We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sully Mansion is the place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
2631 Prytania Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Garden District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 146 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Sully Mansion is the place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We travel a lot and stay in B and Bs frequently. This one belongs in the top five for reasons that are important to us: location, cost, food choices, and hosts. The location is the best! Its so easy to hop on the street car or 11 bus to go anywhere uptown or downtown - but you might not want to leave the neighborhood as there is plenty to explore. We met at the corner of the Lafayette cemetery, only a block away, on our first morning to take a free two hour walking tour which was fabulous and helped explain the culture of New Orleans. There are ample wonderful restaurants within walking distance (a shout out to Coquette and Delachaise Bar!) and so many architecturally interesting houses.
The cost was very reasonable, given this is the only B and B within the Garden District of New Orleans and provides a great breakfast with many options. We are a big fans of breakfast and were delighted to start every day with fruit, yogurt, granola, toast, juice, coffee, pastries, AND a main dish that was quite fancy. The offerings included both healthy foods and wonderfully indulgent choices -- I can't imagine anyone leaving the table hungry or unsatisfied.
But the best part are the hosts - Nancy and Guy are extremely knowledgeable, friendly and easy-going. They have a nice balance of tending to us and leaving us alone, and enjoyed sharing their home and love of New Orleans.

Room Tip: Carrollton room had a great bathroom, and the most comfortable bed. The only drawback, and this prob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    54
    13
    13
    10
See reviews for
98
231
57
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Such a gracious B&B! Nancy and Guy, our hosts, seemed to think of everything to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. And they were most helpful in suggesting restaurants and arranging reservations for us. Breakfast was superb - the croissants, in particular, are homemade and "to die for"! Exploring the beautiful streets of homes and shops in the Garden District was delightful. And, it's just a short walk to the street car, so getting to the heart of the city and the French Quarter is easy. I cannot think of a single "negative"! We will stay at Sully again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Horeb, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

My girlfriend and I spent the New Year in New Orleans. We have been to New Orleans multiple times and although the French Quarter is a must see, we decided that we wanted to spend some additional time in both the Garden District and Uptown District of New Orleans. We chose to stay at Sully Mansion for a couple reasons. One, we wanted to stay in a B&B and two, we wanted to be in an area where we felt we could do a lot of walking or easily hop on the streetcar. Sully Mansion was perfect! It was only two blocks away from the streetcar which took us both Uptown and (if it wouldn't have been under construction) to the French Quarter as well. Oh, did I mention we were right in the Garden District. It was absolutely gorgeous. The Mansion is also located only 5 blocks from Magazine Street which offers numerous local restaurants and tons of great shopping.
Moreover, the hospitality that Guy, Nancy and Gracie provided was beyond expected. The overall ambiance of the mansion was very warm and welcoming and Nancy and Guy were both chatty and delightful to converse with. We did end up staying in the smallest room, The Desire, which was just big enough to fit a double bed. However, we did have our own private bathroom and the bed was very comfortable which outweighed the lack of moveable space. Nancy provided us with multiple reviews of restaurants in the area and even had a large book with menus for all the guests to review. We didn't get a chance to have breakfast on Sunday morning as we were heading to a tailgate but the menu looked wonderful and the food smelled just as wonderful. My only complaint here is that it was an additional $15 a person to have breakfast on the weekends. However, you would get charged that at any restaurant in New Orleans for breakfast so really it’s a good deal. I just feel as though it should have been a bit cheaper as we were already paying to stay there. Additionally, we did have the included continental breakfast on Monday morning and this was just as wonderful. We were offered quiche, fruit, juices, muffins, etc. and they were all delicious. Coffee could be a stronger but maybe that's just me. :) Also, the ability to obtain coffee or tea at any time throughout the day/evening was not offered but would be a definite bonus!
I would definitely recommend Sully Mansion to all. We did peak in all the other rooms and they were all very well sized and even more spectacular then what you view via the website. Overall, we had a wonderful experience staying at Sully Mansion and will definitely be back to visit.

Room Tip: All the rooms were beautiful, The Desire, is just big enough to fit a double bed. It does have a sma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeper2631, Owner at Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
We remember this couple from Wisconsin and are so glad they enjoyed their stay and take their suggestions to heart. We have in the past had coffee available throughout the day and found most guest were out enjoying the city and we were throwing out full carafes of coffee daily so we discontinued the practice, we remain happy to brew a cup of coffee or tea midday for all who request it. As they never were able to joined us for breakfast perhaps they misunderstood but there is NO CHARGE for any guest to have breakfast, it is included int he daily rate. We have had guests who have friends or family in town who want to join them for breakfast an as they are not overnight there is an additional nominal charge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I have visited New Orleans often, but must say this was the best experience I have had there. The owners were very friendly and helpful, the location was perfect and the B&B was beautiful! I even bought a wonderful piece of art right off the wall.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Our first four days of our New Orleans Christmas was at the beautiful Sully Mansion. What a wonderful experience! Nancy and Guy, our hosts, could not have been more accommodating. The mansion is beautiful and is ideally located for easy access to the wonderful restaurants and the beautiful homes in the Garden District. Each morning we enjoyed a terrific breakfast, interesting conversations with the other guests and with Nancy and Guy. Gracie, the family dog, was also around to greet us.

This was our fourth trip to New Orleans but our first stay at Sully Mansion. Without a doubt, we would definitely stay at Sully whenever we return to this wonderful city.

We can highly recommend this wonderful Bed & Breakfast. Again, Nancy and Guy were extremely friendly, informative, and did everything possible to make our stay a memorable one!

This is a 5 Star B & B!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Let me first say I would definitely return here. Room are beautiful and well appointed. Loved spending time on the porch. The proprietors provide a great list of restaurants and attractions in the area. Anyone visiting should highly consider their recommendations. Having said all this, for a B&B the owners are aloof and breakfast is only so so.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guntersville, Alabama, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Just returned from a truly awesome visit to the Sully Mansion in NOLA's Garden District. Although the trip was planned and arranged by our daughters as an anniversary celebration, we would not change a thing if we could do it over ourselves. Our experience was positive even before we arrived. Since we had left home early in the morning and expected to arrive a bit sooner than expected, we made a quick call to see what time we could check in. Nancy cheerfully advised that we were welcome to check in by noon since our room was unoccupied the previous night. Guy greeted us at the door and graciously helped us carry our luggage to the upstairs room. The remainder of our stay was every bit as positive as the beginning. Our room, The Bourbon, was beautiful, comfortable, sparkling clean, and so very interesting with its period furnishings and delightful local artwork. Nancy and Guy were the perfect hosts: attentive without hovering; helpful with suggestions but never obtrusive; extremely interesting conversationalists. We thoroughly enjoyed interacting with them and so very much appreciate their efforts to make this trip to New Orleans (one of many we have made) a fantastic experience. Thank you, thank you!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2631 Prytania Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by magnolias and live oaks the neighborhood is filled with grand mansions and beautiful gardens. Guests are steps away from the shops on Magazine Street and St. Charles Avenue which puts the French Quarter and Tulane and Loyola universities within easy reach. Rooms range from intimate doubles to grand king suites. Home made breakfast included in rates. Come enjoy New Orleans and live like a local. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sully Mansion b&b
Sully Mansion Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.