We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fully satisfied stay at Sully Mansion” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
2631 Prytania Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Garden District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 145 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Fully satisfied stay at Sully Mansion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Our first to New Orleans; found this beautifully preserved craftsman home in this Garden residential district a very convenience location in the midst of the popular Garden and Cemetery tour destinations, also it's only 1 or 2 blocks from the inexpensive and convenience street car/bus transportation to the French quarter and beyond.

Street parking is also free and unlimited and to top it off, we found the hosts Guy and Nancy to be very hospitable, helpful and knowledgeable; they take their time to prepare uniquely delicious breakfast daily and making themselves available to all guest to ensure that our needs are met. We highly recommend it. Thanks again, Guy and Nancy, God bless!
Samuel,May and Allison,
Los Angeles.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    415
    54
    13
    13
    10
See reviews for
95
229
57
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The location of this fine establishment was very handy. The home is very pleasant, comfortable, and inviting. Bedroom spacious and very comfortable. Breakfast most enjoyable. We had some questions as to where we wanted to walk which were answered in a knowledgeable and friendly fashion.

The porch and the dog were super!

Why "conflicted" - initial interaction with the landlady was not positive. Her attitude was somewhat between disinterest and mildly abrasive to a concern we had. But the remainder of the stay was excellent and we all got on with it!

I would recommend this B&B to others.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

My friends and I stayed at the Sully Mansion during Voodoo Fest weekend. This B&B is charming, eclectic and economical. It is situated in the Garden District, a lovely, quiet area of NOLA, away from the noise and action, but it's just a block from the trolley and bus line making it extremely accessible to all parts of the city. Our host and hostess were fabulous. The breakfasts were phenomenal...Eggs Benedict one day, quiche, lemon-ricotta pancakes and lots of home-made bakery and fresh fruits and yogurts. The accomodations were luxurious, but not "frou-frou feminine", the artwork is bold and reflective of the New Orleans jazz scene. We enjoyed every minute and look forward to returning again someday!

Room Tip: There isn't a bad room at Sully!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

My husband and I very much enjoyed our stay at The Sully Mansion. The room upstairs was spacious for two, good size bathroom, lovely and clean and furnishings and art work a delight. Breakfast was more than adequate and talking with our hosts and other guest started the day off well. Nancy was more than happy to arrange a tour of the city for us and direct us to restaurants and transport. Catching a bus in and out of the city is more convenient than driving and finding parking space, Particularly when New Orleans was partying on Halloween. Should we be returning to New Orleans again I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: The Carrollyn room was adequate for two people
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Our first visit to New Orleans and the USA, so we were looking for accommodation with charm.
Sully Mansions B&B was perfect. The street scape of the house and garden with the wide lazy verandah was inviting. Inside the entrance was large and perfectly furnished. Our room was the Carrollton. It was furnished nicely with plenty of room for our large suitcases. The queen bed was very comfortable and the ensuite bathroom spacious, plenty of ventilation and natural light. Everything was clean. Freshly brewed coffee and tea was available each morning for an early riser. Nancy and Guy are welcoming each morning and Nancy is the chef who catered perfectly to our savoury tastes for breakfast. Breakfast is in the large dining room and provided continental to hot. Nancy and Guy were the perfect hosts and provided information and suggestions of the local area and New Orleans. Sully Mansions is close to St Charles Street, where the streetcar runs down. This takes you into downtown New Orleans.
We loved the garden district with lots of mansions and wonderful gardens. There are daily walking tours of this district which are popular and they give an interesting insight of the houses and history of this district. At the end of the day, the large front verandah of Sully Mansions, was the perfect place to sit, write post cards, have a cold drink and talk to other guests. Of course Gracie, the four legged host, was also wonderful company. We would go back and would thoroughly recommend this place

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham,AL
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

October 29, 2012: We came to New Orleans to run the Jazz Half Marathon on Saturday and we stayed over three days to enjoy the city. Guy and Nancy could not have been more accommodating. They were warm, friendly, and very knowledgeable about the area. Their recommendations for activities were right on target especially the walking tour and Tipitinas. In addition, the breakfasts far exceeded our expectations including but not limited to: Eggs Benedict, quiche, fresh fruit, muffins, and plum pudding! The room was lovely, clean, and quiet. We never heard the other guests even though the hotel was full. The walls are so thick that sound does not seem to penetrate through them. I am confused by a couple of the negative review below because our experience was so wonderful. I did not want to leave Sully Mansion and I hope to return very soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We were in New Orleans to celebrate our daughter's 60th birthday and she couldn't have picked a better place. Our hosts were gracious and enjoyable, and couldn't have been more helpful in arranging a catered dinner in their back patio, in suggesting things to do and places to visit, and very especially, restaurants at which to dine. All in all, a most enjoyable visit.

Room Tip: The room on the second floor facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2631 Prytania Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by magnolias and live oaks the neighborhood is filled with grand mansions and beautiful gardens. Guests are steps away from the shops on Magazine Street and St. Charles Avenue which puts the French Quarter and Tulane and Loyola universities within easy reach. Rooms range from intimate doubles to grand king suites. Home made breakfast included in rates. Come enjoy New Orleans and live like a local. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sully Mansion Hotel New Orleans
Sully Mansion b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
;