We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Streetcar Named....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Avenue Plaza Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Avenue Plaza Resort to your Saves list
Avenue Plaza Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2111 St. Charles Ave., New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Astoria, New York
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A Streetcar Named....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We were a bit apprehensive about choosing the Wyndham Avenue Plaza Resort for our first trip to New Orleans. We weren’t sure that we wanted to stay some distance from the attractions and have to figure out how to travel back and forth, especially, to and from the French Quarters. Surprisingly, we ended up enjoying our stay. The immediate vicinity did not offer much except for a convenient store and a bar on the same block as the hotel, which came in handy and provided our daily dose of hurricanes. Conversely, take a quick walk on St. Charles St. and you’ll come across numerous restaurants and bars that we eventually tried, and that was a big plus.

The best part of the location is that it compelled us to take the street car during our sightseeing trips, which in of itself, became an amusing experience.

The resort offered coffee daily but not breakfast. There were weekly activities which was nice way to welcome new guests. In addition to the usual laundry service, ice and vending machines, the property also included a small pool and a Jacuzzi, rooftop access that offered a 360° view of the surrounding area, a larger-than-usual gym and a steakhouse right by the lobby. As much as we wanted to, we weren’t able to have dinner at the steakhouse which was only open a few hours in the afternoon and evening and was always full. Our suite included a dining area with a couch, a TV and a full kitchen. Our bedroom, including our bed, was a decent size and the bathroom was just right for two people.

Would we have wanted or required something that offered more than what was available for us? Absolutely, but the point of the vacation was to see New Orleans, and for that, the suite we got was perfect. Other than the couch more than likely needing some serious cleaning, we encountered no other issues. The air condition, considering it was hot every day, worked fine and the pool and Jacuzzi was a good option when we needed to unwind from all the walking we did. The staff was always friendly and courteous which made our stay even more pleasant.

The Wyndham Avenue Plaza Resort is not a bad hotel to stay, and may even be better than most, while in New Orleans. It is close enough that Canal and Bourbon St. are a quick streetcar ride away but far enough that it is quiet and away from all the commotion and craziness that the tourist area always have. I highly recommend visitors do ample research prior to booking and staying as they may demand more than what the place offers. While it may not be a five star hotel as many would like, the Wyndham Avenue Plaza Resort was decent in providing a comfortable stay which complemented our vacation experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    171
    48
    16
    11
See reviews for
69
184
16
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We requested 2 rooms next to each other, but we got rooms with windows across from each other so we could 'see' each other. This worked out well. The rooms are very nice and I enjoyed the bathrooms and the kitchens. We were on the back side away from the front where the St. Charles trolley stop is. This is convenient for transportation to the French Quarter.

The staff did not know to much about the Mr. John's Restaurant or had other recommendations.The Garden District is within walking distance, as is a liquor store, grocery store, a great bakery and a couple of really good restaurants, Zea and Tacos and Beer.

Room Tip: Back side so you do not hear the St. Charles Trolley. A room on a floor with the ice machine. A roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon May 2014. We were impressed with the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. Our room was lovely and comfortable and clean. The bathroom was on the small side and I was surprised that there was not a bathtub in it. The pool area was relaxing and nice. The location was handy to getting around New Orleans. Overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durrington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Avenue Plaza for four nights during a tour of the southern USA, and were made to feel very welcome by all the staff. The room was spacious, although the bathroom was cosy, and the level of service was excellent. There is a neat pool area at the back of the hotel which is like a little oasis, especially after having been our sight-seeing all day. Complementary drinks are provided inthe garden room, where there is also computer access.
We used the valet parking service for the four days of our stay (street parking is not advisable) so we were able to use the public transport around the city. Unfortunately there is construction work taking place on the trolley system at the moment, so the trolleys do not run past the hotel; instead a bus takes passengers for part of the journey, but this is only a temporary blip and nothing to do with the hotel.
I have read other reports about the Avenue Plaza and can only suppose that guests were not staying at the same place we did. If we were to return to New Orleans we would definitely stay at this hotel as is was lovely

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookhaven, Mississippi, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

My husband and I went 4 days for our honeymoon. We had a one room suite and it was wonderful, clean, & the staff were amazing and helpful. The bed was very comfortable also the sofa bed no bars sticking into you. Our stay was amazing and would definitely return.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

First of all the staff was the best. other then that everything was some what off. The bath room was so small only one person could barley fit. We had a one bed room, nice bed, nice kitchen, but no way could 4 people fit. The pool looks big but the photo is the whole pool, smaller then our pool, we did not use it. The street car was to stop in front of the resort, that was one of the reasons we picked this location, but its not running and you have to take a bus 6 blocks to catch it. Per the door man it will be down for mounts. We made do, but next time we will stay in the French District. So many great resturants, and things to do. We flew in from Chicago and took the train back in a sleeper car, try it its part of the fun.

Room Tip: becuse of the construction ask for a top floor not on the street, looking at the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

My wife and I what was described as a studio apartment. Adequate for two people and was well appointed for a weeks stay. Staff could not be more helpful, and the valet staff were great for pointing you in the right direction to make your stay very enjoyable. The bathroom was quite small but had the greatest pulsating shower I have ever found. Having visited a number of Wyndham resorts around the USA this one did not disappoint.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room too close to the elevator shafts they can be noisy during the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Avenue Plaza Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Plaza Resort

Address: 2111 St. Charles Ave., New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#60 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avenue Plaza Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 256
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TravelClick, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Avenue Plaza Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Plaza Hotel New Orleans
Avenue Plaza New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avenue Plaza Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.