We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect NOLA location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
2631 Prytania Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Garden District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 146 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Pittsburgh PA.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Perfect NOLA location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

As so many other's have said, this is a wonderful B&B in a perfect location! We loved being able to easily get to the French Quarters (you can walk there in around 30 min. or ride the street car found right around the corner) but we found we especially loved the restaurants and relaxed "vibe" in the Garden District (Magazine St.) right in the neighborhood. Nancy and Guy knows their restaurants & food and headed us toward several amazing places (thanks!!!). The breakfast each day greeted us with some wonderful homemade pastries & goodies which gave us energy for hours of walking. For those of you looking for the "southern hospitality"; although they are wonderful host and hostess, Nancy has a little more of a "east coast hospitality" charm instead. Her upfront manner is what I think people have felt in old reviews but she is quite nice and helpful. The only thing I missed...cookies in the afternoon after hours of walking. Hey, what can I say, homemade cookies at a B&B are my favorite! Would we stay here again? In a heart beat!

Room Tip: The Royal Room is perfect for two friends traveling together for a fun week-end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeper2631, Owner at Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
We are so glad the ladies enjoyed their stay and agree we are in the perfect location as a base for exploring the city. We are both from the east and have lived in New Orleans for eight years and call it our home and do our best to offer the best hospitality we can. We used to offer cookies in the afternoon but found guests tend to enjoy all our great restaurants all day long and they were not eating them, the price you pay for being such a food rich city!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    417
    54
    13
    13
    10
See reviews for
95
230
57
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Canaan, Connecticut, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We had a lovely time again at Sully Mansion. Our room was very comfortable. The front porch is divine and great place to watch things in the Garden District. Breakfast was most enjoyable with a great selection of tasty food and nice conversation with the Innkeepers and other guests.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This was my second stay with Nancy and Guy at the Sullly. It could not be in a more perfect location, as the St. Charles streetcar is a block away for going Uptown, to Audubon Park, or downtown to the French Quarter and Esplanade. At the Sully you are surrounded with beauty, in the restored old mansion itself, on the broad porch gazing at a magnificent huge old Live Oak, walking around the Garden District and enjoying gorgeous old historic mansions. Nancy and Guy are very gracious, knowledgeable, fun hosts, and they make great breakfasts.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I stay in B&Bs all the time (for over 30 years) and I can say without reservation that the Sully Mansion is terrific!!! Great location. Friendly staff. Wonderfully warm and accommodating owners who have a special touch. Clean. Great breakfast. I had a huge case of very expensive and heavy photography equipment and the owners were happy to store it safely in their personal living quarters on the first floor. Nice of them to do so.

Room Tip: Room 6 is quite small but economical. Good for a solo traveler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

my wife and i spent three days at sully and enjoyed our stay. the convinent location allowed us to leave our car parked. our room was clean and made up while we ate breakfast. the friendly dog made for a homey feel. the street car was a block away and inexpensive. so,stay at sully and leave the car behind.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Met a friend in New Orleans and had a great time. The Sully Mansion only made it better. A beautiful home in the Garden District on a quiet street a few blocks away from the street car. So much nicer than staying anywhere near the French Quarter. We stayed in the Royal Room (two queen beds) and although there was renovation going on outside our windows, we didn’t hear a thing. The only negative comment I have is after breakfast on the day we were leaving, when we went upstairs to finish packing, the girls were already in the room taking the linens off the bed. It would have been nice if they had waited until we’d checked out. It felt very intrusive. However, don’t let that sway your decision. It’s a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This was our first stay in New Orleans, and it definitely won't be our last. Guy and Nancy run this B&B wonderfully and we enjoyed every moment of our trip. We stayed in the Prytania room facing Prytania Street; I highly recommend this room as it was both spacious and cozy, and the decor was perfect. The house is just so welcoming and if there weren't all that sightseeing and dining out to do in the city, we may have just been content to sit on the porch most days and relax at the mansion. Be sure to get advice from the owners on music venues, restaurants, etc, as they have the most up to date info. They were also very accommodating with requests such as providing soy milk since I'm lactose intolerant. My boyfriend and I really enjoyed staying here and most definitely would come again.

Room Tip: The Prytania is perfect if you need a bit more space or are traveling with kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2631 Prytania Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by magnolias and live oaks the neighborhood is filled with grand mansions and beautiful gardens. Guests are steps away from the shops on Magazine Street and St. Charles Avenue which puts the French Quarter and Tulane and Loyola universities within easy reach. Rooms range from intimate doubles to grand king suites. Home made breakfast included in rates. Come enjoy New Orleans and live like a local. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sully Mansion b&b
Sully Mansion Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.