We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming B&B with character” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
2631 Prytania Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Garden District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 145 New Orleans B&B and Inns
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Charming B&B with character”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We stayed as 2 couples in the 3rd week in November. The building
Is set in the lovely Garden District of New Orleans. The streetcar in Charles Avenue us 3 minutes walk away and rakes you uptown or downtown which means you can be in the city in 10-15 mins.

There are some wonderful houses near the B&B and some restaurants and shops within walking distance - Magazine St for example. We were recommended Coquettes but were unable to get booked in. We did eat at Joey Ks , a very good diner style place which you can walk to easily.

Nancy and Guy were very helpful as hosts and always greeted us at breakfast which always had a nice variety. The hit cooked breakfasts are at weekends but Nancy did cook us one on the Thursday we left as a nice treat.

If there is a criticism there are signs of an old building with cracks in ceilings. However, I believe work us always on-going and there are some wonderful pieces of furniture in some rooms.

We have to mention Gracie the dog who is a very docile animal and always greets the guests.

In summary a lovely area to stay and this place is a great base.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Carrolton room and our family friends the Prytania. We had a peak at all rooms and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeper2631, Owner at Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
We so enjoyed this couple's stay and to be able to share our knowledge of the city with them. We do feel it necessary for those reading reviews who are not familiar with New Orleans, to shed some light on concerns with 'cracks int he ceiling". The inn was built in 1890 and the walls and ceiling are all plaster (including the decorative moldings) and as houses of this age settle and shift with the seasons and fluctuations of temperature cracks in walls and ceilings do appear. That patina does give the wall character but if you have only been in homes with Sheetrock it does bear some explaining. Come visit us and we will tell you more about the construction of Queen Anne Victorian homes in the turn of the 1800s.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    411
    53
    13
    13
    10
See reviews for
95
228
57
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, LA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We recently spent a weekend in New Orleans. If you like to stay in bed & breakfast inns then you won't be disappointed at Sully Mansion. It's conveniently located in the Garden District, close to shopping on Magazine Street, eating at Commander's Palace and Coquette (and other good restaurants) plus enjoying a stroll through the beautiful neighborhood. The full breakfast served on Saturday and Sunday was delicious. Try to get either the Bourbon or Royal rooms. Very nice, and a taste of "old New Orleans." Jean O

Room Tip: Travel during winter months and you won't have to put up with air conditioning unit noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I stayed with my sister at the Sully Mansion in mid-September. It was rainy but they were ready with umbrellas and tea to keep us dry and warm. My sister thinks this is the only place to stay in NOLA and she may be right. The room was beautiful and the breakfasts were delicious. The owners both were helpful about how to get around town and where to go. I would highly recommend staying here - in the heart of the Garden District - when you visit New Orleans.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

My wife and I spent two days there this fall and I must say it lived up to everything everyone has said about it. We had an upstairs room that was quite large and very well appointed. I honestly can say I could find nothing to offer to them for improving their B&B. It really is that good.

The location is very hard to beat. Only a block off St Charles, there is easy access to the streetcar. We parked our car in front of the mansion and never used it again until we left. We took the street car to the French Quarter and it really made travel around town a breeze.

A walk through the garden district is well worth the time. They are just beautiful, well cared for and a delight to see. Make sure to leave time in your day to take a walking tour of the area.

Lastly, its right around the corner to Commander's Palace. There is nothing more to say.

Room Tip: Park the car, take the street car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

A lovely residential neighborhood, just off St. Charles, is the setting for this beautifully maintained, spacious home. Innkeepers Guy and Nancy feel appropriate pride in the home they share with guests, and are both accessible and gracious. Commanders Palace is just around the corner, Jean's Pralines (the BEST and my fav in NOLA!) is a handful of walking blocks away, as is our daughter's home. Would we stay here again? You bet we would!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pineville, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We stayed at the Sully mansion over Halloween weekend. We were 3 women traveling for business, but starting with a little extra fun. The Bourbon Suite was quite roomy and the 3 of us had plenty of room to spread out. Having a small seating area and couch (daybed) really helped. The breakfasts were a full complement of a hot entree as well as plenty of pastry/muffin, fruit, cereals etc. The daily hot breakfast offering was gourmet breakfast at it's best in my opinion.
There was also a small wedding while we were there, did not interfere with us, nor we with it. The resident Pup was also a pleasure. I highly recommend and would stay again. One block from the St Charles Street Car was also a pleasure.
Nancy also steered us to some great places to eat, most notably Coquettes on magazine street.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

This was our second time staying at the Sully Mansion B&B. Guy and Nancy are wonderful and helpful hosts--and we loved hearing their story of purchasing the property right after Katrina--what bravery! We stayed in the Prytania room, which was small but comfortable. Nancy's delicious breakfasts were a great way to start the day, and we enjoyed sitting on the lovely front porch and talking with other guests. It is very conveniently located, in the heart of the garden district, and we enjoyed a walking tour that started just a block away. It is also just a short walk from interesting shops and restaurants on Magazine Street. We'll be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2631 Prytania Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by magnolias and live oaks the neighborhood is filled with grand mansions and beautiful gardens. Guests are steps away from the shops on Magazine Street and St. Charles Avenue which puts the French Quarter and Tulane and Loyola universities within easy reach. Rooms range from intimate doubles to grand king suites. Home made breakfast included in rates. Come enjoy New Orleans and live like a local. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sully Mansion Hotel New Orleans
Sully Mansion b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list