We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Breathtaking View from my Shower!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avenue Plaza Resort

Save Saved
You added Avenue Plaza Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Avenue Plaza Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2111 St. Charles Ave., New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% Off Discount
Ranked #50 of 153 Hotels in New Orleans
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Breathtaking View from my Shower!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2009

From the moment I checked into the hotel, I knew I was in the right place. I was greeted and escorted to my suite (room 703) by the friendly bellman and was delighted by the cleanliness and beautiful city view. I've stayed at the Quarter House and several other hotels/timeshare properties in NOLA, but this one was the best for location, exceptional staff (Richard (bellman), Danielle (reception), Gail (front desk), Herb (bellman), Chris (poolman), etc. I have never gotten to know any staff so well, only because each one of them went out of their way to make me feel so welcome. The Cheesecake Bistro on the corner was a wonderful spot to grab a healthy bite to eat and the corner grocery was convenient to buy a few snacks and drinks. My suite was a corner one so the advantage was the 4 windows, including the beautiful new waterfall shower overlooking the bridge and city lights at night..only downside to the corner rooms is occasional weak Wi-Fi signal...but it was manageable. The business office for guest use allows free computer use and printing (ie, boarding passes) and I had a free private tour of the Ashley House (ranked 8th top haunted house in New Orleans) by Natasha (front desk). I didn't try the Steakhouse which is adjacent to the hotel, but heard it was excellent. The hotel is under some construction, but it was limited to certain floors. The Spa is also under construction but will be beautiful once completed. The rooftop sundeck is a great place for panoramic photos of the City. Getting to the FQ was easy by streetcar ($1.25pp) and just a short 5 minutes away. A charming hotel with excellent service.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    150
    48
    15
    11
See reviews for
63
166
15
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Discovery Bay, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2009

Hotel is on St.Charles Ave. Which is the best location for easy access to Downtown and The French Quarter via the St.Charles Steet Cars. They stop right in front of the Hotel and it only cost Like a dollar for adults and less for seniors over 65.
The room we had was part of the time share resort and was nice, cozy, it had a kitchen, living room and seperate bedroom. cozy bathroom with shower no tub. Could easily spend a week in it. There a store an resturant, and bars near by.

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2009

We stayed here during Mardi Gras and couldnt ask for a better location. St. Charles is the main parade route so that means it passes right out your door. The hotel gives you wristbands to enter the building which is good because that means randoms cant go in. We stalked out positions within a couple blocks of the hotel to watch the parade and could easily go back to the room for a break. The room is equipped with a small kitchen which was perfect to heat up our leftovers and make some small meals. Even if it wasnt Mardi Gras, it's a good base to explore New Orleans with the trolley right outside your door. It's within walking distance of prime Garden district and it's a long walk to the French Quarter...probably 30 minutes to 40 minutes. The rooms could be updated, but the staff was very helpful even during the stressful Mardi Gras time (super busy for them) It also had a very spacious and updated gym to burn those calories off from all the good food you eat in New Orleans

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, AR
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2009

Street car directly in front of hotel & passes can be purchased 2 builidings down. Awesome rooftop view of New Orleans. Courtyard is very cozy! Newly remodeled bathrooms with great waterfall showerheads! Very quiet rooms right on busy street! Staff was very friendly and attentive! 24hr restaurant 1.5 blocks away for late night meals. I felt very safe the entire time!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MISSOURI
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

The staff were freindly and helpful, the grounds were kept very clean and pretty, there was a sun deck on the top of the 12th floor w/tables and loungers so you could enjoy a view of the city. The rooms were clean and big and just wonderful, we had a studio and it was plenty big for 2 of us w/a kitchen if you needed it. The trolley stopped right out front to take you to Canal/ Burbon streets. Just loved it will stay here again and recommend it to freinds.
Resturant next door were pricey but there are lots of places along St Charles Ave that are walkable and good.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2009

I read several reviews on this resort and, as expected, there were differences of opinions. I had stayed at this resort many years ago and although it has changed ownership since my first stay, I was still extremely pleased. The location is great and the staff is wonderful. I highly recommend spending some time on the balcony, maybe drinking a cup of coffee in the morning while overlooking St. Charles Ave. and some nice peaceful time on the roof at night for a beautiful view of the city. The unit is fairly small, but that's somewhat normal for New Orleans.

I'd stay here again without hesitation, or even without considering another resort as a possibility...between the convenience to the French Quarter or other parts of the city and the friendly, accommodating staff it's definitely one of my favorites.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2009

Good location, clean unit, and the kindest staff anywhere. Arvette at the front desk, Herb the door man, the mainteance person (sorry I don't have his name) - they all couldn't have been more helpful. True southern hospitality at its finest. Inexpensive, all-you-can-ride street car pass available at corner store. Streetcar runs often and directly in front of the Plaza - minutes to the French Quarter, plus you get to chat with locals everywhere. A nice alternative to the hustle of the Quarter. Nothing luxerious, but nice.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avenue Plaza Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Plaza Resort

Address: 2111 St. Charles Ave., New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avenue Plaza Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 256
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Avenue Plaza Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Plaza Hotel New Orleans
Avenue Plaza New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avenue Plaza Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.