We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No thank you!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
2631 Prytania Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Garden District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 144 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“No thank you!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Sully Mansion was a lovely place and the atmosphere was relaxing. The room was clean and very cute/nostalgic,the bathroom was a nice size but the towels looked and felt old and worn..so I definitely did not use their towels at shower time! One of the innkeepers made it a point to ask my friend and I whether we wanted tea or coffee the next morning..we said tea but they served us coffee instead (wonder why?). I decided not to drink the coffee and headed downstairs..Breakfast was terrible and not even close to gourmet. We had dry eggs with shriveled up mushrooms,they served a couple slices of oranges and a few very unripe honeydew melons. Oh yeah and a few cinnamon rolls..you would think that since there are only a few guests staying in the mansion that the breakfast would actually be worthwhile (paid over $200 for a nights stay) could get a much tastier breakfast at a motel 6 and that is pretty sad. I was also surprised by their rudeness and occasional snide comments..yeah southern hospitality alright. Just based on thoes things alone I definitely wouldn't stay here again. Yuck!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    59
    14
    13
    11
See reviews for
110
245
58
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Bethesda, Maryland, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Wonderful location off the Trolley to downtown, a beautiful area, gorgeous home, close to area restaurants like Commanders and the WW2 Museum, great hosts and reasonable rates. I was there Superbowl weekend and was lucky to find an opening for this excellent choice of a place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Great location, beautiful accommodations and well informed owners. Guy and Nancy bent over backwards to make sure all our needs were met. Had a fantastic private dinner with a local chef in the court yard, a monthly event. Definitely worth doing! A block away from the trolley, close to bus service, we did not need a car.

Room Tip: Just check room for bed sizes. They vary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I had the chance for a weekend getaway without the kids and were looking for a romantic place to visit and stay. It was my wife's first trip to NOLA, and I wanted it to be special. After scouring Trip Advisor and seeing the outrageous parking rates downtown, began to look further out, and stumbled across some bed and breakfasts. We had never done that before, but after reading the reviews we decided to give it a shot.
After a great deal of research, we settled on the Sully Mansion, and could not have been happier with our stay. We will definitely look into bed and breakfasts in other cities after our experience here. Guy, Nancy and their dog Gracie were excellent hosts for us - available without being intrusive. The food was wonderful, and the location was fantastic.
The Garden District is often overlooked, but a wonderful part of New Orleans. The restaurants and shops on Magazine Street are perfect for strolling, window shopping and eating. Do not miss Joey K's or Sucré.
There is plenty of parking, and you can either walk, or take the street car during the rest of your stay. It's just a few mi used downtown and into the Quarter. This is a beautiful place, so if you're looking for a romantic getaway, or just a leisurely stay, try the Sully Mansion! We will happily return to stay again in the future.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My husband and I took our first trip to New Orleans over the holiday weekend and when we got home (less than an hour ago) I immediately sat down to write this review of Sully's... now if that doesn't say "excellent" I'm not sure what does. This is a beautiful B&B, located at the mid-point between the French Quarter and Uptown. Venturing to the Quarter and Uptown is a cinch with the famous St. Charles streetcar stop just a block away. It was a great escape from the craziness that is the Quarter, in a supreme location surrounded by beautiful historic mansions. Bonus - you get to stay in one of those gorgeous homes when you stay here! Guy and Nancy are simply the best. So hospitable and full of the best advice - where to eat, how to live like a local, etc. Nancy also makes a delicious breakfast. We enjoyed pecan waffles our first morning, a spinach, leek and canadian bacon bread pudding the day after, and finished our stay with a delicious sausage and cheese breakfast sandwich on a hot biscuit. In addition to all of this deliciousness, Guy and Nancy have an adorable pup, Gracie, who is just the cherry on top of an already wonderful sundae. My husband and I loved NOLA and hope to visit again soon. When that time comes, you bet we'll return to Sully's Mansion!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We travel a lot and stay in B and Bs frequently. This one belongs in the top five for reasons that are important to us: location, cost, food choices, and hosts. The location is the best! Its so easy to hop on the street car or 11 bus to go anywhere uptown or downtown - but you might not want to leave the neighborhood as there is plenty to explore. We met at the corner of the Lafayette cemetery, only a block away, on our first morning to take a free two hour walking tour which was fabulous and helped explain the culture of New Orleans. There are ample wonderful restaurants within walking distance (a shout out to Coquette and Delachaise Bar!) and so many architecturally interesting houses.
The cost was very reasonable, given this is the only B and B within the Garden District of New Orleans and provides a great breakfast with many options. We are a big fans of breakfast and were delighted to start every day with fruit, yogurt, granola, toast, juice, coffee, pastries, AND a main dish that was quite fancy. The offerings included both healthy foods and wonderfully indulgent choices -- I can't imagine anyone leaving the table hungry or unsatisfied.
But the best part are the hosts - Nancy and Guy are extremely knowledgeable, friendly and easy-going. They have a nice balance of tending to us and leaving us alone, and enjoyed sharing their home and love of New Orleans.

Room Tip: Carrollton room had a great bathroom, and the most comfortable bed. The only drawback, and this prob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Such a gracious B&B! Nancy and Guy, our hosts, seemed to think of everything to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. And they were most helpful in suggesting restaurants and arranging reservations for us. Breakfast was superb - the croissants, in particular, are homemade and "to die for"! Exploring the beautiful streets of homes and shops in the Garden District was delightful. And, it's just a short walk to the street car, so getting to the heart of the city and the French Quarter is easy. I cannot think of a single "negative"! We will stay at Sully again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2631 Prytania Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by magnolias and live oaks the neighborhood is filled with grand mansions and beautiful gardens. Guests are steps away from the shops on Magazine Street and St. Charles Avenue which puts the French Quarter and Tulane and Loyola universities within easy reach. Rooms range from intimate doubles to grand king suites. Home made breakfast included in rates. Come enjoy New Orleans and live like a local. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sully Mansion Hotel New Orleans
Sully Mansion b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.