We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem in the Garden District” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
2631 Prytania Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Garden District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 145 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Bethesda, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Gem in the Garden District”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Our first four days of our New Orleans Christmas was at the beautiful Sully Mansion. What a wonderful experience! Nancy and Guy, our hosts, could not have been more accommodating. The mansion is beautiful and is ideally located for easy access to the wonderful restaurants and the beautiful homes in the Garden District. Each morning we enjoyed a terrific breakfast, interesting conversations with the other guests and with Nancy and Guy. Gracie, the family dog, was also around to greet us.

This was our fourth trip to New Orleans but our first stay at Sully Mansion. Without a doubt, we would definitely stay at Sully whenever we return to this wonderful city.

We can highly recommend this wonderful Bed & Breakfast. Again, Nancy and Guy were extremely friendly, informative, and did everything possible to make our stay a memorable one!

This is a 5 Star B & B!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    411
    53
    13
    13
    10
See reviews for
95
228
57
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Let me first say I would definitely return here. Room are beautiful and well appointed. Loved spending time on the porch. The proprietors provide a great list of restaurants and attractions in the area. Anyone visiting should highly consider their recommendations. Having said all this, for a B&B the owners are aloof and breakfast is only so so.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guntersville, Alabama, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Just returned from a truly awesome visit to the Sully Mansion in NOLA's Garden District. Although the trip was planned and arranged by our daughters as an anniversary celebration, we would not change a thing if we could do it over ourselves. Our experience was positive even before we arrived. Since we had left home early in the morning and expected to arrive a bit sooner than expected, we made a quick call to see what time we could check in. Nancy cheerfully advised that we were welcome to check in by noon since our room was unoccupied the previous night. Guy greeted us at the door and graciously helped us carry our luggage to the upstairs room. The remainder of our stay was every bit as positive as the beginning. Our room, The Bourbon, was beautiful, comfortable, sparkling clean, and so very interesting with its period furnishings and delightful local artwork. Nancy and Guy were the perfect hosts: attentive without hovering; helpful with suggestions but never obtrusive; extremely interesting conversationalists. We thoroughly enjoyed interacting with them and so very much appreciate their efforts to make this trip to New Orleans (one of many we have made) a fantastic experience. Thank you, thank you!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Having lived in New Orleans in the past, when I visit I want to stay someplace where I can feel at home and not a visitor. In the heart of the Garden District the Sully Mansion provides a great envirnment that is Uniquly New Orleans and Uniquly the Garden District where you can sit on the porch and enjoy the happenings of the area. You can walk every where you might need to go, the street car within a block, restaurants, coffee houses and so on. The patio allows a perfect venue to entertain friends and clients or simply to relax. While there were other guests in the House during my past visit, I hardly knew they were there. Nancy and Guy have truely created a home like environment to enjoy may times into the future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Nancy and Guy made our getaway to New Orleans wonderful. Knowledgeable, kind, and gracious hosts smoothed our way into each day easing us into the New Orleans lifestyle. Wonderful enough that we will certainly book ourselves into the Sully upon our return to New Orleans. Thank you, Nancy and Guy!

Room Tip: All the rooms are similar - pick on the size of the bed you like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Sully Mansion is located in the heart of New Orleans' Garden District. It's a beautiful location between St. Charles Ave and Magazine St. Enjoy a stroll to take in the neighborhood and let you cares go away. Take a street car (one block to St. Charles Ave.) to the French Quarter (Vieux Carre) or just walk (10 mins.) to shopping and restaurants nearby on Magazine St .
You will feel relaxed and be treated like good friends at Sully Mansion. Your hosts, the Fourniers, will show you New Orleans hospitality at its best.
It's the only place we stay in New Orleans going on seven years.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhope, Alabama
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Guy and Nancy are the perfect hosts to make anyone feel comfortable, welcome and at home in their wonderful B & B, the Sully Mansion. In the heart of the beautiful Garden District of New Orleans, the Sully is only minutes walking distance from Magazine Street and its great restaurants, galleries and antique shops. The homes in the Garden District are worth viewing on a simple walking tour. When I walked into our room, The Bourbon Suite, I told my wife that I could live there. Beautiful 14 ft ceilings, lovely period furniture and furnishings, yet comfortable with all the modern conveniences. This is a MUST stay place for those wishing to get the best from Mardi Gras, as it is only 1 block from St Charles Avenue. We made a pledge to go back at least twice a year.

Room Tip: All the rooms were very nice. I peaked around a little, and think I liked our room, the Bourbon Sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2631 Prytania Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by magnolias and live oaks the neighborhood is filled with grand mansions and beautiful gardens. Guests are steps away from the shops on Magazine Street and St. Charles Avenue which puts the French Quarter and Tulane and Loyola universities within easy reach. Rooms range from intimate doubles to grand king suites. Home made breakfast included in rates. Come enjoy New Orleans and live like a local. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sully Mansion Hotel New Orleans
Sully Mansion b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list