We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First impressions” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
2631 Prytania Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Garden District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 146 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Oberlin, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“First impressions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

My wife had never been to New Orleans and I had only briefly visited as a teen. Without a doubt, our 3 days at the Sully Mansion B & B were magic. Superb location, gorgeous room, exceptional food, intriguing guests, and accommodating hosts. Guy and Nancy made us feel welcome from the outset, providing excellent tips on many facets of this complex city. These accomodations allowed us to open up to the New Orleans experience, a city which 'grabs you,' if you let it. We would love to return!

Tony and Beth

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    54
    13
    13
    10
See reviews for
98
231
57
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abita Springs, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Wonderful location and the hosts Guy and Nancy work hard to anticipate your every need. Great advice on local happenings and places to eat. Breakfast is always delicious and only a half-block to the St. Charles streetcar line. We visit often and consider it our home away from home in New Orleans.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This is the second time we've stayed at the Sully Mansion, both for visits to our daughter studying at Tulane. Nancy and Guy are thoughtful hosts, who anticipate the needs of visitors and make you feel so welcome in their beautiful B and B. We love the free wifi, the restaurant tips, the sumptious breakfasts and the stories/news that Nancy and Guy tell about this fabulous city that they clearly love. All this and extremely professional from a business standpoint. We'll be back!!
S, J, M, and L.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitou Springs, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

In NOLA for 4 days we enjoyed every aspects of Sully Mansion. Located under the massive trees of the garden district it is only one block away from the tram stop heading to the Quarter. This neighborhood is not only gorgeous but also quiet, which made for very restful nights. The rooms are superb and the beds quite comfortable. I like the charm of the old decor but appreciated sleeping on an updated mattress :-) The veranda and private garden around the mansion were perfect for gathering time and chats with friends picking us up. As for the hosts, friendly, smart and gracious, they provided us with a delicious array of treats every morning. I just wish I had enough appetite to try them all!

Room Tip: Try the 1st floor room with private entrance for extra privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

Sully Mansion is a beautiful spot, in a great location with welcoming hosts. Located in the Garden District, you get an entirely different--and enjoyable--feel for the Big Easy. Sully is a short walk from Commander's Palace, a few blocks from Magazine Street's developing restaurant and shop scene, and two blocks from the St. Charles streetcar and a quick ride to the Quarter, the WWII Museum or Tulane. Nancy and Guy are perfect hosts...they know the city, it's restaurants and nearby places that are worth a visit. We enjoyed the breakfasts...great variety with a personal touch. We loved the Mansion...beautifully furnished with a virtual art gallery on the walls; the landscaping is wonderful.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

The Sully Mansion is a lovely home. It is clean, well-appointed and full of personality. Nancy and Guy are warm and helpful.
I like the location: away from the rowdy French Quarter but still close enough to restaurants and Tulane, where my son is a student. On a nice day it's an ambitious but pretty walk up to the Tulane or Loyola campus.
I will be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Short Hills, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Our 3 night stay at the Sully Mansion B and B was one of the best get-away weekends we've had. The B and B is perfectly located in the heart of the Garden District, in a magnificent Sully designed home from the late 1800s, and has one of the most beautiful porches peacefully protected by a magnificent spreading oak. Nancy and Guy, the detail oriented proprietors, served delicious breakfasts and had spot on recommendations for restaurants, bike rentals, transportation options, and Jazz Fest must see musicians. We loved the vibe from the get go, enjoying the other clientele, sitting in the lovely side garden, and starting our days of New Orleans adventures well fed and rested.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2631 Prytania Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by magnolias and live oaks the neighborhood is filled with grand mansions and beautiful gardens. Guests are steps away from the shops on Magazine Street and St. Charles Avenue which puts the French Quarter and Tulane and Loyola universities within easy reach. Rooms range from intimate doubles to grand king suites. Home made breakfast included in rates. Come enjoy New Orleans and live like a local. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sully Mansion b&b
Sully Mansion Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.