We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham La Belle Maison

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham La Belle Maison to your Saves list
Wyndham La Belle Maison
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   515 Gravier Street, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Little Rock, Arkansas
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“excellent place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

This was an excellent place to stay. It is not in the French Quarter, but it is very close if you want to walk there. It is located on a relatively quiet street, and there are excellent restaurants nearby. The rooms are large and well appointed and very clean. The staff is fantastic. I can't imagine a better place to stay in New Orleans.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    101
    23
    7
    10
See reviews for
86
156
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

Loved this place! It was everything that I had hoped to have. It was quiet and yet close to everything. I had read the reveiws and that had helped us to pick this location. We were lucky to have a room with windows to the outside (thanks to the person who took my phone request prior to arrival) it did add a lot of light. The room was a one bedroom and it was very large. The bed was very comfortable. The young men at the valet were so nice and helpful, as were the front desk. If you are looking for a place that is quiet and yet close to all the action this is the place. We walked most places and took the streetcars to others. The only thing we used the car for was longer distance travel. The city is just to walkable to be in a car. It was a incredible trip and the Wyndham was a large part of making it that way!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas Park, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2010

Me, my mom and my dad came down here to help my brother move down to New Orleans for his new job. The hotel is very beautiful. Comfortable bed, nice bathroom, everything was great. Our view was overlooking the highway (blah), but it was great.

Now, let's get into the FOOD! OMG! Their food was, to this day, the BEST FOOD THAT HAS EVER BEEN PUT IN MY MOUTH! For lunch, they had roasted chicken, meatloaf, vegetable, and the creamiest mashed potatoes you will ever taste. Of course, we returned for dinner, I can't remember their dinner menu, but they served Gumbo as the appetizer (YUMMY!).

I beg you, you're search for a hotel is over! Go here please! You will not regret it at all! You'll thank me later.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2010

We stayed here over our Spring Break. Staff was great. Todd at the front desk was great. He gaves us ideas on where to go and what to see. The guys in the valet, where very helpful, making sure we knew where we were going. The entire staff was very helpful and made the trip very memorable for my family. We were on the ninth floor we had no windows to the outside, but the room still was great. We will stay there again, on our next trip to NO.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield UK
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2010

We loved this place. We were booked into a double room apartment and were thrilled with the spaciousness, comfort and decor - will exceeded what I had expected. The bed and bed linen were extremely comfortable and the sitting room area with it's great sofa was ideal for snuggling under a large fur blanket when awake with jet lag. The small fitness centre and the pool open to the air were lovely too.
The location is perfect. You can walk in a few minutes to all the main attractions: the French quarter, Magazine Street, Canal Street, the streetcar. And yet the location is very quiet.

The staff on the front desk were friendly and helpful. We loved everything about our first trip to NO and will definitely being going again and staying here.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sf bay area
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2010

We stayed a week at La Belle Maison from March 15 - 22, 2010. We loved the place for its location. From the airport we reserved with Deluxe Shuttle a private limousine, round trip for $200 for a party of 5. Though the ride was only 30 minutes, it was pure heaven. Although we were invited to partake the whiskey and scotch, we accepted the ice cold bottles of water. Door to door service was fantastic. Well worth it for a large group. At La Belle Maison we had two one-bedroom units on the 7th floor. I let my mother and sister and her husband take the room with two outside windows. It was like a maze to get there. My husband and I took the one where the windows look out into the atrium of the hotel. It was disconcerting to not know if it was day or night from our room. We loved the spaciousness and high ceilings, the large refrigerator, granite counter tops, the clean bathroom, the extra bath towels, the flat tv screens. The staff was most helpful and friendly. We were always greeted with a smile. Tours were booked with no problem at the activities desk and info and tips given out to fit our needs. We went on three walking tours and loved best the French Quarter History one with Kevin. He was a riot, making us laugh the whole time. We were well entertained. with so much history and juicy information. The haunted French Quarter tour was definitely spooky and we really liked the Garden District tour with the beautiful homes and seeing where Anne Rice, Nicholas Cage and Brad and Angelina and the Manning family live. The city tour was an eye-opener with a view of the Katrina aftermath. We attended the time share presentation and my sister and husband were given a $75 gift card for their 90 minute time. No pressure and we all were impressed by Bruce, a complete and knowledgeable professional. We rode the trolleys, so crowded on the St. Charles to and from the beginning and end of line. Loved touring the WWW II museum (stayed for 5 hours!) and Mardi Gras World. Hated Hurrah's Casino for its smokiness. Could hardly breathe in there. Food was excellent at Cafe Maspero and the Gumbo Shop and Crescent City Brewery. Be aware of the River Edge Restaurant, across from the Cafe du Monde (excellent beignes!). River Edge tried to charge us $2 for hot water and $1 each for small bottle of water, saying they don't serve free water. And their food was terrible and the service sooo slow. As with any urban setting, there were homeless individuals sleeping nearby in the boarded up storefronts, a very sad situation. We were heartened to see the old woman in the wheelchair, surrounded by her strewn belongings and half eaten cartons, on the corner of Magazine and Canal picked up by social services after three cold nights. They say tourism was way down after Katrina. We'll come back again and again to support NOLA's economy. And stay at La Belle Maison.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

We stayed in La Belle Maison in mid-March. Excellent location. Just far away from the craziness and noise of Canal Street, yet close enough to all the different districts and attractions in NOLA. No car needed at all. Every place you'll want to get to is in walking distance. (Be sure to bring comfortable shoes and you're set.)

The room was large - great size living room/dining area space. Especially nice if you're with other friends and want to gather for breakfast or coffee. The bedroom and bathroom, I think, could have used a few more inches of space. Everything is new (as the hotel opened only about 2 years ago) and well maintained.

My biggest complaint is the NOISE from within the hotel. We could clearly hear the guests upstairs from us as well as next door. (I'm thinking they could have taken away a few inches from the room to make it a bit more sound proof. The slamming of doors could be heard clearly as well. Though the room was spacious and no detail overlooked, it had no windows at all. When we asked about it, they said that windows were only for owners and would not move our room.

There is a dipping pool at the hotel which is just that -- a pool to dip in and cool off. Very small. We asked about massages (as the fitness center had a massage room) and were told that the masseuse would come up to our room. (So why have a massage room?)

We plan to return to NOLA , but will stay somewhere else. We need a window for the light.

The only other pointer I could give one visiting NOLA is not to wear open sandals -- especially when walking in areas around Burbon Street. There is a definite reason why they wash down all the streets each morning. Yuck!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham La Belle Maison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham La Belle Maison

Address: 515 Gravier Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 24 Specialty Lodging in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham La Belle Maison 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Wyndham La Belle Maison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham La Belle Maison Hotel New Orleans
Wyndham New Orleans
Wyndham Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham La Belle Maison, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.