat customers !!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

It was a super cute tiny place with two bedrooms and walking distance to everything we wanted to see. Warning if you ever stay there the room with the shower has a REALLY tiny shower, totally functional but very tiny. I ended up with some amazing blisters from walking everywhere and could have used a soak for my feet. The hostess Karen was really nice, supplied us with enough pastries, coffee and juice to survive a hurricane and was also a tour guide and was able to direct to some great spots to stay. She was really nice and it was a great price too. I would highly recommend staying here you are looking for a quaint space to stay and don't need the hotel feel. It is very much like a home away from home. She even provided bug spray, which I highly recommend you use. :)

Room Tip: Request the room with the bathtub if you want more room than a tiny shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I read all the great reviews about Dauphine House on TripAdvisor and was so happy to get a reservation there. The reviews on here are spot on! The room was great and the location even better. Karen was very helpful and gave us so many tips for our stay. It was a genuine pleasure meeting her. It was my boyfriend's first time in New Orleans so I wanted to make everything special. The Ingenue room (in the back) was romantic and my boyfriend couldn't get enough of the picture of the peacock! The room was a good size for two people and the bathroom was huge. The room and bathroom were tidy and I loved the towels in the bathroom. There is a mini fridge in the room and a little table as well. The continental breakfast was great, filled with yummy pastries. We came in the beginning of August so the price was a bargain, $65 per night. Parking was easy as Karen assisted us with a parking pass. The location was great, we were only a few blocks from Bourbon Street and the French Quarter. We absolutely loved it here. I have already told my family and friends about this place; we also plan to come back to the Dauphine House whenever we return to New Orleans. I highly recommended this place!! Thank you again, Karen!! Julissa & Ryan :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

This place was awesome. Karen was very knowledgeable about her adopted city and gave us invaluable tips about sightseeing. It was very luxurious and very clean. The continental breakfast provided had an excellent assortment. It was within walking distance of all the major attractions and everyone was helpful and friendly. My husband and I cannot say enough good things about this place. Superb value. Stay here if you can, you won't regret it.

Room Tip: all rooms are comfy and cozy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

The Dauphine House and it's owner Karen Jefferies are exactly what every BnB should be like and what every hostess or host who owns and runs a sucessful BnB should be like. We spent four nights there last week and it was by far, THE best BnB we've ever stayed at in terms of hospitality and comfort (and we've stayed in a few fine BnB's.)

Long before we arrived, Karen kept in contact with us via phone and email. She asked if we didn't mind sharing our travel itnerary so she would know when to expect us and was a fountain of knowledge about NOLA.

She only has three rooms to let and we stayed in the center one, or the purple room. It was always quiet, the room was spotless and every morning Karen came in to tidy up, refresh the tp and towels and refill the goody basket. Look at the other pics that folks have posted and you will see the set up for the rooms.

There is street parking and Karen will give you a pass to post inside your windshield to keep the cops from ticketing you. These is a little table outside where you can have your coffee, free wi-fi and a small tv which we didn't even look at once.

We even asked if we could use her washer to run a small load of clothes because we had run out of undies and she graciously allowed us to use hers and "No, don't buy dtergent, I have lots." WOW!!! I felt like I was home and it was the icing on the cake to our visit in NOLA.

Please be aware thought that unlike SoCal where we are from, not everything is handicapp accessible and that goes for the Dauphine. Our bathroom was lovely but a tight squeeze for two rather rotund grandparents but if you are slim and trip, well, you'll have no problem! The steps to get inside are fairly steep as are most steps all over NOLA.

There is a small fridge and you would be wise to keep plenty of water in there to hydrate yourselves. We were fairly close to Bourbon Street but as Karen suggested, taking a cab is cheap and quick and saves you at the end of a hot day.

I hope I didn't miss anything but Karen if you see this...my husband and I will be forever greatly for all your help, great advice, kindness and generousity and of course your beautiful home.

Room Tip: There are only three but I think the one in the back of the house is the largest with the biggest ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dauphine House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dauphine House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1830 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Bywater , Marigny
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Dauphine House Hotel New Orleans
Dauphine House b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dauphine House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;