We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fine wet weekend in New Orleans” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
2631 Prytania Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Garden District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 145 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A fine wet weekend in New Orleans”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I stayed with my sister at the Sully Mansion in mid-September. It was rainy but they were ready with umbrellas and tea to keep us dry and warm. My sister thinks this is the only place to stay in NOLA and she may be right. The room was beautiful and the breakfasts were delicious. The owners both were helpful about how to get around town and where to go. I would highly recommend staying here - in the heart of the Garden District - when you visit New Orleans.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    55
    13
    13
    10
See reviews for
101
232
57
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

My wife and I spent two days there this fall and I must say it lived up to everything everyone has said about it. We had an upstairs room that was quite large and very well appointed. I honestly can say I could find nothing to offer to them for improving their B&B. It really is that good.

The location is very hard to beat. Only a block off St Charles, there is easy access to the streetcar. We parked our car in front of the mansion and never used it again until we left. We took the street car to the French Quarter and it really made travel around town a breeze.

A walk through the garden district is well worth the time. They are just beautiful, well cared for and a delight to see. Make sure to leave time in your day to take a walking tour of the area.

Lastly, its right around the corner to Commander's Palace. There is nothing more to say.

Room Tip: Park the car, take the street car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

A lovely residential neighborhood, just off St. Charles, is the setting for this beautifully maintained, spacious home. Innkeepers Guy and Nancy feel appropriate pride in the home they share with guests, and are both accessible and gracious. Commanders Palace is just around the corner, Jean's Pralines (the BEST and my fav in NOLA!) is a handful of walking blocks away, as is our daughter's home. Would we stay here again? You bet we would!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pineville, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We stayed at the Sully mansion over Halloween weekend. We were 3 women traveling for business, but starting with a little extra fun. The Bourbon Suite was quite roomy and the 3 of us had plenty of room to spread out. Having a small seating area and couch (daybed) really helped. The breakfasts were a full complement of a hot entree as well as plenty of pastry/muffin, fruit, cereals etc. The daily hot breakfast offering was gourmet breakfast at it's best in my opinion.
There was also a small wedding while we were there, did not interfere with us, nor we with it. The resident Pup was also a pleasure. I highly recommend and would stay again. One block from the St Charles Street Car was also a pleasure.
Nancy also steered us to some great places to eat, most notably Coquettes on magazine street.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

This was our second time staying at the Sully Mansion B&B. Guy and Nancy are wonderful and helpful hosts--and we loved hearing their story of purchasing the property right after Katrina--what bravery! We stayed in the Prytania room, which was small but comfortable. Nancy's delicious breakfasts were a great way to start the day, and we enjoyed sitting on the lovely front porch and talking with other guests. It is very conveniently located, in the heart of the garden district, and we enjoyed a walking tour that started just a block away. It is also just a short walk from interesting shops and restaurants on Magazine Street. We'll be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnegat, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Sully Mansion inn, after a business trip in the French quarter earlier in the week. After leaving the hustle and bustle of the French quarter we arrived to Gracie's wagging tail, we knew we had chosen a great place to stay in the garden district. The owners Nancy &Guy, were hospitable, and warm. The room was great and we loved the furniture. breakfast was fantastic! We will be back next time we visit the crescent city!!!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Sully Mansion is a delightful B&B conveniently located on a quiet street in the Garden District, one block off the St. Charles Trolley line. The rooms are comfortable and there is a lovely area on the front porch with seating - great for relaxing, drinking a cup of am coffee, reading. In the back garden there are tables and chairs and a delightful splashing fountain. Nancy and Guy are great hosts and ready with suggestions for restaurants and sights to see. There are many things to do within walking distance of the B&B. Coffee and tea are available for early risers and breakfast offers a wide array of choices. Nancy is a talented baker and makes divine delights for breakfast! There is parking easily available onstreet.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2631 Prytania Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by magnolias and live oaks the neighborhood is filled with grand mansions and beautiful gardens. Guests are steps away from the shops on Magazine Street and St. Charles Avenue which puts the French Quarter and Tulane and Loyola universities within easy reach. Rooms range from intimate doubles to grand king suites. Home made breakfast included in rates. Come enjoy New Orleans and live like a local. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sully Mansion Hotel New Orleans
Sully Mansion b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.