We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort, no WIFI.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Avenue Plaza Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Avenue Plaza Resort to your Saves list
Avenue Plaza Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2111 St. Charles Ave., New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great resort, no WIFI.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Great resort and location. Easy street car ride to the downtown area. The pool area is nice and relaxing. The haunted Ashley house tour was interesting. The room was comfortable but the WIFI did not work rain or shine even though the front desk blamed it on the rain. We had no problem finding street parking a block away to avoid the parking fee. My husband had the best French toast ever at the trolley stop just a block away.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    178
    49
    17
    11
See reviews for
69
190
18
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Avenue Plaza was fun! The location was ideal in that you could get to everything from a simple trolley ride. $3 all day on and off. The location is a couple of miles from the French Quarters so that was great especially if you didn't want to be in the hustle and bustle of the quarters. The resort staff were friendly. The bathroom was small but since it was just me and my hubby it worked out.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

The Avenue plaza resort has a very attentive and friendly staff. Upon my arrival I was scheduled to be in a studio room that was in the rear of the "resort" with not a bad but not a great view so I asked the front desk if they had any rooms available facing the street. She told me that they only had one bedroom suites with the street view and before I could say no problem can I get a studio suite with a better view she informed me that they had the room and she would upgrade to the one bedroom suite at no additional charge "AWESOME". The "resort" was in the perfect location in the nice and peaceful garden district right on Saint Charles Ave with access to the trolley right in front of the resort. No need for a rental car just save your money because the trolley is only $3.00 a person for an all day pass and that includes there simple routed and easy to understand bus system. The trolley dead ends right at Canal & Bourbon street in the heart of all the action and all you have to do is tell the trolley or bus driver where your trying to go and they're very helpful making sure you get there and thats if you need to because the concierge breaks it down as well. Now after you go on Bourbon street and raise all kinds of hell you jump on the trolley right where you got off and go to the peace and quite of your beautiful resort at the Avenue plaza get some rest and do it all over again the next day. I like to go to the party but I dont want to live in it. I could go on and on about this place so I'll just stop here. Hopefully this helps you in making your decision. P.S. I'm not easy to please so trust me.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This resort is a couple of miles from the French Quarter, which is good beacuse it is much more laid back area,and getting down there is easy as the street cars stops outside the door. My wife had a one bed unit. The bed was comfy, the bathroom small but adequate and the lounge/dining/kitchen area was great for a week. We had a problem with the air con but did not realise it for 2 days when reported the guy arrived within 15 minutes, at 10pm, it was fixed within 2 hours (complicated problem but the guy was great).

There is a balcony over the front door andnice courtyard great for sitting outdoors and complimentary cold drinks and coffee were available all day. There was a buffet breakfast one day and a BBQ lunch another. The pool is very small but ideal to cool down in. There is an internet room and wifi in the rooms. There is a laundry in the building and valet parking.

This was a good place to stay but I want to add that the staff - all of them, cleaners, reception staff, valets, security, admin and maintenance people could not have been more pleasant, cheerful or welcoming. They all made me smile whenever I encountered them and there are a lot of them!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collinsville, Illinois
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Friendly staff, clean, beautiful rooms, close to good New Orleans restaurants and a streetcar ride away from the French Quarter or Audubon Park. the streetcar connects to another to go to the Art Museum and Botanical garden at City Park.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Selecting a hotel without knowing the area seemed rather overwhelming. We decided to try this place because the price was right and we were quite pleasantly surprised. The desk staff was very pleasant and the valet was professional. Our room was very clean and the beds very comfortable. The bathroom was surprisingly nice as well. We didn't use the kitchenette much but with nice having a big sink. We did use the pool and it was very nice. Other guests were quite friendly also. It is a bit off the beaten path but with the trolley directly out front, it was easy getting to burbon street and the surrounding activities. The fitness center was outstanding! One negative was the noise from the hallway was very noticeable. YEs, it is a timeshare but I was happy to have a nice room. I highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: We had a room on the 12th floor and it worked well for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairview, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This is not a resort. It is a hotel converted to a Timeshare. We are well aware of that as we have had our Timeshare for 26 years. This was a last minute exchange to use up some Timeshare value that would have been expiring later this year. We had a great time and all the good things you read in the other reviews are correct. We would have rated this facility 5 stars except for the proliferation of smoking areas. EVERYTHING outside is fair game for smokers. That second floor terrace balcony folks rave about? Take your nose clip because you'll find smokers. Going to the pool with or without kids? Don't worry, you'll get your day's allowance of second hand smoke!

Come on Wyndham!!! This is 2013. The rest of the world does not cater to smokers anymore. Give them a small corner of the courtyard and save the majority of your visitors the pain of putting up with the stinking smoke!

The area and convenience to public transport are terrific. We loved our visit to New Orleans except for the stinking smoke when we arrived back at the Avenue Plaza!!!

Room Tip: We asked for a room away from the elevators but didn't get it. Unless you are a light sleeper it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avenue Plaza Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Plaza Resort

Address: 2111 St. Charles Ave., New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#66 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avenue Plaza Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 256
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Avenue Plaza Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Plaza Hotel New Orleans
Avenue Plaza New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avenue Plaza Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.