We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful Garden District oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
2631 Prytania Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Garden District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 145 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Barnegat, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A beautiful Garden District oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Sully Mansion inn, after a business trip in the French quarter earlier in the week. After leaving the hustle and bustle of the French quarter we arrived to Gracie's wagging tail, we knew we had chosen a great place to stay in the garden district. The owners Nancy &Guy, were hospitable, and warm. The room was great and we loved the furniture. breakfast was fantastic! We will be back next time we visit the crescent city!!!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    57
    14
    13
    11
See reviews for
105
234
57
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Sully Mansion is a delightful B&B conveniently located on a quiet street in the Garden District, one block off the St. Charles Trolley line. The rooms are comfortable and there is a lovely area on the front porch with seating - great for relaxing, drinking a cup of am coffee, reading. In the back garden there are tables and chairs and a delightful splashing fountain. Nancy and Guy are great hosts and ready with suggestions for restaurants and sights to see. There are many things to do within walking distance of the B&B. Coffee and tea are available for early risers and breakfast offers a wide array of choices. Nancy is a talented baker and makes divine delights for breakfast! There is parking easily available onstreet.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Guy and Nancy, proprietors of The Sully Mansion exemplify the spirit of New Orleans hospitality.
From the wonderful array of breakfast offerings, to tips on where to go, what to see and where to eat, they help make your NOLA stay a memorable one. Gracie, their dog will always welcome you back with an enthusiastic tail wag, after a long day of sightseeing.
We shall return !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brick, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

From the moment we walked through the gate and up to the entrance we thoroughly enjoyed this Garden District mansion B&B with its comfortable rooms and gracious hosts Nancy and Guy. The daily morning coffee awaiting us outside our room was a great way to start the day followed by a delicious breakfast excellently prepared. Our hosts were always happy to provide suggestions on the best way (usually the block away St. Charles streetcar) on how to get to the attractions we wanted to see and shared their knowledge of the New Orleans music venues. Nice courtyard out back to relax in before and after a busy day of sightseeing. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Payson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

The Sully Mansion and its hosts, Guy and Nancy, made our trip to New Orleans everything we hoped it would be. The rooms are beautiful and comfortable with every amenity you could need. Their suggestions for day trips, meals and transportation choices were spot on!. The location, a block off the street car line, and in the midst of a beautiful neighborhood was perfect. Of course Gracie, the resident pooch, made us smile and miss our own girls a little less each day. The location of the inn, the graciousness of the hosts and the wonderful breakfasts make me say it was the perfect choice for us.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

In our travels throughout the world, our preference is staying in B &B's because of the personal bonds and guidance that we often get from the owners. While the Sully Mansion is a well located, gracious home in the Garden District of New Orleans, it's owners, Nancy and Guy were distant, insulting, rude and insensitive. Rather than being sympathetic to my partner's hearing loss, Guy icily quipped "how close do I have to stand near you for you to hear me?" When we told them that the shower water turns cold in the midst of showering, they arrogantly Implied that we were lying. While proud of their home, the quality of the breakfasts were inferior with overlooked sausages, dry and heavy muffins and some inedible baked biscuit concoction. Thankfully there was fresh fruit and the coffee was good. It is a shame that the imperious demeanor of the owners ruin such a lovely property. A course in charm school would help.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeper2631, Owner at Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
No owner of a bed and breakfast likes to see a review like this of their establishment. We hope the users of Trip Advisor will see how unusual it is to have a guest feel they were treated poorly or that the food was 'inedible' or problems with the accommodations. Despite our efforts to meet to their demands or respond to their criticisms (including their view the pump for the shampoo was too far from their hands) clearly they were not happy and we hope they find a place which meets their expectations on their next trip to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Nancy and Guy were absolutely top-notch hosts. They helped me plan a perfect intimate wedding ceremony at their B&B. Even with the threat of tropical storm Karen, everything turned out just the way I wanted. The B&B has several spots for a small ceremony; we had 15 people, but they can also do larger parties of 50-60. Nancy helped me every step of the way, with great advice for florists, officiants, and jewelers. We spent two nights at Sully for a 'mini-moon' as well. Beautiful rooms, delicious breakfast, and perfect location in the Garden District. We will definitely be back for an anniversary celebration!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2631 Prytania Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by magnolias and live oaks the neighborhood is filled with grand mansions and beautiful gardens. Guests are steps away from the shops on Magazine Street and St. Charles Avenue which puts the French Quarter and Tulane and Loyola universities within easy reach. Rooms range from intimate doubles to grand king suites. Home made breakfast included in rates. Come enjoy New Orleans and live like a local. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sully Mansion b&b
Sully Mansion Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.