We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel for a stay in New Orleans but not in the French Quarter” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Avenue Plaza Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Avenue Plaza Resort to your Saves list
Avenue Plaza Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2111 St. Charles Ave., New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% Off
Ranked #67 of 156 Hotels in New Orleans
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel for a stay in New Orleans but not in the French Quarter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We requested 2 rooms next to each other, but we got rooms with windows across from each other so we could 'see' each other. This worked out well. The rooms are very nice and I enjoyed the bathrooms and the kitchens. We were on the back side away from the front where the St. Charles trolley stop is. This is convenient for transportation to the French Quarter.

The staff did not know to much about the Mr. John's Restaurant or had other recommendations.The Garden District is within walking distance, as is a liquor store, grocery store, a great bakery and a couple of really good restaurants, Zea and Tacos and Beer.

Room Tip: Back side so you do not hear the St. Charles Trolley. A room on a floor with the ice machine. A roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    214
    57
    20
    13
See reviews for
81
232
20
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon May 2014. We were impressed with the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. Our room was lovely and comfortable and clean. The bathroom was on the small side and I was surprised that there was not a bathtub in it. The pool area was relaxing and nice. The location was handy to getting around New Orleans. Overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Avenue Plaza for four nights during a tour of the southern USA, and were made to feel very welcome by all the staff. The room was spacious, although the bathroom was cosy, and the level of service was excellent. There is a neat pool area at the back of the hotel which is like a little oasis, especially after having been our sight-seeing all day. Complementary drinks are provided inthe garden room, where there is also computer access.
We used the valet parking service for the four days of our stay (street parking is not advisable) so we were able to use the public transport around the city. Unfortunately there is construction work taking place on the trolley system at the moment, so the trolleys do not run past the hotel; instead a bus takes passengers for part of the journey, but this is only a temporary blip and nothing to do with the hotel.
I have read other reports about the Avenue Plaza and can only suppose that guests were not staying at the same place we did. If we were to return to New Orleans we would definitely stay at this hotel as is was lovely

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookhaven, Mississippi, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

My husband and I went 4 days for our honeymoon. We had a one room suite and it was wonderful, clean, & the staff were amazing and helpful. The bed was very comfortable also the sofa bed no bars sticking into you. Our stay was amazing and would definitely return.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

First of all the staff was the best. other then that everything was some what off. The bath room was so small only one person could barley fit. We had a one bed room, nice bed, nice kitchen, but no way could 4 people fit. The pool looks big but the photo is the whole pool, smaller then our pool, we did not use it. The street car was to stop in front of the resort, that was one of the reasons we picked this location, but its not running and you have to take a bus 6 blocks to catch it. Per the door man it will be down for mounts. We made do, but next time we will stay in the French District. So many great resturants, and things to do. We flew in from Chicago and took the train back in a sleeper car, try it its part of the fun.

Room Tip: becuse of the construction ask for a top floor not on the street, looking at the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

My wife and I what was described as a studio apartment. Adequate for two people and was well appointed for a weeks stay. Staff could not be more helpful, and the valet staff were great for pointing you in the right direction to make your stay very enjoyable. The bathroom was quite small but had the greatest pulsating shower I have ever found. Having visited a number of Wyndham resorts around the USA this one did not disappoint.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room too close to the elevator shafts they can be noisy during the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenton
Level Contributor
115 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We stayed here for a week in June and were very pleased with our stay. The hotel staff are wonderful , helpful and very friendly! Special thanks to the valet guys who went out of their way to accommodate us, our truck and our motorcycle, which they do not park for you but have to accompany you to the lot each time you want to get it out, which they did always with a smile...the pool area was nice and refreshing and our room was comfortable. We are Wyndham owners and were quite pleased with our first trip and stay in NOLO. This resort is right on the trolley line, but there is construction going on with the track so they provide a bus to ferry you to the trolley further up the line. Easy to navigate, and the valet guys are helpful pointing you on the right direction. Have correct change for the bus..$3 per person for a 24 hr pass!

Green Features: This is a green resort so they provide special recycling bags in the rooms.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel
#63 of 156 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 163 reviews
Prytania Park
#76 of 156 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Pelham
The Pelham
#74 of 156 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 365 reviews
Lower Garden District
Prytania Oaks Hotel
Prytania Oaks Hotel
#69 of 156 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 194 reviews
The Hotel Modern
#72 of 156 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Plaza Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Plaza Resort

Address: 2111 St. Charles Ave., New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avenue Plaza Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 256
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, TravelClick, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Avenue Plaza Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Plaza Hotel New Orleans
Avenue Plaza New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avenue Plaza Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.