We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You Could Pay More ... But Why” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Avenue Plaza Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Avenue Plaza Resort to your Saves list
Avenue Plaza Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2111 St. Charles Ave., New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“You Could Pay More ... But Why”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I stayed at this hotel while visiting my daughter who is attending college in New Orleans. I have stayed at many hotels in NOLA and try a new one each time I visit. This is one I will return to. I lived in NOLA and know that location is everything. Along with cleanliness. The hotel location is great. Easy access to Garden District, French Quarter, Warehouse District, Audubon Park, and Tulane and Loyola Universities. The streetcar will take you to all of those areas from the hotel. The hotel is clean. I had a studio with a kitchenette. Great to have quick breakfast in so you can get started with your day. There is Williams Market a few doors down that you can get some basic groceries and water. The Market closes at 8 pm. Although the bathroom is a bit small, the shower makes up for it. Very nice rainfall shower head and lots of hot water. The kitchen has 2 burner cooktop, microwave, fridge/freezer combo, dishwasher, dish and silverware service for 4, coffee maker, blender, and basic kitchen cooking necessities. Here are a few things that they don't tell you unless you specifically ask or read the guest info. There is no daily housekeeping. There is a towel exchange on floor 1 that you can get fresh towels. Limited hours, but worth it due to no daily housekeeping. There is a $20 plus tax parking fee. Parking in NOLA is a nightmare. I didn't mind the $20. However it did bother me that I had to have valet park and get my car every time I needed it. At times the wait was quite long. The other downside to this is they valets expect tips. I don't mind tipping at all. But when you are getting your car in and out of parking several times a day, it adds up. Another nice feature is there is complimentary laundry machines on floor 2. They give you two packets of laundry soap with the room. If you need more there are vending machines in laundry room. The laundry room is hard to find. Take elevator to floor two exit to your left, turn left at hall and laundry is last door on your left. The pool are is nice. Hot tub and pool well kept. I didn't participate in any of the daily hotel activities, but they have them Monday-Thursday. There is a schedule at the front desk. All in all this is a good place to stay. Reasonably priced, good location, and clean. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    180
    49
    17
    11
See reviews for
69
191
18
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belmont, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

My wife and I had a wonderful time at the Avenue Plaza Resort in New Orleans. We had a suite on the 12th floor with rooftop access. The pool was great at the end of a long day fo sightseeing. The resort was close to many good restaurants. The resort staff was very attentive and helpful.

Defintely a "go back to" place. Well done!

Room Tip: Higher the floor, the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Great location and comfortable, quiet, clean rooms. I was disappointed in the rudeness of about 50% of the staff. Mainly front desk and concierge. Bus and trolley access is wonderful so you don't need a car to visit The French Quarter, Audobon Park or The Garden District.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We booked 3 rooms for family and friends - 1 Br, Studio and Hotel room. Each were very good, great facilities, large size and cleaned well. We had a week here and look forward to our next visit. The staff were good and the facilities were great - pool, gym, washing machine - rooms had fridge, cook tops, microwave etc. Tram was not working but we soon worked out the bus (#12) to the city. The only trouble was were were so busy experiencing the sights of New Orleans and eating out we didn't get to use most of the amenities at the Hotel! Will stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Great hotel.. Free coffee each morning and great folks to help you get to different places around the city. . The room was spacious with kitchenette. Very safe area.....Staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Overall an excellent place..The room was very clean and spacious.The bathroom was small, however the shower was GREAT!. Spacious gym. and very nice courtyard.Streetcar line was in front of the hotel and very easy to get around the city.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, MS
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My parents and I stayed here for the Ole Miss/Tulane game this past weekend, everyone was so nice, calling us cabs, bringing our car to us super fast when we needed to leave early in the morning.

The only complaint that I have is that there was only 1 mirror in the room (in the bathroom), super hard when three people are trying to get ready in the morning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southold
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights on a time share swap. Our room was a very large studio with 2 queen size beds, a small kitchen, a bathroom with shower (very nice and hot showers!) and a walk-in closet. (rooms are also available to rent, they were advertised for $85/ night on their website.) This set-up was just right for my wife & I. We ate breakfast in most days. (on the other days we ate at the Trolly Stop about a block away - google it). There is a very nice pool,hot tub and patio on the ground floor. We also found a small area over the front entrance where we would sit late afternoon. The location of the hotel in the Garden District was away from the commotion of down town but from the St Charles trolly right out front you were there in about 15 minutes. (senior rate 40 cents & don't forget to get a transfer) The staff at the hotel had a great friendly attitude and were helpful in answering questions. There is a concierge desk for more vacation type requests.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avenue Plaza Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Plaza Resort

Address: 2111 St. Charles Ave., New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#67 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avenue Plaza Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 256
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Avenue Plaza Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Plaza Hotel New Orleans
Avenue Plaza New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avenue Plaza Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.