We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of the way but a good price” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Inn to your Saves list
Clarion Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10100 I-10 Service Road, New Orleans, LA 70127 (Formerly Avalon Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #121 of 156 Hotels in New Orleans
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Out of the way but a good price”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We stayed at this hotel during the Final 4 Tournament. It was affordable but out of the way. Taxi prices are a fortune in New Orleans. It cost us $60 for 3 of us from the airport. Taxi drivers kept asking us why we stayed on the East side. We stayed on the 5th floor which was ok, but I think a 3 star rating was too high for this hotel, it was a 2 star at best. Our friends stayed on the 7th floor and I do agree the smell was horrible. My friend had a horrible headache from it.

Room Tip: I would recommend staying on floors 1-5, 7 and 8 are terrible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lineaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Manitoba
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

After staying at the Best Wester Avalon Hotel for two nights, I could say that the hotel did have some charm to it. Although the building it self was older, it was well kept including a bright and welcoming lobby, nice restaurant and clean pool. The staff was friendly and helpful, but the Wi-Fi didn't work (unlike they said it did).

The room was average, with comfy and clean beds. The room smelled somewhat musty however, but it was quickly cleared once the A/C was turned on. The TV did not work too well (Which was a let down if you were bored during the evening.)

The area is extremely out of the way, and is located on a small service road outside of a busy highway in the area of Slidell. The surroundings of the hotel seemed as if the development in that area crashed during some economic collapse, as there were many stores and malls that had completely closed down and boarded up.

Overall I probably would return if I had to, but otherwise I would find something that is perhaps a little closer to where all of the action in Louisiana is.

Room Tip: Rooms at the end of the hallway's (far left from where you get off the elevators) are extremely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Metamorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Our trip collided head on with the NCAA final four competition, which meant all the prime hotel locations were booked up. This hotel is located in Slidell in an area that seems to have been hit hard economically as evidenced by the many closed up stores and stalled projects. Still, the hotel itself was busy enough and welcoming.

Staff members were friendly and helpful, although our room was not made up (busy?) each day. The room was charming and clean, and most importantly to us quiet. Since we had a car the remote location was not a huge issue although it would have been nice to be able to walk to things.

We could not get the wifi to work in the lobby, staff was unable to assist. No wifi in room. There is a "business center" on the 7th floor with 2 workstations and a printer however that we used briefly. A coin-op laundry was also a nice feature on-site.

There is a free continental breakfast with th usual fare (+ waffles): best to come early because it gets busy. We did not use the restaurant itself but the facilities look quite nice.

If the location works for you this is a decent place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyLinux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

Hotel staff very helpful. WI-FI wasn't the best but with a ethernet cable supplied by the hotel, it worked ok. Mattress was a little old as we kept rolling towards the middle of the bed. Rooms clean and only 7 miles from downtown/French Quarter of New Orleans. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nifty_fifty2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

I stayed here out of necessity. I decided to drive to New Orleans spur of the moment from Houston. I started looking for a room just past Lafayette. I was willing to stay in Baton Rouge but there was not a single room available in that city due to a Bowling tournament. S.O.L. I looked in Gonzales and La Place no luck there either some sort of sporting event taking placein this area too. I could not belive it I was truly surprised that not a single hotel had availablity. I looked in Metarie and nothing was available either. Everything in New Orleans was booked solid as there was a big Basketball game and the town was packed. I litterally spent 4 hours calling hotels and finally got a room at this little hotel a few miles north east of downtown. I think it was overpriced I paid about 150.00 taxes included. It should have been priced in the 70 to 80 dollar range, but it sure beat sleeping in the car. It was just an all around average hotel. Nothing special here!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tenoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Honestly this place is a little crapped out, and our entire floor smelled of marijuana (maybe that was a product of Mardi Gars), and the towels might have been the least absorbent towels I have ever used, but it was good enough for us. All we used it for was sleeping and showering before going out for the entire day, so I'm not sure how it might have differed had we been in it more. I will say that front desk was nothing but friendly and helpful to me and, if I were unable to get a room closer to the French Quarter again, I would certainly be willing to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joey_V86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

This was a mixed bag. The location is 15 min from the French Quarter. First room"s bath smelled like a sewer. Was told they had only 1 other room, but the parking lot was deserted. Changed rooms and found the 2nd room to be OK. It was clean and quite. The coffee shop is to be avoided. It has just changed management/ownership? and was deserted, but the service was very slow and it was expensive for what it served. Certainly not up to New Orleans standards for quality. Also got the sewer smell a couple of times in the lobby and even out front. I understand this area was flooded with Katrina. This hotel was repaired, but many structures sit in ruins. If you go here, don't plan to eat in the area because there is nothing and the neighborhood is a little scary. There is nothing not even a drug store nearby. Needed gas and stopped at a station, but the pump did not work and I didn't want to go inside due to the clientele. People were drunk in the parking lot.

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank HenryJ56003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Comfort Suites New Orleans
#65 of 156 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 98 reviews
Treme
The Treme Hotel
The Treme Hotel
#73 of 156 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Brent House Hotel & Conference C...
#111 of 156 in New Orleans
3.5 of 5 stars 93 reviews
Algiers
Federal City Inn & Suites
Federal City Inn & Suites
#74 of 156 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 126 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel 504
Hotel 504
#127 of 156 in New Orleans
3.0 of 5 stars 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn

Address: 10100 I-10 Service Road, New Orleans, LA 70127 (Formerly Avalon Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 156 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Cancelon, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Clarion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Avalon Hotel New Orleans
Best Western New Orleans
New Orleans Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing