We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Avenue Plaza Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Avenue Plaza Resort to your Saves list
Avenue Plaza Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2111 St. Charles Ave., New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Charlotte, NC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Avenue Plaza Resort the last week in August 2012 but had to evacuate due to Hurrican Isaac. The hotel was very good about informing us of our options or staying or leaving. They explained how they would operate if we chose to stay which was very limited. We chose to evacuate and cut out trip short a few days. The service was excellent and everyone at the front desk was above my expectations. They gave us ideas or where to eat and see other area attractions. The streetcar was down right in front of our hotel so we had to catch the bus and then get on the streetcar further down to make it other places like the grocery store (Fresh Market) The rooms were clean and comfortable. The location was great as we were in the middle of everything and anything else was a bus or streetcar ride away. Because this is a Wydham property it doesn't work exactly like a hotel so you had to do things like exchange towels and those days and times were posted. We utilized the gym which had plenty of updated equipment and was very spacious. We were the only ones to use it during that particular time. The pool area was pretty spacious but the pool was rather small. I enjoyed laying out in the sun so the pool wasn't high on my list. Even though we had to leave early I enjoyed the time I spent and would deifinitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    167
    48
    16
    11
See reviews for
68
179
16
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Villages, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by the unit we rented at the Avenue Plaza Resort in New Orleans !
Everything we needed for a great stay was at our fingertips !
This is a time share so there is no daily maid service...but, the staff were overwhelmingly helpful.
The location was right on the Trolley car route....and we could walk right out the front door into the beautiful garden district. We would definitely stay here again !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Excellent hotel close to Basin St. right on the trolley route in the heart of the garden district. Easy access anywhere. Hotel is well laid out with a beautiful pool and garden area in the back side. Great gym and reasonably priced spa services.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, Maryland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Enjoyed the renovations. Really nice to have a cooktop. I couldn't connect to internet. I was instructed to walk my computer around the room to find a connection. It's not supposed to be that hard. Staff was friendly & helpful. I could hear the elevator coming up and going down ALL NIGHT LONG. I had the front desk call me a cab every morning and it would take about 15 minutes or more for them to get there. I suppose I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

If you read the other reviews here, you will see that even the 1-bullet and 2-bullet reviews rave about the location of this place - right on St. Charles between Josephine and Jackson, thus easy to board the St. Charles streetcar (or the buses that currently run in its place while the tracks undergo renovation) for Lee Circle (WW2 and Ogden Museums) or Canal Street and the Quarter, or for Louisiana Street in the other direction (where there is a Fresh Market grocery for anyone interested). As noted elsewhere, Trolley Stop Cafe is a block away and there is also a Subway nearby and a corner grocery at Jackson that has most of what you might need (ground coffee, milk, peanut butter, snacks, beer, even a small selection of fruit), mostly at marked-up prices, but you can't beat the time saved. Mr. John's Steakhouse is in the lobby - we did not eat there, but we saw plenty of diners there every night.

We stayed a week on a timeshare exchange. The units are renovated hotel rooms with kitchenettes, so if you think you are going to squeeze more than 2 people into a unit, forget about it. However, for a couple like us, it was great. The kitchenette was fully supplied - coffeemaker, toaster, microwave, cooktop, dishwasher, refrig, blender, dishes, glasses, silverware, knives, pots - everything but an oven. There is a table with 3 chairs with placemats for eating. The bathroom is a little small, but certainly OK with a fairly big shower enclosure. Closet is adequate with a safe in it.

The building has a terrifically well-equipped workout room with 3 treadmills, 3 ellipticals, stairclimber, free weights, and at least 15 Cybex machines. This room opens with a room key - other reviews say it is restricted to "owners" and maybe, as an exchange guest, I was considered an "owner," but my key worked all week for the gym and the laundry room. They also have a spa near the workout room, but neither of us made use of that (extra charge, and we had no time). Behind the lobby is a patio area and a great room where there is always coffee and plenty of chairs and tables and couches and two big TV's. There is also a small roof deck that you must climb one flight to access.

To address some of what I see in other reviews: We never saw a roach at any time anywhere (granted, we visited in late December when perhaps they were hibernating). The staff we encountered were terrific - we checked in way early and they accommodated us well before check-in time, opened the door for us and other guests whenever we entered or left, fixed the thermostat when we were not getting enough heat, told us where to catch the St. Charles buses, got us a good taxi at a frightful early-morning hour for our trip home, and were generally friendly and helpful. All the bathroom and kitchenette fixtures appeared to us to be no more than 5 or 10 years old. You can request one midweek cleaning, and there is towel exchange for an hour or more every morning and every afternoon, so there's no excuse but laziness if you have to use towels more than a day or two. They also have recycle bins and a garbage drop-off at the towel exchange area accessible essentially 24 hours.

A tip: We rented a car for a few days and just parked it on the street (Carondelet St runs right behind the Ave Plaza) rather than pay the $20+/day for valet service. I'm sure the valets will tell you "it isn't safe" to park on the streets, but I guess we chose to be ignorant and cheap, and saved a few bucks.

So, if you are expecting the Ritz, or have 3 or 4 people in your party, you'll be disappointed. But if you are 2 people and just want a clean, decent-size studio unit with kitchen in just about the best location in NO, this works just fine.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We were moved here when the other Wyndham Resort was still in renovations from August storm. Not happy at first, as wanted to be walking distance from Quarter. Also, the trolley was not running due to renovations. And the line for check-in on Friday night was long. But that was all the "bad" about this Resort.

The staff were wonderful. Our rooms were spacious and clean. The bed was a little more firm than I like, but still very nice. Closet in bedroom, and small coat closet in hall. Shower in bathroom - no tub. Kitchen had full fridge, which was great for breakfast, snacks, drinks. Ate all lunches and dinners out - so many restaurants we wanted to try all the food. Never disappointed! Neighborhood safe for walking - right in Garden District. Walk to shopping and eating galore on Magazine Street. Check with Concierge before heading out for recommendations and discount coupons. Cheesecake Bistro just up St Charles Street (free pumpkin cheesecake, with purchase of two lunches, was such a hit that we later ordered an entire cheesecake for our holiday dinner at friends' home). Trolley Stop cafe also a great little place for lunch or breakfast.

We stayed a week and did not rent a car. Our cab fare to Quarter or Frenchman Street clubs (best place for music) was $10-12 (extra dollar for each person sharing cab). This is cheap when you see the limited parking, and that it costs $20 to $25 just to park in a lot close in the Quarter.

Room Tip: We had two rooms, both on 8th floor looking down on St Charles St. King beds. Rooms both very quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Great studio room. Kitchen area was more than adequate for a studio. Small (above sholuder height) fridge, microwave & 2 burner stove. Shower had rain head showerhead. Little alcove off bathroom was a bit of a waste but got the luggage hidden without being in the closet. Resort had a reception on Mon 4-5 which was a taste of a local restaurant. Also had a tour of their haunted Ashley House twice a day. Interesting & free. Wifi in room was a bit slow but not unbearable. We didn't use pool, hot tub or sauna so can't comment. The trolley line was being repaired but they had buses running the same route. Very convenient. Daily bus/trolley pass only $3 or $1.25 a trip. Takes you right down to Canal St.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avenue Plaza Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Plaza Resort

Address: 2111 St. Charles Ave., New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#63 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avenue Plaza Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 256
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Avenue Plaza Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Plaza Hotel New Orleans
Avenue Plaza New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avenue Plaza Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.