We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home in NOLA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
2631 Prytania Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Garden District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 146 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Maryland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A home away from home in NOLA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

This was our second time staying at the Sully Mansion B&B. Guy and Nancy are wonderful and helpful hosts--and we loved hearing their story of purchasing the property right after Katrina--what bravery! We stayed in the Prytania room, which was small but comfortable. Nancy's delicious breakfasts were a great way to start the day, and we enjoyed sitting on the lovely front porch and talking with other guests. It is very conveniently located, in the heart of the garden district, and we enjoyed a walking tour that started just a block away. It is also just a short walk from interesting shops and restaurants on Magazine Street. We'll be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    416
    54
    13
    13
    10
See reviews for
95
230
57
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barnegat, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Sully Mansion inn, after a business trip in the French quarter earlier in the week. After leaving the hustle and bustle of the French quarter we arrived to Gracie's wagging tail, we knew we had chosen a great place to stay in the garden district. The owners Nancy &Guy, were hospitable, and warm. The room was great and we loved the furniture. breakfast was fantastic! We will be back next time we visit the crescent city!!!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Sully Mansion is a delightful B&B conveniently located on a quiet street in the Garden District, one block off the St. Charles Trolley line. The rooms are comfortable and there is a lovely area on the front porch with seating - great for relaxing, drinking a cup of am coffee, reading. In the back garden there are tables and chairs and a delightful splashing fountain. Nancy and Guy are great hosts and ready with suggestions for restaurants and sights to see. There are many things to do within walking distance of the B&B. Coffee and tea are available for early risers and breakfast offers a wide array of choices. Nancy is a talented baker and makes divine delights for breakfast! There is parking easily available onstreet.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Guy and Nancy, proprietors of The Sully Mansion exemplify the spirit of New Orleans hospitality.
From the wonderful array of breakfast offerings, to tips on where to go, what to see and where to eat, they help make your NOLA stay a memorable one. Gracie, their dog will always welcome you back with an enthusiastic tail wag, after a long day of sightseeing.
We shall return !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brick, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

From the moment we walked through the gate and up to the entrance we thoroughly enjoyed this Garden District mansion B&B with its comfortable rooms and gracious hosts Nancy and Guy. The daily morning coffee awaiting us outside our room was a great way to start the day followed by a delicious breakfast excellently prepared. Our hosts were always happy to provide suggestions on the best way (usually the block away St. Charles streetcar) on how to get to the attractions we wanted to see and shared their knowledge of the New Orleans music venues. Nice courtyard out back to relax in before and after a busy day of sightseeing. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Payson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

The Sully Mansion and its hosts, Guy and Nancy, made our trip to New Orleans everything we hoped it would be. The rooms are beautiful and comfortable with every amenity you could need. Their suggestions for day trips, meals and transportation choices were spot on!. The location, a block off the street car line, and in the midst of a beautiful neighborhood was perfect. Of course Gracie, the resident pooch, made us smile and miss our own girls a little less each day. The location of the inn, the graciousness of the hosts and the wonderful breakfasts make me say it was the perfect choice for us.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

In our travels throughout the world, our preference is staying in B &B's because of the personal bonds and guidance that we often get from the owners. While the Sully Mansion is a well located, gracious home in the Garden District of New Orleans, it's owners, Nancy and Guy were distant, insulting, rude and insensitive. Rather than being sympathetic to my partner's hearing loss, Guy icily quipped "how close do I have to stand near you for you to hear me?" When we told them that the shower water turns cold in the midst of showering, they arrogantly Implied that we were lying. While proud of their home, the quality of the breakfasts were inferior with overlooked sausages, dry and heavy muffins and some inedible baked biscuit concoction. Thankfully there was fresh fruit and the coffee was good. It is a shame that the imperious demeanor of the owners ruin such a lovely property. A course in charm school would help.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeper2631, Owner at Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
No owner of a bed and breakfast likes to see a review like this of their establishment. We hope the users of Trip Advisor will see how unusual it is to have a guest feel they were treated poorly or that the food was 'inedible' or problems with the accommodations. Despite our efforts to meet to their demands or respond to their criticisms (including their view the pump for the shampoo was too far from their hands) clearly they were not happy and we hope they find a place which meets their expectations on their next trip to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2631 Prytania Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by magnolias and live oaks the neighborhood is filled with grand mansions and beautiful gardens. Guests are steps away from the shops on Magazine Street and St. Charles Avenue which puts the French Quarter and Tulane and Loyola universities within easy reach. Rooms range from intimate doubles to grand king suites. Home made breakfast included in rates. Come enjoy New Orleans and live like a local. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sully Mansion Hotel New Orleans
Sully Mansion b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list